We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but !”
Review of Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crown Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chertsey
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Good service and good food. Drinks far too expensive. Live band was truly awful so didn't stay. Party of five. We all had the burgers. Cooked very well and tasty. Chips were very good. First time back there since refurbisment and it's much better than it was. Seen some good bands here in the past but this lot were terrible. Curb the ridiculous drink prices and vetting the band would have made a big improvement.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank EddieWill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian B, General Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the food you received and service given, I will ensure all the team are informed.

With regards to the band
the band performing that night are regular performers here and generally go down very well on every visit. Music is of course a matter of taste and this could have been the reason for your dislike; all bands are vetted as you suggest and we book what the majority of customers appear to enjoy, we are sorry you disliked them on this occasion.

We do hope to see you again soon as we have a different band weekly .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

I went with a group of friends for a meal here. My food had to be sent back as it was just warm. Came back over cooked! Drinks so overpriced. Took 35 minutes to get menus and drinks finally arrived 45 minutes after we sat down. Other friends meals just warm and barely edible. Even after complaining, just offered a desert or drink. Extremely disappointed!

Room Tip: Eat somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Caz945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian B, General Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Guest
We are very sorry to hear that you felt the service you received on your visit was terrible and our apologies again for your meal not being as hot as you would have liked it.

We did check back to your table on 2 occasions thereafter and was told on both occasions that all was fine; It is a shame that it was left until the end of the main meal to advise that there were further problems, had we been told sooner we could have rectified any further issues, had we been made aware.

As the above was the case, this is why dessert and drinks were offered ; i apologize if you felt that this was not a suitable solution.

With regards to your comments re drinks;
i have looked at the order placed and where we would normally like drinks to be served immediately to the tables, on this evening as you rightly said they were rather slower being served, this was due to the volume of business at the time of service where they took 15 minutes to be served to your table, once again my apologies it does not normally take this long to receive your drinks.

If you wish to discuss any aspect of your visit please by all means give me a call , i would be more than happy to discuss further your visit as we would not want this first impression to make you away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Pub was nice, to be fair did visit on a Sat night but took ages to be served. Queued for ages and bought 2 G&Ts, a pint of cider and 2 glasses (not pints) of coke and got 40p change from a £20 note. Not even in London! Best to find a wetherspoons before visiting. Even a mixer was £2.65 and G&T £6.10! They would rob their own grandmother! Didn't eat but the menus looked nice and strangely reasonable in price! Although the advert for Sunday roasts did not have a price which if you have to ask means you can't afford it!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mac111Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

a really pretty pub. Just a shame that the food wasn't that great. Edible but disappointing. We ate from the bar menu and had a hotdog and a fish finger sandwich. The hotdog was underwhelming and the sandwich tasteless. Such a shame because this pub is so pretty and a great location.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian B, General Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Guest
I am very sorry you were disappointed with the food you received on your visit, but i also must say very surprised.
Our hot dogs have been very popular since going on our menu and our fresh cod fillet fish finger sandwiches have never been so popular.

So i can have a complete understanding of why you were underwhelmed, please contact us to discuss, as we would be interested in hearing your thoughts regarding these dishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Returned to the crown after it's re-fit, and have to say, very impressive, clearly they have spent a lot of money on the refurbishment, very social atmosphere, food average, but plenty of it, the big wow is the 'Hard Shakes', which are alcoholic milkshakes, a big must for adults! Will definitely return and recommend to others!.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Lovely pub and resturant. Great hotel room. The staff were always helpful and friendly. I felt well looked after. Nice location not too far for Central London, right near the station. During my stay the food was excellent and offered a large varity. I will 100% be staying here again when I am next in the area. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smith-664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We live in the US and make a point to stay here. The main reason I come is the quality of service and the food. This place feels like home and the staff is what really drives that. There are many places you can stay but very few that make you feel like family. Service is fast...and more importantly to me, friendly. And the food is amazing...consistent and good...really good. The proprietors Sian and Tony really make an effort to make it a memorable stay. The weekends they have bands which are always great. But really to me, it's the staff that makes the plac and Sian and Tony are the reason why. You can stay in London and have mediocre food and impersonal service or you can stay in Chertsey which is convenient to London as well as Windsor or Bath. Take a chance off the beaten path and create memories to, like us, friends for a lifetime.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TammiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian B, General Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you so, so much for such a glowing review.

Hope to see you very soon
Merry Christmas.

Tony, Sian and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chertsey
0.7 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Chertsey
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Olde Swan Hotel
The Olde Swan Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chertsey
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Chertsey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
641 reviews
2.5 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 3 in Egham
1,167 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Stanwell Hotel
The Stanwell Hotel
#2 of 5 in Staines
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Address: 7 London Street, Chertsey KT16 8AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chertsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chertsey
Price Range: £55 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer friendly, personal and unpretentious service, whether you're just in for a quiet pint, planning an intimate dinner, a stop-over for a business trip or staying for a leisurely weekend.If you want to stay in one of our 49 rooms, there are lots of leisurely attractions on our doorstep, we're well-placed for nearby Thorpe Park and you can't find a better overnight stopping off point if you're en route for an early business meeting in London.Welcome to your local. Please be aware that every Friday and Saturday night we have live music for all to enjoy until midnight in our bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Chertsey, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing