We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good staff with an uphill struggle in tired building”
Review of The Royal Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good staff with an uphill struggle in tired building”
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Met by a member of staff who didn't know where our room 20 was located. Had to ask twice (it's not signposted) and he finally found it next to room 7. Bedroom and bathroom was very 60's - no central heating in that part of the hotel, room had some old furniture and was gloomy when the light was turned on and the curtains drawn, which was necessary as there were no blinds and looked out on a lawn. Lack of local information on walks, etc. No hot water on first morning as boiler had broken down overnight. Returned from a six hour walk to be told that boiler was fixed. An hour later we informed the hotel (no phone in room) that there was again no hot water. Eventually bathed in luke warm water before going out. No newspaper delivery on second morning, but still charged on bill. Lack of communication among staff. No compensation offered for lack of hot water, but this was then promptly offered by the manager when sought. This is supposedly a four star hotel and we were paying £100 per night for a superior room. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and breakfast was good. However our impression was of a very tired building.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    259
    97
    50
    16
See reviews for
117
504
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2010

The Royal Lodge sits in a stunning location on the riverside below Yat Rock.

The reception area is dingy and dark. Off to the left is a residents lounge with old fashioned furniture. The dining room has been modernised and is light and airy, although not overlarge and some tables, especially those for two, seem to have been sqeezed in.

We arrived about lunchtime, there was no-one on the reception and room keys were hanging in full view and accessabilty; so take your key out with you. This was not the only occasion we found the reception unmanned.

Our room was up two fights of very narrow, steep stairs, beware if you are elderly or infirm. The room was of a reasonable size with a modern pine, solid framed bed, a pine wardrobe, which looked as if the oddjob man had built it and really old and decrepit dark oak furniture, which was coming apart at the seams!

The bathroom was a good size, with a half sunken bath, which when sat in it, gave a wonderful view of the underneath of the toilet rim, which looked as though it hadn't seen a brush or cleaner in months. There was only a hand shower. The artificial flower arrangement in the corner was laden with dust and cobwebs.

The whole of the front of the hotel is floodlit at night, the curtains are white, the blind was up and would not come down; hence we had a floodlit bedroom all night.
It did seem as if some effort had been made to decorate and renovate the rooms but very much on the cheap.

The bar food and the restaurant food was okay, but rather pricey for what it was. Breakfast is not served until 08.30, so forget your early start, varies from day to day as to how many rashers of bacon, mushrooms etc you get on your plate and their version of a continental breakfast is not what I consider a continental breakfast. (as the last review stated)

There is a place about 100yds away which hires out canoes and does riverboat trips, a cafe and a public house. I believe the hotel, canoes and the pub are all owned by the same company. The menu and wines at the pub were similar, if not the same, as at the hotel, with prices to match.

There are some great walks in the area, so if all you want is somewhere to stay in a good location and be out all day then this may suit, but if, like me, you were looking for somewhere special (I booked our time away for a birthday treat) then look again. This really is not a four star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0lympus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

Had an interview for a job in Ross-on-Wye so wanted somewhere quiet to have a good night sleep. Location perfect, staff very helpful but it ended there. Arrived at 7pm, by the time I got sorted I was starving so ordered from the bar menu ... fish and chips £12! Chips and peas were good but fish was thin and soggy as it was soaked in oil ... there was more batter than fish. Just about stomached it and ate it (but had to leave some). Room had bed that made such loud creaking noises when I turned it woke me up every time. Shower head would not stay up, light in bathroom did not work. Found out in the middle of the night that there was a nail sticking up from the joint strip between bedroom and bathroom ... only because I stepped on it! Had to settle for continental breakfast as I had to leave at 8.15 am ... breakfast not served until 8.30am! I was offered coffee, juice, yoghurt, fruit or cereal, pretty poor for a 'continental' breakfast ... would have expected a croissant or maybe even just a bit of taost! Don't know where the 4 stars came from ... maybe it was the swear word I used when I stepped on that nail.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccfcsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2010

The Royal Lodge is in a lovely location overlooking the river Wye and room 19 with the Four Poster Bed is definitively recommended. It’s spacious, it looks out over the garden and the river and the bathroom is new and modern.
The only drawback, it’s up two flights of stairs so if you are not very mobile then you might have a struggle.
Food in the restaurant was fine and quite reasonable and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Royal Lodge in Symonds Yat.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpumpernickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

Twice in a month! We were so pleased with the first time around we came back and brought our dog to, I don't think she's walked so far in one day before. On short notice they were able to find us excellant rooms all with a river view. This time all the spring flowers were out and the weather was lovely - couldn't have picked a better weekend. Whilst the hotel was exceptionally busy because of the good weather it did not detract from the service we were given. Once again the food was fantastic - the menu had changed but the food was still up to standard, the duck with cherry sauce was out of this world.
Once again Graham and the team excelled themselves thank you for a weekend guys.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daffodils52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaydon
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2010

The Manager Graham could'nt do enough for us, anything we asked of him was accommadated.
The food was excellent and so was the service especially as were a big group.
We have been before but it just keeps getting better and better.
The rooms are in the process of being refurbished and double glazed and were very warm
and comfortable as it was a freezing weekend. The dining area and bars were very inviting and attractive to walkers and lunchtime eating.The location is outstanding and views are fantastic from the hotel.
Hope to go back there sometime soon in the near future.
Evelyn Halfpenny

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lillygaydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon,Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2010

The warmth of the welcome extended to all guests by the staff and management set the seal on the most marvellous three night stay over Christmas. The hotel is situated on the banks of the River Wye on a dead-end road in a tranquil and beautiful gorge. Local walks start from the hotel and the comfortable and informal atmosphere encourages guests to enjoy outdoors knowing that the rooms are warm for their return. A splendid woodburning stove heats the first cosy lounge and despite freezing temperatures outside, we were very comfortable and well looked after throughout our stay. Congratulations to the Chef for the extensive menu, the high quality of homecooked food served hot despite full occupancy for Christmas Dinner; the amazing desserts and cheeseboard. This delightful hotel made our Christmas very special and we still feel a warm glow that makes us want to return again and again! Thankyou to all the management and Staff.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrallongTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
5.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#11 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
5.7 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Lodge

Property: The Royal Lodge
Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Lodge at Symonds Yat East has an idyllic setting in the heart of the Wye Valley in an area of outstanding natural beauty where the River Wye cuts a swathe through a wooded gorge on the edge of the spectacular Royal Forest of Dean.The Lodge is nestled just below Symonds Yat Rock and stands exclusively in grounds of almost 5 acres overlooking the river. It has terraced gardens of magnolia trees and a well established wisteria. The Royal was originally built in 1876 as a Royal hunting lodge and was converted to a hotel in the 1920's. It has had a full and extensive refurbishment in 2008 and is managed by Graham Howells who has overseen the transformation and ensures that the level of service reflects the new development and idyllic location. The Royal Lodge is a great place to unwind with long relaxing walks in outstanding scenery. The hotel is also well situated to explore the Wye Valley, Brecon Beacons, Black Mountains and the South Wales coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Royal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Symonds Yat
Royal Hotel Symonds Yat
The Royal Lodge Symonds Yat, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing