We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but not the best”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bridge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Chertsey
Wickford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OK but not the best”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Spent 2 nights here for a birthday break. We knew Christmas functions would be on but bar staff refused to do a sandwich or offer lunch bar menu when we arrived as they were too busy. Ordered cab for 6.45 in evening to go to restaurant but it was ordered for 7.45, didn't receive newspaper in morning as requested. Plus side, hotel clean, breakfast ok, staff ok, would be nice location in summer

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickygg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil W, General Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Hi nickygg

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I was disappointed to read your comments regarding the service of the food in the bar, at no time should any member of the team refuse any products to our guests. Rest assured I will be looking into this further and ensuring corrective training is given to the Food & Beverage team.

I apologise for the mix up with the taxi, having spoken to my Reception Manager she has asked me to pass on her apologies and will ensure that the right procedures are followed by her team

I do hope we will welcome you back to the hotel again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    209
    140
    64
    38
See reviews for
107
227
22
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013

A very nice clean room with a lovely bed. The bedroom was recently refurnished and spotless. One of the pillow cases was ripped ... But I did mention this to reception. It was fine as it was only me but I would have got them to change it if I was staying with my husband. I booked in early which was no problem and the receptionist was excellent. I did not have a good nights sleep but to it being to hot and it was noises.. But living in the middle of nowhere in an old draughty house with no traffic for miles I am not use to being warm and cars outside.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo4012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil W, General Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Hi jo4012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the hotel, I was pleased to read that you were looked after by the Reception team.
Your comments regarding the pillow case was noted and I have since spoken to my Head Housekeeper to review her processes.

Next time you stay, do ask for a room away from the main road to enjoy the traquility of the Thames
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Close to Heathrow. Taxi from heathrow to the Bridge cost was €35.
Free WiFi.
Breakfast is Continental...but a waiter/waitress will come round to and ask if you would like, Bacon & Egg & Sausage, etc. So if your're in a hurry don't expect the hot breakfast to be ready...plan to go to breakfast 15 mins early than you planned.
Staff are very helpful and friendly.
Great Pub grub is served until 10 pm in the bar.
Remember to turn on room heater on those cold nights.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbelmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil W, General Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Hi sbelmour
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us, I was pleased to read that we met your expectations.

I was particulary pleased to read that the team were helpful and friendly during your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I have just spent 2 nights here and I have to say for the price, the rooms and breakfast were excellent. The beds were really comfortable, decent bathroom, iron and board in the rooms which is always a bonus! Great for parking and a good location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil W, General Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Hi SallyR
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us
I was delighted to read your comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Not Chertsey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I'm quite calm client and service providers should be really worse to encourage me initiating a claim. This hotel enforced me to claiming several times for 2week long stay. Below are some facts:
* Cardboard walls - you can hear how grandma living next door is ordering her airplane tickets, as well as steps of your neighbour at next storey (so it's very bad idea to spent your honeymoon time here). So that, pay extra attention to your TV sound volume to not disturb your neighbours.
* Elevator - strong permanent smell of ink inside but it definitely was painted quite a long time ago; anyway it's better to use stairs as the elevator is very slow
* Room clearing - most pity part of my story: room was dirty from very beginning, my verbal claims to reception had no success as well as written notes on my table - it was 3 days long battle to convert the room to something mediocre in terms of cleanness
* Table... it has magic drawers! Whenever you shut them in, they roll out after a while constantly (so I used to insert some papers etc between the floor and table's front legs
* Another "T-started" word, towels. First towel was with black spot (lush ink?), next was with big hole in the middle (enough to put your finger through), third day it was with light-brown spot (cometics indeed) so I blew up and visited the reception. Later that evening, they gave me two towels instead as a replacement. Mamma mia, first one was with yellow rusty spot and small hole simultaneously, happily second one was clean and one piece.
* Bathroom walls were in black curly hairs
* Lamps - two of them but very little amount of light, especially if compare with bathroom light
* Windows - bug shells, webs and all that staff
* Wi-Fi with unpredictable quality
* Hair-drier was missed from very beginning so I used to ask one at reception. At next week, room personnel discovered that original hair-drier was missing so they put second one to me not checking that I was given with first one before. Now I have two - looks ma, I'm a hair-drier cowboy, paf-paf!
Surely, this is not all what I experienced in this hotel for 2 weeks. Would I return to it again? No-no-no!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yury75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil W, General Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Hi Yuri75

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay at the hotel.

I would ask you to contact me at the hotel on neil.wheeler@galleonhotels.com to discuss your comments further
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chertsey hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
414 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Last minute booking meant we got a lovely ensuite river view room for just under £55.00 excluding breakfast which suited our needs.
For what we paid, we felt we had exceptional value. The bed was comfortable and we had all we needed in the room.
The hospitality tray is meagre, just a few packets of coffee/tea, no biscuits BUT the hotel guide made it clear you can ring down for extras including fresh milk.
Housekeeping do need to pay closer attention to detailed cleaning. Bath fixtures and grouting were discoloured and need treating but overall the room felt clean.
We didn't eat there at all so can't comment on the restaurant. The service from the people we met was very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside room. The curtains are very effective at keeping out light and the traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwordMaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil W, General Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Hi SwordMaiden
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us
I am pleased to read your comments and have noted the Housekeeping remarks, I have spoken to the Head Housekeeper who instigated a refresh in her teams training
We are currently in the process of redecorating our rooms and bathrooms

I look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallsend,England.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed here 3 times this year and was very pleased with it each time, Although its a bit of a job getting out of the site in the morning because of its location right on the river. But the rooms are very comfortable and the food was exceptional especially the ribs, The staff where very friendly and helpful and overall lead to a very pleasant stay

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeordieRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil W, Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Hi GeordieRed
Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us & glad you enjoyed the ribs!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chertsey
1.5 mi away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
559 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chertsey
384 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Anchor Hotel
The Anchor Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shepperton
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ship Hotel Weybridge
2.2 mi away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
895 reviews
2.6 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge Hotel

Property: The Bridge Hotel
Address: Bridge Road, Chertsey KT16 8JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chertsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Chertsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for comfortable accommodation in 3 star hotels, family-friendly hotels or riverside restaurants in Chertsey and Surrey? You've come to the right place. Take a stroll out to the riverside bar and terrace, order a cappuccino or a drink. Then settle down to enjoy the views of the Thames, the historic Chertsey Bridge and the green fields beyond. Allow us to spoil you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bridge Hotel Chertsey, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing