We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DANGEROUS!!!!!”
Review of THORPE PARK Resort

THORPE PARK Resort
Book In Advance
More Info
US$45.85*
and up
THORPE PARK Resort Admission Ticket with Meal Deal
Ranked #6 of 13 things to do in Chertsey
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With over 30 thrilling rides, attractions and live events, THORPE PARK Resort is an island like no other and the UK's must-visit destination to share endless fun with family and friends. THORPE PARK Resort has hotel accommodation available for booking at the THORPE SHARK Hotel which is only minutes walk from the action. Rooms sleep up to 4 persons. During Summer season THORPE PARK Resort has its very own beach and paddling pool with beach huts available to rent. NEW for 2017 is the multi-award winning Derren Brown's Ghost Train: Rise Of The Demon, designed by the master of illusion, Derren Brown himself.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I went for a day out here today with my best friend. With the knowledge school holidays are two weeks away so it wouldn't be busy. WRONG. Where do I begin?

Parking is unorganised and unmarked so it's impossible to find your car at the end of the day out. What's wrong with putting areas and zones to make it easier?!

Full to the brim of school children! Why?! Why are parents allowed to take their kids out of school at term time to go to a theme park? How is that responsible?

Queue times - Swarm was closed for 20 mins to add a train to shorten queue sizes. Here's an idea - always use the MAXIMUM amount of trains?! We waited 2 hours to get on it. After we paid for 3 fast track tickets for £15 for Colleseus, SAW and Nemesis. Firstly Nemesis we had to wait 45 minutes in a fast track queue?!?! How is that fast?! Also I'd like to add why do you allocate times? I was allocated 3.15, 3.45 and 5.30. I went on all of them after another at 2pm....because your incompetent staff don't check the times and literally took the pieces of paper and said 'fine' and let us through. This is WHY your fast track queues are so long!!!! Yes I know we risked it, but your staff should have stopped us.

Food - mostly okay except for your hot dog restuarant. The girl in there picked up a soggy dirty head of a mop with her hands, put it down then made my friend tea touching the tea bag with her hands....without washing them!!!! My friend asked for a refund. Do you not teach your staff hygiene? That had touched a disgusting mop and floor! Also some healthy eating establishments and not junk food wouldn't have gone a miss?

Rides- mostly okay except Colloseus. How are you legally allowed to run that ride? I have had a past head injury which was very serious that included hospitalisation. Any trigger can knock me out cold. You have NO warnings about the fact the ride is so dangerous it smacks you left right and centre in the head at a high force why exactly? Are you trying to injure and kill people? I literally was unwell for ages and felt like I was going to pass out. What is your explanation for operating a dangerous ride? With NO prior warnings your head will get hit hard? Are you trying to get yourselves shut down intentionally as a business? I could within my rights report that to HSE and I think I might do so before someone ends up filing a large claim one day against yourselves.

Apart from that, SAW and Swarm were great. But decide whether you think buying fast track tickets (which everyone has so it doesn't even feel exclusive or special), a head injury and other negatives for a potential positive day out.

5  Thank SamK2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE PARK Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear SamK2212,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to THORPE PARK Resort. We were disappointed that your day did not go as planned.

Our car park contains significant signage upon entry through the front gates, and although we sympathise that cars can be difficult to locate when it is full, this is an unavoidable consequence. We have passed on your suggestions to the relevant management.

With regards to the influx of school children, as this is a popular destination for children it is expected to be busy with these guests. Whether it be school organised trips or otherwise, we are sorry this massively influenced your day, yet there is very little we can do about this from our perspective.

Running our attractions at full capacity is always our intention, yet on certain occasions this cannot be done due to maintenance being done on parts of the attraction. Referencing the fastrack system, we apologise for the inconvenience caused, yet as you alluded to it is a highly successful feature provided the staff and guests co-opeate coherently. In your case, this was down to your using your fastrack ticket before your allocated slot, but again we will pass on your concerns.

In terms of addressing the remainder of your concerns, we recommend you email us at customer.services@thorpe-park.co.uk to do so in greater detail. Once again we apologise for your disappointing day, and we thank you for taking the time to raise your concerns with us.

Kind Regards,

George
Customer Services Co-ordinator
THORPE PARK Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"tidal wave"
in 439 reviews
"water rides"
in 265 reviews
"nemesis inferno"
in 363 reviews
"big rides"
in 483 reviews
"angry birds"
in 146 reviews
"shark hotel"
in 159 reviews
"loggers leap"
in 114 reviews
"burger king"
in 200 reviews
"storm surge"
in 167 reviews
"thrill seekers"
in 213 reviews
"pizza hut"
in 103 reviews
"rumba rapids"
in 104 reviews
"flying fish"
in 87 reviews
"school holidays"
in 169 reviews
"longest queue"
in 96 reviews
"food outlets"
in 82 reviews
"great park"
in 102 reviews
Filter

6,157 - 6,161 of 8,193 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Me and my mates decided to go Thorpe Park mad and spend a whole weekend here...conveniently timed with a Ministry of Sound night being hosted on the Saturday.

After pre-booking our tickets online and paying for everything beforehand, we walked up to the barriers and was straight in the park...no queuing at all...something very rare compared to past experiences.

The park was busy, but not hectic. All rides were in service and the staff were friendly and approachable...no complaints really.

Ministry of Sound is something that is completely new to us and we were a bit apprehensive at first as to how this would pan out...but boy were we wrong! The park was fully open and all the big rides were ready to take us again in the evening...being in a theme park drunk is very surreal. After 11pm and riding many of the rides a number of times, we headed to the Dome to experience the rest of the evening. Drinks were reasonably priced, the bar was a bit busy but who can complain?!

Overall we really enjoyed our weekend and would deffo do it again!

See you in November Thorpe Park

Thank Herts15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE PARK Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Herts15,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to THORPE PARK Resort. We are delighted that you had such a fantastic experience throughout your stay.

We were thrilled that all elements of your visit was to your liking, and that you enjoyed both the day in the resort and our Ministry of Sound event in the evening.

Thanks again for your flattering comments, and we hope you visit us again soon in the near future!

Kind Regards,

George
Customer Services Co-ordinator
THORPE PARK Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Went for our daughters 14th birthday. There are lots of thrill seeking rides, of which we had to queue for about 20-50 minutes. Which is fine as it's what you expect at a busy theme park. I do think the park could do with a spruce up, some parts look a little shabby and old. Best ride was The Swarm, wow! Great fun...I like the fact that the rides are all pretty close together too. A pretty good day out, but sorry I prefer Alton Towers.

Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE PARK Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Rachel P,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to THORPE PARK Resort. We are delighted that your day was an enjoyable one.

Our range of attractions are top quality, and we’re glad you agree with this sentiment. With regards to Resort maintenance, we have a large site presentation team dedicated to this precise duty, and although we respectfully disagree with your comments we have passed this on to the relevant management team.

Thanks again for your comments, and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

George
Customer Services Co-ordinator
THORPE PARK Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

The trip to thorpe park was very disappointing because most of the rides were broken down meaning the rest of the rides have big waiting times .
Thorpe park looks like it could do with a bit of freshing up with some paint.
They need a deceny maintainance programe as every ride broke down at somepoint today .
With the £5 charge for parking the car could they please spend some money weading the car park.
I suggest they take a trip to disney to see how to look after a park

3  Thank Stevenchipchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE PARK Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Stevenchipchase,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to THORPE PARK Resort. I was disappointed to hear you day did not go as you expected it to.

With regards to our queues being sizeable, this is an occasional unfortunate consequence of our resort being so popular. For those not willing to queue for our major attractions, we thoroughly suggest investing in Fastrack Tickets.

In terms of our Resort maintenance, we have a large site presentation staff that primarily handle issues of this nature. Although we thank you for your feedback, we respectfully disagree with the sentiment, and we are happy with the efforts of this team. Nevertheless, we will pass your feedback on to the relevant manager.

Thanks again for your comments, and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

George
Customer Services Co-ordinator
THORPE PARK Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I went with a group of 4 friends and we really enjoyed our visit. The rides were great and the atmosphere was really enjoyable.

Thank MPP90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE PARK Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear MPM90,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to THORPE PARK Resort! We were very pleased that you had such a great day, and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

George
Customer Services Co-ordinator
THORPE PARK Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed THORPE PARK Resort also viewed

 

Been to THORPE PARK Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing