We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location is great”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Royal Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
midlands
1 review
“location is great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2009

We have stayed at the Royal lodge twice before and although the rooms were in need of some updating the food was fabulous and the staff were very friendly, hence we booked to come again, however we were disappointed. It has changed hands and the friendly atmosphere we loved has gone. If you are a vegatarian the food and the choice is poor. Although they show a decent sample menu on the website, it is totally different when you get there. The veggie food was bland and there was only one choice. On a more postive note the room was nice, offering bottled water, tea, coffee. There is no TV - (which was not a problem for us ) and the views are out standing.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank memeMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    254
    96
    48
    16
See reviews for
115
495
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2008

This hotel benefits from an amazing location, with gorgeous views over the river and the forest: a tranquil and relaxing place to wind down. So close to lovely pubs like the Saracen's Head, and well located for all types of outdoors activities, that staff are more than happy to organise for you.

The room itself was cozy and the weather was mild enough for us to sleep with the window open. Being lulled to sleep by the sound of the river was lovely. The bathroom was fairly basic, but clean.

The main areas in the hotel are definitely in need of some updating, which they appear to be doing at the moment. I don't know how long it will take, but if they do it in keeping with the charm of the building, it will be a lovely place. Not too fancy - homely and friendly.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — The view from the bedroom
  • Disliked — The bar area is currently cold and outdated (but probably will be renovated soon like other areas)
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairouzeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2008

The location of this hotel is absolutely fabulous. The scenery is breathe taking, and there are some nice walks to be done after breakfast. However the rooms leave a little more to be desired. There was extensive mould in the shower and a previous resident's hair was found lurking on the tiles in the shower. I understand from reading other people's reviews that they are conducting refurbishment at the hotel and there was evidence of this when we stayed so maybe we were just unlucky with the room we were allocated. It was fine for one night's stay, however in it's current state I wouldn't want to stay there any longer.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIssFimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2008

We chose the Royal Lodge as the venue for our wedding on the 12th July 2008. We both had the best day. Leading up to the wedding the staff were more than helpful, not sure what we would have done without them!!! On the day of the wedding everyone was looked after, nothing was a problem, which is very refreshing.

Rooms vary in sizes, so worth checking if you have kids as all types of guests are catered for, as we found out.

Thank you to Graham, Sally and the team at the Royal Lodge, you made for a very special day for both Rob and I.

We will be back.

  • Liked — Venue, staff, food, everything
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claireedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Owner at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, 15 October 2008
Dear Customers

I write this update to inform you of changes here at the Royal Lodge, we purchased the hotel in March 07 and have undertaken an extensive refurbishing programme. All of the downstairs areas have been refurbished and as of 15-10-08 we only have 5 rooms out of 20 left to do. We had employed managers to run our hotel however after difficulties which are described in some of the reviews we now run the hotel ourselves as the owners. We beleieve we are offering fantastic value for guests who come and stay with us, the rooms are now very comfortable and much improved, the issues with service have been resolved.

Best Regards
Graham M Howells
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2008

We stayed at the Royal Lodge in earlky April for a nice relaxing weekend. It was far from that!

The staff were all very young which isn't a problem normally when there is someone senior to look over them.

The room was cold and dirty toothpaste on glasses in rooms which were by the bottles of drinking water my husband took them to one of the girls and asked to speak to manager and was told there isnt one but the boss son would be back soon he nevr came we ate in the restuarant which was very pricey bu the menu did look good the food was ok but not worth the premium prices.

we sat and waited for our bill for 10 minutes but noone came so my husband went to look for a member of staff whilst i popped to loo. he couldnt find anyone and i was able to tell him why. whilst sat on loo i could hear swearing and could smell very stronmg cigarette smoke wafting through window it seems they were all behind the toilet window
Stay away if tou want a quality weekend and go somewhere else!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dobey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2008

We stayed at The Royal Lodge a year ago and had a cold room, no TV or other amenities you would expect. However, we were told that the Hotel had just been purchased and a big redevelopment programme would be underway. So fast forward to March 2008 and we gave it another go for a short break away from our home in London.

Guess what? Same hotel, same problem. The room we were given this time (Room 7) was even worse, small, freezing cold, no TV, a bed too short even for me at 5'10". The toilet was in a "booth" to the left as you walked in and reminded us of a public loo from the 1960's. The "heating" for the room consisted of one very old very dicrepit storage heater that looked again like a relic from another decade. The light switches were the original bakelight, there were ROUND PIN sockets still on the walls, peeling paint, cobwebs and at 4pm when we arrived there was no hot water from the shower or the tap.

If the cost of staying here matched the accommodation (i.e. 1960's prices) there might be some justification but one night's B+B in this dump was £100, and a fillet steak an eye-watering £22! The hotel suffered repeated electrical failure while we were there as well with staff shouting "the electric's gone again!" and running around trying to fix it. We returned to our room after dinner to find that the feeble heat from the storage heater had stopped altogether, so we left our T-shirts on in bed.

So were there any positives - well yes, the staff were great but my God we felt sorry for them. They all looked to be very young, with no obvious senior manager in place and ran around trying to keep everyone happy and were cheerful, polite and helpful. The food was excellent, both well cooked and decent portion sizes.

Having made some enquiries we understand the situation to be that the owners of the Royal Lodge accept the Hotel needs a hell of a lot of money spending on it. Apparently some rooms have been "upgraded", but the major upgrade the whole place clearly needs has just not happened in the 12 months they have owned it.

I appreciate that the Hotel has to be open to generate the income needed to refurbish it, but charging premium prices and not being honest with their guests about the conditions is not the way to ensure their future. The location is fantastic and you could argue that you don't visit the Wye Valley to sit in your hotel room all day. However, the room quality we experienced at The Royal Lodge in terms of bedding, heating, washing and toilet facilities can be surpassed by 1000% at any Travelodge for about £45 per night. We will not stay there again until we can be convinced that a serious amount of money has been spent.

  • Liked — Food, location
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robinwood5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2008

We were given a weekend at the Royal Lodge, by our family as an anniversary gift. When I read the previous reviews I was very concerned at what to expect. It turned out that my fears were unfounded.

We were greeted by friendly helpful staff, and shown to our very nice rooms. Both couples enjoyed wonderful meals in a very nice restaurant.

Yes this is a period property in the forest, which retains some original charm. However our every comfort was important to all of the staff, and the rooms were first class.

If the earlier reviews were correct, then they no longer apply!

  • Liked — Free Internet Access
  • Disliked — Little or no Mobile Coverage
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nolegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
5.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#11 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
5.7 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Lodge

Property: The Royal Lodge
Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Lodge at Symonds Yat East has an idyllic setting in the heart of the Wye Valley in an area of outstanding natural beauty where the River Wye cuts a swathe through a wooded gorge on the edge of the spectacular Royal Forest of Dean.The Lodge is nestled just below Symonds Yat Rock and stands exclusively in grounds of almost 5 acres overlooking the river. It has terraced gardens of magnolia trees and a well established wisteria. The Royal was originally built in 1876 as a Royal hunting lodge and was converted to a hotel in the 1920's. It has had a full and extensive refurbishment in 2008 and is managed by Graham Howells who has overseen the transformation and ensures that the level of service reflects the new development and idyllic location. The Royal Lodge is a great place to unwind with long relaxing walks in outstanding scenery. The hotel is also well situated to explore the Wye Valley, Brecon Beacons, Black Mountains and the South Wales coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Symonds Yat
Royal Hotel Symonds Yat
The Royal Lodge Symonds Yat, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing