We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable sleep. But......”
Review of THORPE SHARK Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
THORPE SHARK Hotel
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Ok, if you have read any of the other reviews, you know that the rooms are small, very small. Accept this, before you place your booking, and you wont be disappointed. They are incredibly comfortable, and offered myself and my two boys, an excellent nights sleep.
Also remember that you are on a flight path to Heathrow. The hotel cant change this, so just accept it.
Air conditioning is by its very nature noisy. Again, just accept this as a fact, and you wont be disappointed. If you have ever slept in a caravan, you will feel at home, and will have a great nights sleep.

So whats wrong ?
The information doesnt make enough of the fact that the rooms have no windows. If you are even slightly claustrophobic, dont book!
You MUST put the air conditioning on. Without windows, and with well sealed doors, there is zero air flow, so without the aircon, you can sweat or freeze, depending on the season.
Food is supplied to hotel guests, by bar grill 360. Upon check in, they advise you to book. This just isnt practical. The park shuts at 7, but we didnt get off our last ride untill 7:45, so it was impossible to pick a sensible time. On the way back to the room, I inquired as to when we could be fitted in, and was told 9:15. At this time, there were about 13 unused tables, each laid with condiments, that we were told they were not using. Surely in peak season, it makes sense to use all the tables, or at least clear them so it is obvious that they are not available. In the end we went to a local retail part (7 minutes down the road) and were presented with a fine selection of restaurants.
At breakfast, I discovered we may have dodged a bullet!
Breakfast was plentiful, and average, and did set us up for the day.
My MAJOR concern was the lack of attention to quality.
I decided to have a yogurt, and discovered that EVERY yogurt was out of date. I pointed this out to staff, who first shrugged and grunted, then gathered into a huddle, before one of them decided to collect them all in his arms and have them replaced. By this time, breakfast had been served for over an hour, so how many people had already eaten them?
This did make me worry about the quality of the rest of the food?
It seems that the problem is that this restaurant is staffed entirely by bored teenagers!

Your booking also comes with a perk. A pointless perk!
Between 9:30 and 10:30 you have fast track access to all the rides.
Due to safety checks, no rides were available until 9:45 (15 mins gone!) And as you were waiting, and at the front of the queue, fast track was not required. Off your first ride by 10 (30 Mins gone) and off to your next ride. By now the public are in the park. Fast track into the next queue and wait to get on. Fast track does not remove all waiting, and another 15 mins is used.
So, if you are (very) lucky, you could be first in queue for one ride, and fast track 2 or 3 rides (running required!), but I doubt it!
If like us, you are in a queue for a ride, that they stop to add another car... forget it.. As we were at the front of the queue for our first ride, we effectively fasttracked one ride.
We ran to our next ride, and arrived at 10:30.. a short queue got us to the gate at 10:35 only to be told our fast track had expired.
To make this a worth while "perk" it needs to be extended.

Overall.. positive (I know, it doesnt sound like it!)
Comfortable room, and the hotel staff are friendly, knowledgeable and helpful, but let down by other factors!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the lake, and level 2 avoids the sounds of people overhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SH-Gadget111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear SH-Gadget111,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay in the THORPE SHARK Hotel!

We are delighted to hear that you were fully satisfied with this unique, one of a kind type stay! We do advertise our rooms as ‘bite-sized’, however are thrilled to hear that you approve of this!
Our hotel is a relatively new addition to the resort, and all feedback is greatly appreciated, however we are thrilled to hear that you found your stay nice and enjoyable!

We do apologise for the noise that the air conditioning unit creates. This has been noted from guests of the hotel in the past, and has been passed on to the relevant department to be modified for future guests, However thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We apologise for the problems you received at the Bar 360. This is really unfortunate to hear. If you could please email us at customer.services@thorpe-park.co.uk for more assistance in this matter, so we can take this further?

Thanks again for your feedback, and we hope to see you at the resort in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Mike
Customer Services Co-ordinator
THORPE PARK Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (802)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

648 - 654 of 803 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Had read the reviews of the rooms before I booked so was prepared for a small room. Was totally amazed at what you could fit in to a container. The room was great and very very clean. Beds are very comfy, this was very much appreciated after a long day in the park. Would definitely recommend . The children loved the room, as it was so unusual. Rooms are small, they tell you that in their review, so don't moan about it, just enjoy the uniqueness of the place.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Debbie W,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay in the THORPE SHARK Hotel!

We are delighted to hear that you were fully satisfied during your recent stay in the hotel! We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your room and the cleanliness of it! This is something that we really pride ourselves in.

We are thrilled to hear that you found our beds comfortable, and that you would recommend us to other guests in the future! This is really lovely to hear, and we thoroughly appreciate the positive comments!

Thanks again for your great feedback, and we hope to see you at the resort in due course!

Kind Regards,

Mike
Customer Services Co-ordinator
THORPE PARK Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

After a long drive from Torquay the three of us arrived at the park to be met by friendly courteous staff on reception who booked us in and told us where to go. First sight of the metal box was a bit of a blow but then when we saw the actual room we were shocked. A tiny windowless box within the large metal box, very noisy air conditioning and tiny wet room. Definitely not what we were expecting. The brochure doesn't come close to explaining exactly what you're getting as can be seen by the number of reviews mentioning the size and noisy air conditioning especially for the price charged. I stay in hotels all over the country and yes the box was clean but cannot be called a hotel room. My wife being claustrophobic simply couldn't stay in the room, so we went back to reception and told them the problem. The lady on duty, Sarah, was very understanding and we told her we would be looking for somewhere else to stay the night, she also stated we should be able to get a refund on the accommodation when we arrived again the following morning. At some considerable expense and a further 3 hours driving around, we did find another hotel and arrived the following morning to be told we wouldn't be getting a refund after all. We were given free tickets to Alton Towers and unfortunately we will obviously have to put this down to experience but I would certainly warn people of what little to expect in the way of accommodation, if that's what you can call it, as it's nothing like the brochure. Really enjoyed the actual park but let down by the hotel sadly.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank stumpy1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear stumpy1955,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay in the THORPE SHARK Hotel.

Firstly, I would like to apologise if the THORPE SHARK Hotel did not live up to your expectations. Our website does provide pictures of the rooms within the hotel when going through the booking process online, and it does advertise the rooms as ‘bite-size’, but again I apologise if this is not what you were expecting.

We are sorry if the room made you feel claustrophobic. We are sorry to hear that, and not what we like to hear from our hotel guests. This information will be passed on to the relevant department. We apologise that you were misinformed into whether you would receive a refund or not. However we are glad that you were offered Alton Towers tickets as a gesture of goodwill.

Regarding the air conditioning unit, and the loud noises it has been making, we do apologise for this. This has been mentioned from guests in the past, and rest assured this has been passed on to the relevant department, and is due to be modified for future guests.

Thanks again for your feedback, and we do hope to see you at the resort in due course!

Kind Regards,

Mike
Customer Services Co-ordinator
THORPE PARK Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We (2 adults and 2 children 10 and 14) stayed at this hotel Sunday 10th August for 2 nights.
I was aware that the rooms were going to be small but still had a bit of a shock when i seen just how small they actually were on arrival.
Check in was simple and very quick, and it was a nice surprise to find we had a few extra hours in the park on the afternoon of check in as well as the 2 days we had paid for.
1 night would have been fine to stay as by the 2nd night i felt extremely claustrophobic in the room especially with having 4 of us in there.
The bunk beds are so small, i had to go and ask for a bed guard for my son to sleep in the top bunk as you could easily fall out with the beds being so narrow. and its a real effort to get yourself up on the top bunk too! Not easy at all.
Also i wasnt too keen on the wet room design..the water would leak through the bathroom door into the room where you sleep, we had to use towels to try and soak up the water..to prevent it from completely the soaking the floor space by the beds.
Oh and yes the air con units are very noisy...but the rooms get so stuffy if you dont have them on so you have to use them really.
However, the stay was more than satisfactory due to the staff there being more than pleasant and helpful.
I would recommend for people to stay here but i wouldn't put any more than 2 in a room!

Room Tip: all the rooms are the same size...it was nice having a room with the view of the lake though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshmum77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear welshmum77,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay in the THORPE SHARK Hotel!

Firstly, I would like to apologise if the THORPE SHARK Hotel did not live up to your expectations. Our website does provide pictures of the rooms within the hotel when going through the booking process online, and it does advertise the rooms as ‘bite-size’, but again I apologise if this is not what you were expecting.

We are sorry if the room made you feel claustrophobic. We are sorry to hear that, and not what we like to hear. This information will be passed on to the relevant department.

Regarding the air conditioning unit, and the loud noises it has been making, we do apologise for this. This has been mentioned from guests in the past, and rest assured this has been passed on to the relevant department, and is due to be modified for future guests.

With regards to the wet room, we apologise for any inconvenience this excess water may have created on the floor, and will be passed on to the relevant department for future reference. Thank you for bringing this to our attention!

Thanks again for your feedback, and we do hope to see you at the resort in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Mike
Customer Services Co-ordinator
THORPE PARK Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Returned home yesterday from 2 days in Thorpe Park and 1 overnight stay in the Shark Hotel.
On arrival , parking was easy and no queue for entry , we were given tickets to enter park and told to come back after 3pm to check in to room , had a fab time on rides then checked in about 4pm which was very fast and easy. We went back to car and took stuff to room which took a few minutes then returned to the park to enjoy rest of day.
Now for the room .... yes it's tiny!! But if you have done your research you will know that before you arrive , I was dreading the thought of staying in it with hubby and 2 teenage boys but after a great long day in the park and a meal ( could do with more menu choice ) and drinks in the 360 bar and grill we were worn out and the room was exactly what was needed , a crash pad , a short walk from park , warm and comfy. Great tv and mood lighting in room , yes air con is loud , but I made the mistake of turning it off over night and had lots of condensation on door and floor next morning. Showering was a little difficult as the wet room has no where for you to dry off and I had my son and his friend in room so no privacy but we managed. We were up and out of room by 8 am ready for breakfast and our hour fast track which was included in the price.
Breakfast was great , lots of choice , no wait for table and great service.
Included in the price of the break was an hour fast track from 9.30 to 10.30 am which we made great use of , managed to get 6 rides in that hour so we were happy with that! Only disappointment was Colossus was out of order yesterday so we didn't get to go on that :(

Although we were entitled to stay in the park the whole day yesterday we decided to leave about 1pm as the weather wasn't great and we had a long drive home but we had by this point been on nearly all the rides , some more than once and the queues were starting to become very long and had a great day.
All in all we had a great stay , yes the rooms were small but we knew what to expect so there was no surprise ,only thing I could complain about is the lack of a window that you can open in room but that's a small thing , staff at hotel were great and we will definitely be back !

Room Tip: ground floor would have been better as no matter how hard you try it's almost impossible to be q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jojo_swansea75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear jojo_swansea75,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay in the THORPE SHARK Hotel!

We are overjoyed to hear that you had a fantastic stay in our hotel! This is wonderful to hear! As this is a relatively new addition to the resort, we are delighted to hear great positive feedback from our guests!

We are so pleased that you approve of our unique and one of kind hotel experience, and found our ‘bite-sized’ rooms to your taste and satisfaction.

Regarding the air conditioning unit; we are aware of the loud noises it has been making, and we do apologise for any disturbances this may have caused. However, this has been passed on to the relevant department, and is in the process of being rectified for future guests.

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast options we had on offer to guests and that you received great service from our staff throughout! This is what we like to hear!

We are sorry if Colossus being out for the day disrupted your day. With regards to ride availability, due to the nature and complexity of our rides there may be times where we may need to take a ride out of operation briefly; this can be due to many reasons such as a technical fault or a guest's actions. However, in any circumstance we have a dedicated team of engineers and ride operators on standby to ensure that the ride is back in operation as quickly as possible. We understand that any shutdowns can increase the wait time and so we would like to apologise for any delays that may have been caused.

Thanks again for your detailed review, and we hope to see you at the resort in due course!

Kind Regards,

Mike
Customer Services Co-ordinator
THORPE PARK Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

If yr kids love thrill rides this is an ideal short break. We had a Wowcher which made it great value for 2 days in park and a night in the hotel. The weather was terrible the first day which meant we got loads of rides in! There is designated parking, but no room when we got there, was fine to leave car on regular car park. Check in was easy, then we went back in to enjoy rides. Some stay open a little longer for hotel guests. Dinner can be had at the bar in the Dome or at the BBQ in site. Having read on here about waiting times we ate a little earlier at the Pizza Hut buffet which was great! We had drinks in the evening & joined in a game of Bingo to win fast track tickets for the next day! The rooms are TINY, but perfectly adequate and very comfortable! The air con is noisy but can be turned off!!! We left it on whilst out for the evening so room nice & cool! Shame no kettle in room, would have been nice!! Bathroom is a wet room, but clean and good shower. A bit awkward being discrete to change though! Used a towel for the floor. Pack small! Take a change for the wet rides, you'll have a good time! The staff are helpful & cheerful (particular mention for Gareth in the bar!) We'd go again!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Myzscha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Myzscha,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay in the THORPE SHARK Hotel!

We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in this unique, one of a kind style hotel! As this is a new addition to the resort, it is always lovely to hear really great and positive feedback regarding this
!
We are so glad that you enjoyed your dinner, and thrilled that you won some fastrack passes in a game of Bingo! We are delighted for you, and hope you made good use of them!
The rooms are, as we describe ‘bite-size’, however we are so glad that you found them adequate, comfortable and to your taste!

We have received feedback before regarding the air conditioning unit, and the loud noises it creates. We apologise for this, and this is definitely being looked into, and alterations will be made for our future guests! However, thank you again for bringing this our attention.

We are so pleased that our staff were helpful and cheerful! This is exactly what we want to hear, and your feedback regarding a certain staff member will be passed on to the relevant department!

Thanks again for your great comments, and we hope to see you in the resort real soon!

Kind Regards,

Mike
Customer Services Co-ordinator
THORPE PARK Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Although the room was small and compact, it had everything in it for a very comfortable over night stay. The room was very clean complete with air conditioning wet room and mood lighting. As soon as my head hit the pillow it was lights out for me. After waking from a very peaceful nights sleep, we went to breakfast in the dome where we had a very good selection of cereals and hot food and drinks. We were shown to our table by a very pleasant member of staff, who also shown where all of the different foods were. We booked 2 days in the theme park and one night in the shark hotel, I must say you need the 2nd day to get all of the rides in because otherwise it would be totally exhausting. On the second day we had the privilege to be able to get on the rides before the rest of the public were allowed into the park, in that hour of fast track we managed 5 rides, some of these were rides that on the day before, had too long of a queue. Upon leaving, the wristband that we had been allocated gave us free car park exit, this also served up as the fast track on the second day. A question for the management, my wife and daughter would like to know about your pillows, 1. What sort are they, 2 where do you get them from? We would definitely come back even though it does take us over 4 hours to get there.

Room Tip: I assume they are all the same. One thing to say, don't bother complaining about the size, we th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Barry W,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay in the THORPE SHARK Hotel!

We are thrilled that you had a great time in the hotel, and that you thoroughly enjoyed our unique and one of kind type experience! We do advertise our rooms as ‘bite-size’ and we are delighted that you approve of this!

We are so pleased that you loved the quality of the rooms, and that you found our pillows very comfortable to sleep on. We do receive a lot of great feedback regarding the comfort of these pillows, and it’s always nice to hear from our guests!

We are overjoyed that you took full advance of the early entry to the resort, and that got to experience all of our major attractions before anyone else! We are also very pleased that enjoyed the wide selection of breakfast options available to our guests and that you found that our members of staff pleasant and helpful! This is always great to hear!

Thanks again for your wonderful review of the resort, and we hope to see you real soon!

Kind Regards,

Mike
Customer Services Co-ordinator
THORPE PARK Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chertsey
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Chertsey Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Chertsey
675 reviews
9.3 mi away
Chessington Safari Hotel
Chessington Safari Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chessington
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Woking
1.0 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chertsey
404 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Egham
Travelodge Egham
#3 of 3 in Egham
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THORPE SHARK Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THORPE SHARK Hotel

Address: Staines Lane, Chertsey KT16 8PN, England (Formerly The Crash Pad at THORPE PARK)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chertsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Chertsey
Price Range: £75 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THORPE PARK Resort has a new addition to the thrilling line up this year as the Park opens the brand new THORPE SHARK Hotel, adding even more bite to a fun packed visit to the UK’s most thrilling theme park. The new look hotel situated on the ‘THORPE PARK Resort Island’ features 90 shark-tastic rooms in a stunning waterfront location, only a fin away from iconic world class rollercoasters. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
THORPE SHARK Hotel Chertsey, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing