We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Riverside Hotel(Monmouth)
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Castle Lodge Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The King's Head Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
US$118
US$115
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chase Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Paddocks Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Court Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (895)
Filter reviews
895 results
Traveller rating
412
292
121
50
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
412
292
121
50
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverbeautiful locationfamily roomnight staybar menubit datedfour poster bedcar parkboth nightsno liftboth morningsshort breakrelaxing breakgoodrich castlefull englishyat rockstaff were excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
860 - 865 of 895 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2010

The warmth of the welcome extended to all guests by the staff and management set the seal on the most marvellous three night stay over Christmas. The hotel is situated on the banks of the River Wye on a dead-end road in a tranquil and beautiful gorge. Local walks start from the hotel and the comfortable and informal atmosphere encourages guests to enjoy outdoors knowing that the rooms are warm for their return. A splendid woodburning stove heats the first cosy lounge and despite freezing temperatures outside, we were very comfortable and well looked after throughout our stay. Congratulations to the Chef for the extensive menu, the high quality of homecooked food served hot despite full occupancy for Christmas Dinner; the amazing desserts and cheeseboard. This delightful hotel made our Christmas very special and we still feel a warm glow that makes us want to return again and again! Thankyou to all the management and Staff.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrallongTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

We booked to stay here over New Year with my parents. Having read some of the reviews I was aprehensive. I needn't have worried. We had a great time here and we were well looked after by all staff and the proprietor.
In August we called in to arrange our 'New Year' break whilst we were in the area. I must agree that it was full of walkers, very busy and I was concerned my parents would be happy here.
We were shown around and allowed to see one of the bedrooms. It was very clean and looked to be very comfortable. I explained my parents would be with us and this was noted on the booking.
When we arrived on New Years eve, we received a warm greeting and were shown to our rooms. Thought and consideration had gone into this reservation and the rooms allocated could not have been better for us. They were clean, comfortable and had everything we needed....and yes lovely views of the river.
The food we had during our stay was superb and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who were always polite and extremely helpful.
We would have no qualms about rebooking and would say, if you go and have a problem, just talk to someone and explain your problem in a civilised manner...I know it will be resolved as quickly as possible for you.
Thank you to everyone at the Royal Lodge for a fantastic New Year break.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinniesbetterhalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2009

Very friendly staff, clean comfortable room, lovely food in the restaurant. Very dog friendly in a great location for walking. Restaurant recently decorated and other areas of the hotel being painted / decorated.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S700JCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

We booked in late September, got the best room in the hotel (r19) should be £250 for 2 nights, we paid £195 night, had a 4 poster bed, Whoopee do!! The rest of the room was a bit shabby.
We read previous blogs on this Hotel after we'd booked, and would have cancelled but we'd paid a big deposit. However there has been an attempt to improve things, a TV in the room, a few tourist 'things to do' leaflets in reception and the smell of paint everywhere covering up the old and battered woodwork.
The restaurant area had obviously had a makeover, new tables and chairs, modern and clean, the breakfast ok. We had dinner in the Saracens, just down the road and if we ever return to Symonds Yat we'll stay there!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rolyatevad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

What a great restaurant, the food will have you wanting more and you you get that the next morning with your breakfast, a meal to last you until dinner.
A lovely atmosphere and great service the head waitress was a pleasure and very relaxed and organised all the way through are evening meal, nothing was too much to ask.
Our room was great, very comfortable beds our 10 year old wanted to take it home.
The bathroom was functional.
The little extras af water and biscuits all welcomed.
Can't wait to go again to try the next special on the menu with some wine which I hope and pray has come from another great source. Some more sweet wines would be a great addition.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolSommelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews