We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Botany Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsgate
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed in a double with a sea view & it was worth the extra cost as it was lovely to wake up and look out to a great view. Spacious room, with all the facilities you need. A bit chintzy, but very clean.

Room Tip: Go for the exec' room with sea view
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordonzola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
There are newer reviews for The Botany Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

567 - 573 of 634 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2012

over many years that i have been goi to margate i was taken to the hotel for a meal and a drink. i have to say it was the most amazing place the staff were friendly and the food was brilliant. i went back to the hotel recently and found that nothing had changed. its so good toee that value for money and the staffs friendliness has not changed i would recomend this hotel to anyone. well worth a visit

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GAIL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

My sister and I decided to treat our parents who are both in the 80's to a stay at The Fayreness Hotel as a present for their 60th wedding anniversary. The original date had to be postponed due to my father being taken ill and I have to say the hotel were very understanding at that time.
We had made it clear at the outset that this was a 'special' anniversary and that we wanted them to have a room with a balcony and sea view.
Unfortunately my sister received a call from our parents upon their arrival to say they had been put in a pokey room at the back of the hotel with no balcony and a view over the back yard! When my sister rang to sort this out she was told by a surly unhelpful lady that there was nothing that could be done as the best rooms are kept in case any golfers decide to stay. My sister was then told they didn't have a Manager on site to whom she could speak.
Eventually she did speak to someone 'in authority' who after a lot of prevarication agreed to move my parents to a slightly better room.
I have to say that the attitude of the staff left a great deal to be desired - at no time was there any apology offered. It spoilt what should have been an enjoyable 60th wedding anniversary treat.
I guess if you are a golfer then you are in luck - but beware - anybody else takes it as it comes.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I had originally intended only to stay for 2 nights, but ended up extending for the whole week - due to business reasons. On the first day, I arrived quite early having flown from Australia. The single room I'd booked was not ready, and so I was upgraded to a suite - which was fantastic as this was at no extra cost.

Breakfast was certainly substantial, and was good - even the vegetarian option, which I had a few times.

Service was very good, and the room was always serviced to a high standard.

The only fault I can offer is that the Wifi wasn't very reliable in room - much better in the bar downstairs (which of course makes for much more enjoyable typing in any case!).

Having seen some of the other places in Thanet, I think is the best place to stay - best character, best location, good service, and food.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellin_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed for just one night over the Jubilee weekend. Cannot fault the hotel. The room was very good, and the breakfast was excellent. We were catching an early ferry and the fact that breakfast was served at 7.00am meant that we had plenty of time for the drive to Dover. Very good bar meals served at reasonable prices with the addition of live music because it was a bank holiday. Will definitely stay again. Enjoyed a great walk into Broadstairs along the cliff path and the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynPppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

very nice stay and lovely breakfast, with very friendly staff, bit of a dodgy road outside hotel so drive careful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MojoAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Spent our anniversary here. Hotel was lovely with gorgeous coastal views. We received an upgrade to a really large suite which was great. There was a wedding on, but we didn't hear anything, due to the room being further from the disco, which is probably why we received the upgrade. The food in restaurant was really nice and good service too. All in all a great night away.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazziebeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsgate
1.4 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
530 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
195 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
370 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
730 reviews
4.1 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Botany Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Botany Bay Hotel

Address: Marine Drive, Kingsgate CT10 3LG, England (Formerly The Fayreness Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Kingsgate
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsgate
Price Range: £74 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Botany Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the beautiful cliff top at Kingsgate Bay, The Botany Bay Hotel in Broadstairs promises a tranquil and peaceful getaway - whether it's for a long weekend, a wedding, birthday celebration or just a lunch hour. Stay in one of 30 en-suite bedrooms, enjoy a pint of real ale in the lounge bar or sample fantastic food (with a view of the sea) in one of the best restaurants in Broadstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Botany Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayreness Hotel Kingsgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing