We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, excellent food, beautiful position, lots to do.”
Review of The Royal Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheddar, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very comfortable, excellent food, beautiful position, lots to do.”
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Our room was very spaceous and comfortable. Bathroom needs a little upgrading. The service from the hotel staff could not be faulted and the cuisine excellent. The location is very beautiful with lots to do. We went on the hand operated pontoon and across the suspension bridge on one walk and also watched the canoeists in the rapids. The trees were splendid in their autumn colours.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doris0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    274
    106
    49
    17
See reviews for
124
525
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2010

I was a little concerned about going here as the Trip Advisor reviews were very mixed but we had a great stay. the staff were very helpful, our rooms were clean and had lovely river views. We ate in and dinner was good, if a little slow. the hotel is a bit shabby in places but it didnt spoil our stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy200665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

we stayed for one night only as we had a 40th birthday party to attend nearby, the location is stunning, the staff friendly , the service good,[ although we did have to ask if we could order our breakfast and pot of tea after being seated for about 20 mins with staff just walking past us! otherwise we really would reccomend this hotel and hope to return with some more friends in the near future. The plumbing was a bit noisy but considering the age of the place that was to be expected.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne0456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2010

The Royal Lodge is in a perfect setting overlooking the River. The staff were very friendly, the room was very clean and the food very good although a little expensive. Our room was newly refurbished with a king size bed and had everything we needed (hairdryer, tea, coffee, biscuits and even bottled water. For the price we paid I was very impressed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandswens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester uk
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Ok my wife and i have just returned from a long weekend staying at the Royal Lodge i hate to have a go at hotels but i suppose thats why we use this site so here goes lets get the plus side hotel in a beautiful location right on the river lovely views and i have read a few reviews about the staff but we found them very helpful so no complaints there,bar prices not too bad really considering where you are,now the down side,we were shown to our room which was full of shredded tissue or paper on the floor which had obviously not been paid much attention to for new arrivals which i spotted straight away,the windows were like something out of a world war two army barracks for a four star hotel very below the standard you would expect i thought the maids would tidy everything up as our stay went along but no nothing done at all a quick vac on the carpet would not of gone a miss.Now for what we were paying £40-£45 per person per night beb&breakfast not the cheapest of places you would expect more attention to detail certainly not a four star hotel yet needs some money spending on it i think maybe because of the location the stars have been awarded so sorry The Royal Lodge i tell it as it really is hope comments dont offend

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebadger007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, 24 August 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank You for your comments concerning your stay with us at The Royal Lodge. Please accept my sincere apologies for the state of your room on arrival as you describe. Had the matter been brought to our attention, it would have been immediately rectified. I can only assume that within the busy period we have recently experienced, the quality inspection of your room after house-keeping and before your arrival was sadly overlooked on this one occasion.

Whilst I thank you for your further comments, I must point out that 'The Royal Lodge' is classified as a "4 Star Guest Accommodation" (AA Quality Standard Classification). Whilst we endeavor to provide as many services for guests as possible, we are not a 'Hotel'. We do pride ourselves on professional, uniformed staff, well-appointed public areas as well as our restaurant which caters to residents and non-residents, and whilst we try to provide a more personalised service, the classification of a 4 star hotel differs from our own.

We hope that you will visit us again at The Royal Lodge in the future and thank you for your kind feedback.

Kind Regards,

Mr S J Brock
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
460 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Lovely location right on the river - rooms are SUPPOSED to have views but my BOX room did not... unless I stood on the bed :( My friend did have a larger single room with a better view and YES I was miffed! But a bedroom is for sleeping in!

Hotel food is excellent (if pricey!) would avoid the sweets if I were you at £6 for a TINY portion they simply are not worth it - drinks are DEAR at £3.40 for a pint of cider BUT note that all accommodation in Symonds Yet East is owned by the same family SO THERE IS A MONOPOLY and the prices reflect this!

There are plenty of PUBS ouside the village where a great meal can be had for half the price!

Will be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulnpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We stayed at the Royal Lodge for one night at the beginning of July. The area it is set in is absolutely stunning.

Our room was a good size and had windows along two sides so it was nice and light and we had lovely views. We had a four poster bed which looked good and was both sturdy and comfortable. There was even a radio in the room which I tried and it worked. The bathroom looked new and the shower was excellent. Everything was spotlessly clean. Only problem I had was that I got lost leaving the room and it took me a while to find the way downstairs but then I do have a lousy sense of direction.

Having eaten a large meal earlier in the day, we had a light meal in the evening; I had smoked salmon, very tasty. Just wish I’d had room for a desert. The service was good, both friendly and quick and we enjoyed our meal.

Service at breakfast was again friendly and quick. We don’t eat cooked breakfast but I ordered the porridge and it was definitely the best porridge I’ve eaten. There was also a help-yourself continental breakfast bar with yogurts, cereals and juices plus toast to order. Excellent.

I certainly hope we can go again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strathis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
1.2 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
483 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
127 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
388 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
570 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Lodge

Property: The Royal Lodge
Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Lodge at Symonds Yat East has an idyllic setting in the heart of the Wye Valley in an area of outstanding natural beauty where the River Wye cuts a swathe through a wooded gorge on the edge of the spectacular Royal Forest of Dean.The Lodge is nestled just below Symonds Yat Rock and stands exclusively in grounds of almost 5 acres overlooking the river. It has terraced gardens of magnolia trees and a well established wisteria. The Royal was originally built in 1876 as a Royal hunting lodge and was converted to a hotel in the 1920's. It has had a full and extensive refurbishment in 2008 and is managed by Graham Howells who has overseen the transformation and ensures that the level of service reflects the new development and idyllic location. The Royal Lodge is a great place to unwind with long relaxing walks in outstanding scenery. The hotel is also well situated to explore the Wye Valley, Brecon Beacons, Black Mountains and the South Wales coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your The Royal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Symonds Yat
Royal Hotel Symonds Yat
The Royal Lodge Symonds Yat, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing