We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ah, so that's why its so cheap.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of THORPE SHARK Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
THORPE SHARK Hotel
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“ah, so that's why its so cheap.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I found the room to be perfectly adequate for one night,although my partner wasn't as keen on the tin box style of room. the mattresses and pillows were firm and comfy, and the wetroom shower was hot and powerful. the aircon was a bit noisy though, and I would have hated to stay in the tiny space with two kids,getting dressed would have been like a game of twister. the breakfast was fine, we went down early to avoid the rush. the evening meal was also good, but the service painfully slow. the waitress was lovely, but seemed to struggle under pressue and kept forgetting stuff. we got on more rides having the wristbands in one hour than we had on the entire previous day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jason f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear jason f,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay in the THORPE SHARK Hotel!
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay at this new and unique hotel, and made use of the room’s full facilities! We never get tired of hearing how our guests enjoy how comfortable the pillows are!
We are glad you enjoyed the food available to you, however we are sorry that you felt that the standard of the waitress and service as a whole was not up to your standard. We will of course pass this information on to the relevant department!
With regards to the aircon, we have had several other reports on the noise factor, and this is something we will definitely be looking into in the foreseeable future.

Thanks again for your feedback, and we hope to see you again real soon!

Kind Regards,

Mike
Customer Services Co-ordinator
THORPE PARK Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    194
    96
    44
    62
See reviews for
260
165
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great place to spend the night after a full on day in the park .
Roos spotlessly clean staff very friendly and nothing to much trouble got to leave our luggage at the reception before we checked in and again when we left so we could spend as much time in the park as possible. The food in the 360 bar was good breakfast good all the staff are a credit to the merlin group..

Room Tip: One overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willie_b_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear willie_b_j ,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to THORPE SHARK Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that every aspect of your recent stay was enjoyable, and that we were able to accommodate for all of your needs. We have passed on your praise to the relevant departments for their viewing.

Thanks again for your comments, and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind Regards,

George
Customer Services Co-ordinator
THORPE PARK Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I visited the park with me nephew and booked in for 1 night.

The Pros: I was aware of the compact nature of the rooms and found them to be clean and well planned although I'm not sure I would have wanted to share the space more than 1 other person! The service was great with friendly and helpful staff, the breakfast plentiful and being on site early meant we had access to the rides without queuing for a while!

The Cons: The rooms do not have windows and as it was a hot day/night we needed to have the air con on; not only was this noisy and kept me awake but meant by morning I had a sore throat. This got worse and worse during the day and I am now full of cold and feeling sorry for myself. After about 10.30 am I could no longer face any more rides so we left the park earlier than expected.

If aircon doesn't bother you then this is a great place to stay, but if like me you need fresh air to sleep then avoid like the plague!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chargee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Chargee,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to THORPE SHARK Hotel. We are pleased to hear of your positive observations and equally disappointed by the negative ones.

We are delighted that the room lived up to your expectations and the staff were friendly. This is something we consider to be hugely important given the nature of our business, so to hear that this element of your stay was a success is great to hear.

I was bitterly disappointed to hear of your difficulties regarding ventilation. We have taken on board your comments regarding the air conditioning unit and the lack of fresh air. We will pass this on to the relevant management team for their consideration, and in the meantime please accept our sincere apologies to this end.

Thanks again for your comments, and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind Regards,

George
Customer Services Co-ordinator
THORPE PARK Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We didn't really know what to expect , but were pleasantly surprised . Rooms are small but space is used well, beds/bedding very clean and comfortable. Guest services helpful and can provide anything needed eg. Iron , hairdryer and all staff very polite. We could not fault the breakfast plenty to choose from. The early morning entry to park is brilliant for getting on the most popular rides. The only slight down side is lack of window in rooms , but actually once in there with AC on it was ok.Well done Thorpe Shark is a great base to make park visit even better !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear jane q,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to THORPE SHARK Hotel. We are pleased that you were pleasantly surprised, and that your initial reservations were quashed.

Our rooms offer a completely unique experience to our guests, and we are glad this was a sentiment you agree with. In terms of your constructive criticism, we thank you for taking the time to make these known to us, and we will take them on board, particularly your desire for windows.

Thanks again for your comments, and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind Regards,

George
Customer Services Co-ordinator
THORPE PARK Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed here weekend just gone 19th July and I was happy with the park and the location the summer nights pass was worth the extra. The hotel rooms are small shipping containers but very functional the mood lighting and the showers were a great.

The breakfast was awful, I got there at 9am and there wasn't much left, the food was all over the counters, I asked if it was going to be refilled and the waitress didn't know and walked away. The coffee machine was broken and dirty coffee mugs left lying around. The tables weren't cleared or cleaned and there wasn't any cutlery when asked for some got told to just wander round and find some. I was very disapointed in this.

The fast track until 10:30 am was a good idea however the park was quiet at this point and didn't need to que for the rides, a choice of fast track passes for main attractions would be a better idea.

The service as a whole was bad asked a few members of staff for simple things such as directions, where I could buy certain things and none wanted to help.

Reception staff were quick and efficant did the job, not like hotel staff for welcoming however didn't expect as much.

I enjoyed my stay but wouldn't stay again unless it was really cheap around £30 for the night.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allyb09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Allyb09,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to THORPE SHARK Hotel.

We are pleased that several aspects of your visit were enjoyable, and that the room was mostly to your taste. I am bitterly disappointed to hear of your below par breakfast experience, and rest assured I have passed this information on so an investigation in to this can take place.

In terms of our staff, the indifferent experience you have received is another disappointment to us, and we will look into our training procedure as a result, but we were pleased that the hotel staff were quick and efficient. With regards to the rest of your comments, we have taken them on board for consideration.

Thanks again for your comments, and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind Regards,

George
Customer Services Co-ordinator
THORPE PARK Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed on 15th July - 16th July with my boyfriend. We had never been to Thorpe Park before and with us travelling a long way we decided to stay over. The hotel is really close to the park with views of some of the rides from some of the rooms. The hotel is made up of cargo boxes/crates which means the rooms are quite small but for the amount of time you will be spending in there it's no problem at all. The mood lighting was my favourite attraction about the room.

There was only one window on the door which was small and round but was covered over by some card so the use of the lights was very much needed. Due to the weather being hot we needed to use the air con for most of our visit because there was no window to open. The air con was very noisy and we could not sleep with it on.

The beds were very comfy and I had a good nights sleep despite being really warm.

The TV in the room had some movies on but all apart from Jaws was £3 which I think was silly considering we had paid for the room and the movie would be for one night. The freeview TV worked fine though so we ended up watching that before bed.

Overall I enjoyed my stay at the Shark hotel and will be visiting again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake have a lovely view in a morning but can only see this if the door is open. I s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Laura L,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to THORPE SHARK Hotel!

We really pleased that the vast majority of your stay was enjoyable, and that the room provided you with the necessary comfort to refuel before another fun-filled day out on resort! In terms of your noted issues, thank you for bringing these to our attention. We are grateful that you have taken the time to give us constructive criticism, and we will pass this information on to the relevant management team.

Thanks again for your comments, and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind Regards,

George
Customer Services Co-ordinator
THORPE PARK Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey, Uk
Level Contributor
131 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed on Friday night and found this a little delight. The hotel is located just off to the right as you go over the main bridge into the park. Our room came with entrance on the Friday, Friday night and Saturday as well as breakfast plus 1 hour fast track access from 0930 - 1030 on the Saturday.
As a lot of people have mentioned, the hotel is built inside old shipping containers. The rooms are compact with only a porthole in the door which is covered so no natural light. It sleeps up to 4 in a double bed plus bunks. There is a TV, air con, a flat space area with plug sockets, drawers, a small hanging space and space under the beds to store suitcases or bags. The bathroom is a wet room with shower, toilet and basin. It certainly isnt massive but for 1 night it would suffice. The bed is the nicest I have slept in in ages, the air con noise didnt bother us and we stayed 18th July which was one of the hottest days so far this year - we were cold in the room!
Breakfast was served in the 360 bar and grill, a full buffet with bacon, sausage, egg, hash browns plus pastries, fruit, drinks etc.
I couldnt fault this - its a great concept and a fab way to enjoy the park.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cass1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear cass1410,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to THORPE SHARK Hotel!

We’re delighted that you had such a enjoyable visit, and that your experience could not be faulted. We’re also pleased that you have grasped the concept that we were going for with the image and theming of our hotel, and that your expectations pre-visit were met.

Thanks again for your comments, and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind Regards,

George
Customer Services Co-ordinator
THORPE PARK Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chertsey
1.0 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chertsey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel
1.6 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Chessington Safari Hotel
Chessington Safari Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chessington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chertsey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THORPE SHARK Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THORPE SHARK Hotel

Property: THORPE SHARK Hotel
Address: Staines Lane, Chertsey KT16 8PN, England (Formerly The Crash Pad at THORPE PARK)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chertsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Chertsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THORPE PARK Resort has a new addition to the thrilling line up this year as the Park opens the brand new THORPE SHARK Hotel, adding even more bite to a fun packed visit to the UK’s most thrilling theme park. The new look hotel situated on the ‘THORPE PARK Resort Island’ features 90 shark-tastic rooms in a stunning waterfront location, only a fin away from iconic world class rollercoasters. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
THORPE SHARK Hotel Chertsey, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing