We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the food was rubbish”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Golden Grove

The Golden Grove
Ranked #19 of 45 Restaurants in Chertsey
Price range: US$4 - US$23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to the all new Golden Grove public house, restaurant and garden. A landmark pub in Chertsey. A warm, inviting place with a home from home atmosphere for friends and family along with well behaved dogs to meet and enjoy great food and drink. The Golden Grove serves a fresh seasonal menu bursting with traditional dishes, only using locally sourced fresh ingredients and complemented by award winning wines, 6 forever changing real ales and International lagers, all at affordable prices. You can choose from one of our diverse areas at The Golden Grove, including an 80 seater restaurant with full table service, lounge area or the traditional pub both with real log fires as well as our huge garden complete with a kids play area. The Golden Grove specialises in party bookings and can accommodate most requirements. Please contact us to find out more information on our fantastic party booking offers. Our focus is on giving the local community and neighbourhood what they want in a local pub, and perhaps a little more.
Chertsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“the food was rubbish”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The food was rubbish the meat balls was hard the meal was cold it was very disappointing and your prices are to hight would not feed your food to my DOG .
The services was very slow and no tea or coffee you need to train your people to CG 701 702

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ernest P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    56
    50
    34
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Frustrating ”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Been here a few times in recent months. It's a great location and perfect 'local' potential. However we have found on our visits the service to be slow and the food to be ok at best.

They do try, but need to try harder and invest in more experienced staff.

My wife goes there with friends to eat puddings once a month as it's a great central location for her friends. They have now taken to packing their bags with various ingredients to help improve the quality of their puddings!

Helpful?
Thank RDStruthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What has happened to this place.”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We used to go to the golden grove all the time because we loved it and the meals used to be great.
However we went tonight and was very disappointed.
The starters were the bubble and Squeak and then a duck salad. Now the duck salad was nice but the bubble and squeak was very poor.
I had the bubble and squeak about 3 months ago and it was vary nice but tonight it was a completely different dish. it was like runny yet burnt mash with no taste no flavor. it was served with poached egg that was overcooked and rather hard. I could only eat half of this starter as it was so disappointing and a let down from what i have had before.

Whilst waiting for the mains we asked for another drink which after about 10 minutes and 3 waitresses chatting at the bar we had to go up ourselves and ask for the drink again.

When the mains came they was served by a guy who's hands were soaking wet and dripping on the floor. It looked like he had been washing up out back and then brought our food out without drying them.

We ordered
1 fish and chips
1 filet steak
1 rump steak
1 mushroom & halloumi burger

the fish and chips was ok and a standard fish and chips
Both the steak plates were swimming in grease, the onion rings clearly were not drained and came straight from the fryer to the plate transferring the grease with it.
Any chef should know about putting them in a separate bowl first and then transferring them to solve this issue.
The rump steak was overcooked for a medium rare and was tough. the wedges were dry and looked as if they had been recooked several times.

The mushroom and halloumi burger although nice in taste the whole dish was cold chips as well.The chips also tasted of nothing and were not seasoned.

After 3 plates with more than half left on them when we finished we asked to speak to the manager and our waitress told us she would get him. Ten minuets later we asked again and was told he was not here at the moment and would be back soon.
We was told we could have complementary desert whilst we waited but we declined as we was put off eating anything else from here.

We then saw the manager come in and speak to the waitress and go into the kitchen, we waited 5 minutes and then decided to leave after paying £100 for a terrible meal.

We only wanted to speak to the manager about how disappointed we was as we used to love this place.
The service we received was shocking and the young girl clearly didn't have any interest in doing a good job and service.

We were disappointed that although we had waited to speak to the manager we was not shown the respect of a paying customer and there was no offer of taking our details so that we could discuss the issue with the manager when he was free.

This has resulted in this negative review on trip advisor and we would not recommend people to go here anymore until it picks itself up again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice location, shame about hairs in the food!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Went with two lady friends lunchtime recently and two of us ordered the goats cheese and onion jam pitta with salad garnish at £3.95. Half way through eating my friend pulled a long hair out of the pitta pocket and just as I was about to finish mine out came another long hair!! We told the waitress who was apologetic then said that nobody had long hair in the kitchen! perhaps we were just unlucky, my other friend had a jacket potato with tuna which she said was hair free. We were enjoying our food until this happened! Nice large outdoor area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leone E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yet another disappointing visit”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Went for my wife's birthday for a quiete afternoon drink and bite to eat. Despite previous visits where service and food has been questionable we decided to give it one last go. Arrived and went to bar asked for wine list and bar maid couldn't find one so wife had to go looking herself. There were other comments made by the bar maid that basically were just not professional and it was again clear that GG just hire inexperienced staff as front of house. Went through to back garden and as so hot was wanting one of the patio tables with umbrella, was advised by only other staff member there that all patio tables and chairs were reserved for a group. Which turned out to be some kind of school party, so within 30 mins of arriving we were descended upon by circa 20 kids, obviously making the noise you expect from 20 kids. Therefore it resembled a playground not a pub beer garden. Thankfully we had not ordered our meals so could go some where else. Understand GGwont be hosting 20 kids everyday but based on yet another visit with just simply unprofessional staff we won't be giving it a other chance when thereis much more choice/ccompetition in Chertsey.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NaWe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Golden Grove also viewed

Chertsey, Surrey
 

Been to The Golden Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing