We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Botany Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Botany Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsgate
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed two nights while attending a wedding. The room was spacious, clean and cosy and the bathroom was warm and clean. The staff were all were friendly and the food in the bar area was excellent. The views over the sea were amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    193
    88
    33
    19
See reviews for
154
246
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Was here for wedding. Everything was well organised and food was good. The hotel is good value for money and has sea views. For a three star is excellent. We had a very large and comfortable room with sea views.Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank katharine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Only a short stay...the large room was nice...But the morning breakfasts were horrid.
The dining room needed a complete overall...the carpets and floors weren`t very clean...the windows of the dinning room were on their last legs...the blinds were just a joke...But to be fair they had the builders in and perhaps its undergoing complete refurbishment...because that what it needs. L overly setting and location...but wont go there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a large family room....even if your own your own...as some of the single rooms are very smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank firstdan159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed 3 nights recently on business and I found the whole experience very good. Ok, the hotel was in the middle of some fairly serious renovation and scaffolding clad most of the exterior but once you got inside you would never have known. I stayed in one of the newly renovated doubles which was 'cosy', as described on the hotel website, but absolutely fine for my requirements. The staff were excellent and the hotel is obviously well run and managed. Food was good and the view was simply outstanding - no hesitation in recommending. Final mention for Poppy who was extremely helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed for one night on 7th December and it was a last minute booking and we weren't expecting much, just a place to rest our heads as we were at a function at a nearby golf club. The hotel occupies a lovely position at the end of a residential road and when we pulled up outside it was completely surrounded by scaffolding. On entering the hotel it is in very obvious need of renovation and it is very dated. However we were welcomed very warmly by poppy on reception and she personally showed us to our newly renovated room. Wow what a difference! The room was cosy but very comfortable, traditional I would say, with brand new dark oak furniture and new everything else, even down to the towels! The hallway outside is also newly decorated to a very high standard. Breakfast the next morning was back in the conservatory in the older part of the hotel but with lovely sea views. The food was good quality, we had full English, but there was quite a good menu and the staff were extremely helpful polite and friendly. When this hotel has had the full makeover, I'm sure it will turn out to be a little gem of a place, keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in a renovated room or you will be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PITSKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel whilst visiting family. The staff are so very friendly especially Poppy and Donna. We stayed the last night (before it is refurbished), in room 403. It has amazing view, large and clean. Bit dated, but as I say soon to be updated. Price includes breakfast, so full value. We will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kilbere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We have just returned from a wonderfull stay at the fayreness. It is under going development works, but we were look after from start to finish by great staff. Credit to the managers. New rooms look amazing, will come back next year to see the finished product.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wardy345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsgate
2.5 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
3.8 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
2.0 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#4 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
2.2 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
17.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Botany Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Botany Bay Hotel

Property: The Botany Bay Hotel
Address: Marine Drive, Kingsgate CT10 3LG, England (Formerly The Fayreness Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Kingsgate
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Botany Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the beautiful cliff top at Kingsgate Bay, The Botany Bay Hotel in Broadstairs promises a tranquil and peaceful getaway - whether it's for a long weekend, a wedding, birthday celebration or just a lunch hour. Stay in one of 30 en-suite bedrooms, enjoy a pint of real ale in the lounge bar or sample fantastic food (with a view of the sea) in one of the best restaurants in Broadstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Botany Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayreness Hotel Kingsgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing