We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Botany Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsgate
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My boyfriend and I just came back from a weekend trip to Kent. We were looking for a hotel to stay in the Broadstairs/Margate area after a cycling along the Viking Costal Trail. Taxis to and from either Broadstairs or Margate is about a fiver each way but it is well worth it for the great views that the hotel offers and the peaceful, tranquil setting! We got a seaview room with a lovely terrace.The room itself was modern, clean and very comfortable. The staff were so helpful and friendly from the start to the end of our trip and answered all the questions we had about restaurants, attractions etc. A visit to Botany Bay (a few minutes away) and its chalk cliffs is a must! There is one pub nearby (The Captain Digby) which was pretty good but otherwise there are no other restaurants in the area. The full English breakfast (with croissants, toast etc) at the hotel was delicious - it was included in the price of our room but we would have happily paid separately for it. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melody L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

The hotel is always clean and spotless when we visit. I have never written on one of these sites before, but reading the last review made me so angry. The staff are wonderful and the management do there best. Its not their fault that the hotel is on the coast and gets window. Debris on a balcony can't be helped after a wet night, and the drain issue, could have just happened due to the high volume of rain. Once reported i'm sue they will have it repaired. A balanced view is what should be reported on here. Take out emotion. I love the place and will always return. Yvonne.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed in this newly refurbished hotel with my wife , lovely locale & refurbished to a high standard , but let's it self down with silly things . Our private balcony , rather than be private was joined to two others and had a corridor window looking out on it ,so our private balcony is on view to every one passing on the Maine stair way to the rooms and just above the main restaurant , a goldfish bowl would be more private ! And a dam site cleaner with dead grass and leafs on the balcony and furniture, making it a very undesirable place to use , even on a rather hot morning a real shame . In night before was wet and due to a blocked drain pipe the water ran down onto the balcony floor with a real splashing it made sleeping difficult , and a uncomfortable night , the TV lost signal every time the wind blow , all in all a good place but need some care and attention on a day to day , maybe a manager how cares a bit more than the current one ?! .

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Kent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed for a 3 night weekend in April 2014. The hotel, which has recently been refurbished, overlooks the sea. Our room was very well furnished (although a couple of bedside lamps would have been appreciated). The breakfasts were excellent (the usual traditional English breakfasts) plus several more unusual options eg smoked haddock with poached egg. We took our evening meals in the bar and the food was again of a high standard. There is also an a la carte restaurant. The reception and waiting staff service was friendly and efficient.
A very good choice for a touring holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walker37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stayed with 3 colleagues on business last night, and was really impressed all round. Rooms were great, although a full length mirror was probably the only thing missing in my room. Breakfast really good - the eggs benedict superb. Bar area nice. Couldn't fault it and great value for money. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leleuvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Woke up on Saturday morning and we felt like getting away and doing something different so looked at local places we had not visited. Have always wanted to see Whitstable in Kent and the Botany Bay Hotel flagged up in a search, around 15 miles along the coast as we needed a family room for 4.

I have to say I was bowled over by it. The location was stunning, right on the cliff top looking out to see with gorgeous white cliff, golden sandy beaches for miles around. The hotel was immaculate, benefiting from a very recent refurb, Sophie on reception was very friendly and knew exactly who we were. I had requested an extra bed via email earlier. We were shown to the family suite which was fantastic. So much space, two flat screen TVs, separate lunge area and a very nice bathroom with Jack & Jill sinks. Everything was superb, stylish and we could even see the sea! We didn't think it could get much better having walked along the coast to grab fish & chips in nearby Broadstairs but after having the most comfortable sleep, we headed down for breakfast which was included in the great value room rate.

Breakfast was great. Good buffet for cereals and juices and a very nice menu. My wife had smoked Haddock and Spinach, daughter French Toast and berries and I had a spin on Eggs Benedict with a bagel. My son opted for full English. All was excellent, even had good coffee.

Honestly cant recommend this hotel highly enough, it really felt like 5-Star service ad the location is a perfect base to explore this stunning part of England, whether it be country or beach you are interested in. Plus the actual beach at Botany Bay which is a 5 minute walk from hotel is breathtaking.

10/10 in every way.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josactually
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Fabulous hotel and position overlooking the sea
Excellent everything, staff,rooms, bar,restaurant
Good menu, well prepared food and served
Very helpful and friendly receptionist
Looking forward to return and again walking the promenade

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theworldfromwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsgate
2 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
673 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
228 reviews
1.4 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,124 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
757 reviews
3.8 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Botany Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Botany Bay Hotel

Address: Marine Drive, Kingsgate CT10 3LG, England (Formerly The Fayreness Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Kingsgate
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsgate
Price Range: £61 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Botany Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the beautiful cliff top at Kingsgate Bay, The Botany Bay Hotel in Broadstairs promises a tranquil and peaceful getaway - whether it's for a long weekend, a wedding, birthday celebration or just a lunch hour. Stay in one of 30 en-suite bedrooms, enjoy a pint of real ale in the lounge bar or sample fantastic food (with a view of the sea) in one of the best restaurants in Broadstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your The Botany Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayreness Hotel Kingsgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing