We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thorpe shark hotel and rides”
Review of THORPE SHARK Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
THORPE SHARK Hotel
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Although the room was small and compact, it had everything in it for a very comfortable over night stay. The room was very clean complete with air conditioning wet room and mood lighting. As soon as my head hit the pillow it was lights out for me. After waking from a very peaceful nights sleep, we went to breakfast in the dome where we had a very good selection of cereals and hot food and drinks. We were shown to our table by a very pleasant member of staff, who also shown where all of the different foods were. We booked 2 days in the theme park and one night in the shark hotel, I must say you need the 2nd day to get all of the rides in because otherwise it would be totally exhausting. On the second day we had the privilege to be able to get on the rides before the rest of the public were allowed into the park, in that hour of fast track we managed 5 rides, some of these were rides that on the day before, had too long of a queue. Upon leaving, the wristband that we had been allocated gave us free car park exit, this also served up as the fast track on the second day. A question for the management, my wife and daughter would like to know about your pillows, 1. What sort are they, 2 where do you get them from? We would definitely come back even though it does take us over 4 hours to get there.

Room Tip: I assume they are all the same. One thing to say, don't bother complaining about the size, we th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Barry W,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay in the THORPE SHARK Hotel!

We are thrilled that you had a great time in the hotel, and that you thoroughly enjoyed our unique and one of kind type experience! We do advertise our rooms as ‘bite-size’ and we are delighted that you approve of this!

We are so pleased that you loved the quality of the rooms, and that you found our pillows very comfortable to sleep on. We do receive a lot of great feedback regarding the comfort of these pillows, and it’s always nice to hear from our guests!

We are overjoyed that you took full advance of the early entry to the resort, and that got to experience all of our major attractions before anyone else! We are also very pleased that enjoyed the wide selection of breakfast options available to our guests and that you found that our members of staff pleasant and helpful! This is always great to hear!

Thanks again for your wonderful review of the resort, and we hope to see you real soon!

Kind Regards,

Mike
Customer Services Co-ordinator
THORPE PARK Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

655 - 661 of 804 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

This accommodation is different to anything we have stayed in before but does exactly what it says on the tin. The rooms are designed well to make the best of the space available.
We had a room facing out across the water which was lovely. There were four adult sized people in our room which made it a little cramped but we managed well.
The air conditioning was a necessity as it was very warm during our stay. Would have preferred it to be a bit quieter but we are realistic about air conditioning units. The breakfast was included in the price and very reasonable. The early entry to the park was fantastic. Our advice would be to head to the far end of the park and hit the Nemesis Inferno and Saw first. We got front row on the Nemesis Inferno and a second ride, followed by SAW in the first 20 minutes.
Only suggested addition I would make would be some hooks in the wet room to hang clothes on so they don't get wet during showering.
You can access your room during your day in the park too which is handy. Allowed a clothing change after the soaking from the Tidal Wave ride.

Room Tip: The view of the lake was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Liz_Newc1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Liz_Newc1980,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay in the THORPE SHARK Hotel!

We are delighted that you had a great time in the hotel, and that you thoroughly enjoyed our unique and a one of kind type experience!

Regarding the air conditioning, we do apologise for the disturbances it has been causing. We have had reports of this from previous guests and are in the process of being rectified for future guests.

We are thrilled that you took full advance of the early entry to the resort, and that got to experience all of our major attractions before anyone else!

Thank you for your comments regarding hooks in the wet hooks, as this hotel is a relatively new addition, it is always great to hear constructive criticism regarding this. This will definitely be passed on to the relevant department.

Thanks again for your lovely review of the resort, and we hope to see you real soon!

Kind Regards,

Mike
Customer Services Co-ordinator
THORPE PARK Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Booked a 2 day stay at the park whilst staying overnight at the shark hotel. Not sure you can call it a hotel, more like shipping containers painted in the same colour. The rooms are compact to say the least, definitely could not swing a cat. Upon arrival we checked in and was given someone else's room card! The air con was very noisy and not sure it actually did anything to cool the shed (I mean room) down. The bathroom had a walk on shower, sadly it pretty much flooded the bathroom and this pretty much leaked into the main room. On a positive note we was given a lake view, 3/4 of the rooms would have a view of yet another shipping container. Most people we spoke to shared our views, hardly slept as they felt it was claustrophobic. After a long day at the park it's the last thing we really needed. On a positive note the staff were helpful, the hotel was clean and the breakfast was very nice.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank LondonLa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear LondonLa77,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay in the THORPE SHARK Hotel.

Firstly, I would like to apologise that the THORPE SHARK Hotel did not live up to your expectations. Our website does provide pictures of the rooms within the hotel when going through the booking process online, but again I apologise if this is not what you were expecting.

Our THORPE SHARK Hotel package is advertised as a very unique, one of a kind experience, with ‘bite-sized’ rooms, however we do apologise if our rooms made you feel claustrophobic.
Regarding the air conditioning unit, this has been duly noted by previous guests and is in the process of being rectified for future guests, however thanks for bringing this to our attention.

We are very pleased that you found our staff helpful and that the cleanliness of the hotel was to your standard!

Thanks again for your review, and we hope to see you at the resort again real soon!

Kind Regards,

Mike
Customer Services Co-ordinator
THORPE PARK Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This is a typical scenario. You have two days at the park. ...you spent the first half of the day at the park until 3pm when you want to check into the room and relax before maybe another stint at the park taking you into the evening of day one. We went to check in along with lots of other people around 3pm and the reception was very busy. Then again why wouldnt it be...it is only the size of a shoebox.

Joking aside....it was probably much busier as everyone trying to check in was being turned away as many of the rooms were not ready and being fobbed off with fast track tickets.

Maybe I didn't do my research properly having booked this hotel spontaneously that it affected my reaction when I saw that my £243 a night hotel room (including park tickets) was in fact metal containers stacked one on top of the other. This is the reason that rooms are smaller than a cabin in a ship and get very hot or very noisy with the AC.

There are signs asking guests to be courteous but these obviously didn't stop some discourteous people disturbing me well after midnight. I popped my head out the door and saw a group of young children sitting outside of a room 5 or 6 doors down. I also noticed a member of staff leaving the area but not ask them to be quiet. The planes had stopped going over by this time.

My chikdren liked the gimmick factor...bunk beds....shark entrance etc but gimmicks can quickly lose their edge. The tv is positioned for the adult bed so children spend too much time there....obviously not ideal for parents.

I expected the running of breakfast time to run a lot smoother as this area is a restaurant in the day within the park. However I felt that all areas were not monitored or tidied up frequently enough (hot food....drinks and cereal section all looked very messy).

To finish on a positive it's nice that the hotel is so much a part of the park and parking is closer for hotel guests too with no additional parking charge.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank TelfordAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear TelfordAdventurer,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the THORPE SHARK Hotel.

I would like to apologise that the THORPE SHARK Hotel did not live up to your expectations. We aim to offer each and every guest a positively memorable experience and would not want people feeling disappointed with their stay. We advertise our rooms as ‘bite-sized’ and have a number of images on our website to demonstrate the layout and specification of rooms. We also work very closely with the THORPE Breaks call handling team, who have been trained to be completely honest with our guests to inform them about what the THORPE SHARK Hotel has to offer; whichever way you processed your booking, it is unfortunate that you feel your expectations were not met during your visit.

The THORPE SHARK Hotel package is totally unique and very different compared to other hotel packages you might look to purchase through THORPE Breaks. Our ‘on site’ location means you could not be closer to the rides, ensuring the guests who stay overnight in our hotel are some of the first to access the rides in the morning, without having to travel from your hotel to the Park, which in some cases could be up to two hours a day saved. The package also includes a hot buffet breakfast, free WiFi and car parking, but most importantly second day Park tickets, which we feel represents fantastic value for money for your short break.
In terms of your other concerns, we apologise that the noisiness of other guests impacted your visit, but there is very little we can do about this other than the action we have already taken.
With regards to your other comments, please feel free to email us at customer.services@thorpe-park.co.uk to discuss these further.

Kind Regards,

George
Customer Services Co-ordinator
THORPE PARK Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed with a voucher, with entry in to park as well for two days
Rooms are fantastic, kids thought the rooms were amazing with bunk beds and the mood lighting.
Rooms very clean and all look very new. air-conditioning in room too which was a blessing as it was a muggy night.
check in was very easy, and very helpful staff
first class would stay again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l200family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear l200family,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to the THORPE SHARK Hotel.

We are so glad that you decided to stay in our THORPE SHARK Hotel during your visit to us; we do pride ourselves on the fact that we offer our guests a real unique experience like no other!

We are thrilled that you approve of our intimate ‘bite-sized’ family friendly rooms! This is a relatively new addition to our resort, so it always lovely to hear positive feedback from our guests!

We are delighted that your check in was simple and easy, and that you found that our staff were helpful towards you during your stay! This is exactly the kind of feedback we wish to receive!

Thanks again for your wonderful comments, and we hope to see you in the resort in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Mike
Customer Services Co-ordinator
THORPE PARK Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have just stayed for the night on the 31st July 2014.
The design of the hotel is fab and amazing use of such a small space. Ideal for one nights stay.
The room was spotless and we had room 111 which was ground floor facing the lake which was very nice.

The only negative we had about the room (4 adults sharing) was it got very hot and even with the air con on was still hot. Air con is very noisy. The porthole windows should have been designed so the could be opened to allow air into the room or a small window put in at the end of the double bed.

Breakfast was ok, the cooked breakfast could have been cooked to a higher standard. Pastries and toast options were good.
Plenty of choice to drink although a decaff option could be added in to the hot drink choices as I know I am not the only person who cannot drink caffiene.

Would definitely go back again but next time would only have 2 people per room.

The fast track for the first hour is good if the rides are working, we found we missed out on the full use of this as swarm was not operational when the park opened and then also was out of action for 15 minutes once it did open again. Also stealth went out of operation for 10 minutes as well. This time does not get extended even though the time lost was out of our control.
We could have used this time to get onto colossus which we missed out on riding as the waiting times are manic.

Setting aside the small negative with the rooms and fast track it was a fantastic visit.

Room Tip: Lake view room is definitely a positive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BrayreC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear BrayreC,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay in the THORPE SHARK Hotel!

We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed the design and creativity behind this unique and one of a kind experience hotel. We are really pleased that your room was lovely and clean for you, exactly how it should be! We certainly pride ourselves on our rooms’ cleanliness, and it’s certainly nice to hear that we have delivered!

We apologise if you felt that the room was too hot for your tastes, and that the air conditioning unit was a little noisy for you. This has been a problem for past guests of the hotel also; this has already been passed on to the relevant department to be altered for future guests. However, thanks again for bringing this to our attention.

We apologise if you felt that the queues were too long for you, and that you may have missed out on other attractions because of this! I’m sure you are aware that this is our busiest period, and that long queues are to be expected. We however apologise for Stealth being down. Giving all our guests a fun and thrilling day is extremely important to everyone here but unfortunately, due to the nature and complexity of our rides, there may be times where we require a ride to be taken out of operation. This can be due to many reasons from a guest action to a technical issue but we do have a dedicated team of ride operators and engineers on standby to bring the ride back into operation as quickly as possible.

We are thrilled thought that you had a fantastic time overall! This is always great to hear from our guests!

Thanks again for your review regarding your recent stay at the resort, and we hope to see you all again real soon!

Kind Regards,

Mike
Customer Services Co-ordinator
THORPE PARK Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed in room 130. These rooms are built from shipping containers, converted to top quality rooms, and wet room, we were 4 adults so it was a quad room, 2bunks and one double, the bottom bunk turns into a day bed for sitting down, fully air conditioned, only window was in the door but so peaceful at night. Very clean, towels and bedding and room,. Room seemed small at first but it was all we needed. Hair dryer, irons and boards available at reception.
The hotel is situated inside the park, and you get fast track on the next morning in the park for the first hour.
Free car parking for guests staying in hotel, breakfast is included, all very nice and plentiful of everything you need. Great happy very helpful staff too! Thanks for a fab time.
We all had a great time and will be returning soon ;-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank lindapaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear lindapaws,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the THORPE SHARK Hotel!

I was delighted to hear that your visit lived up to all of your expectations. We look to offer a unique experience to all of our guests, and we are delighted that we were successful in conveying the intended image. Finally, we are delighted that you were able to make the most of the associated perks of staying at our hotel, and sending our guests home with a smile on their face is imperative to us!

Thanks again for your comments, and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

George
Customer Services Co-ordinator
THORPE PARK Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chertsey
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Chertsey Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Chertsey
676 reviews
9.3 mi away
Chessington Safari Hotel
Chessington Safari Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chessington
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Woking
1.0 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chertsey
404 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Egham
Travelodge Egham
#3 of 3 in Egham
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THORPE SHARK Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THORPE SHARK Hotel

Address: Staines Lane, Chertsey KT16 8PN, England (Formerly The Crash Pad at THORPE PARK)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chertsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Chertsey
Price Range: £75 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THORPE PARK Resort has a new addition to the thrilling line up this year as the Park opens the brand new THORPE SHARK Hotel, adding even more bite to a fun packed visit to the UK’s most thrilling theme park. The new look hotel situated on the ‘THORPE PARK Resort Island’ features 90 shark-tastic rooms in a stunning waterfront location, only a fin away from iconic world class rollercoasters. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
THORPE SHARK Hotel Chertsey, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing