We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully Furnished, great atmosphere and good food”
Review of Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chertsey
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Have visited the Crown a number of times on a Friday lunch visit from work. The building itself is beautiful and the decoration is really nicely done, very unique.
The food is usually produced quickly and we are never waiting for too long (although its usually a selection of sandwiches rather than full meals) and the service is also very good. The food itself is good pub food, if not anything outstanding. The only major downside is that the price is quite high, 20-30% higher than other pubs in the area meaning a quick pub lunch with a lager can cost nearly £20.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The3Wests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Went here for lunch with a colleague today

The place itself is nice - good drinks selection, friendly staff, nice garden where we ate.

The food however was a real letdown. My friend ordered the open club sandwich - mostly good, but the bacon was fatty and not crispy which made it look fairly unappetising. I had the fishfinger sandwich - which was deep fried tiny fragments of fish; essentially the filling was mostly greasy crispy batter, rather than the breadcrumbed fish I was looking forward to. Plus due to the high volume of batter it was very difficult to eat! Please improve - it could be so much better...

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank minty_mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian B, General Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Guest
We are sorry you were disappointed with your food, the items you chose are very popular generally.

The fish finger sandwich does advise on the menu it is ale battered, so we are sorry if this was not to your taste and the bacon used in our club sandwiches is smoked back bacon with a small amount of rind on the outer of the slice.

We do hope you revisit us in the near future and sit again in our lovely garden and maybe try other items on our menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I was in Chertsey on Saturday morning 12th April with my sister and suggested we try the Crown Hotel for lunch, we don't get together that often so I was looking forward to some delicious food over our catch-up. What a complete disappointment ..... Ploughman's for two was three small pieces of unforgettable tasting cheese (no bigger than snack box size) and some shrivelled up pieces of tasteless salami/ pastrami, four half slices of tired looking bread (so much for Ale bread! I've made better myself) We had to ask for some pickle in the form of 'Branston' the best bit of the meal and were given no butter either! We ordered a side salad to go with it as none was provided, this consisted of lettuce and more lettuce four strands of red onion, more lettuce etc., no tomato/cucumber /celery/apple all things that might have accompanied and enhanced a Ploughman's lunch. The bill was nearly £25.00 each, however this did include one bottle of Sauvignon which was served up in a Riesling bottle which at least they changed without upset. Really disappointing and I wondered what the chef's 'through the looking window' were doing all day - certainly not brushing up on their culinary skills!! The inside décor whilst tasteful flatters to deceive - do not expect anything short of poor quality and expensive if you are eating. Suggest you try elsewhere.

Room Tip: We did not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoeS123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian B, General Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest
I am sorry to read we did not meet or exceed your expectations on your visit.

For clarification: The sharing ploughman's you ordered is from our starter section and is not a large main course ploughman's for two to share, it does clearly state this on our menu, but please feel free to view on our website where you can see the example of this.
Should you have required a main course portion for two on your visit, we would have been very happy to have arranged this for you, so we are very sorry once again your expectation's were not met.

The side salad that you ordered was made up off lettuce/tomato/cucumber/onion, which we believe to be quite normal, therefore we are a little confused to why you felt it was only lettuce & onion you received.

We do always encourage guests when they have any comments to make, to get in touch to discuss in person, so with this in mind please feel free to do this at any time convenient to you.

We do hope you will reflect on the above and return to The Crown very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed at The Crown Hotel for a weekend with my daughter while we were at Thorpe park. Great Hotel great staff Fantastic location for the park and the Food is gorgeous. Highly recommended! If it's a weekend you have to book for evening meal as it books up fast! Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lougriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian B, General Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear guest
Thank you so much, we will pass on your very kind comments to all concerned and hope to see you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights with work > both nights i was woken at 4,30 with staff from the hotel pushing a trolley over the cobbled stones .Then with a delivery of beer barrels at 6.30 . Came home for a good night sleep >Also the breakfast was slow and not much choise in terms of friut etc .One of our party asked twice for his breakfast and gave up ! The shower was so difficult to turn off i had to use the towel - room 401 avoid it 1

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginasafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian B, General Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest
I am really pleased you liked the bar and outside area we have to offer , we are the most popular hotel in Chertsey for these if not many more reasons .
We were sorry to hear you did not get a good nights sleep as, as I am sure from many a comment made on trip advisor that you can see, this noise you have experienced is not a normal day at The Crown.
I can also assure you that it was not the hotel staff that kept you awake on your stay, as the only member of staff through the night is our night porter and he does not complete bar duties through his shift. At 7am he is then joined by the breakfast team who also do not complete bar duties, so with this in mind we are not sure what exactly you have heard, we can only presume outside influences has effected this situation, therefore I apologise for any inconvenience that this may have caused for you.

Regarding your breakfast: I am sorry you and your colleague experienced this and I will investigate why this was the case . We do however believe we offer a good choice of fresh fruit etc on our buffet table, so do not understand why you felt this was not the case.

Please do contact us to discuss this situation, as always we are pleased to hear constructive comments to help us improve on our services; we do not like anyone to leave unhappy and welcome your call to discuss this matter personally with you.

We do hope to see you at The Crown in the future and will await your call to discuss.
Regards
Tony & Sian O'Brien
General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Although I live in Cheshire, I occasionally visit family in Chertsey & no visit would be complete without popping into the Crown - I love the new layout & refurbishment and the Sunday lunch is the best!
Didn't stay in the hotel this time, as staying with family.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keri g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian B, General Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest
Wow, we are thrilled with your comments and thank you very much.

Looking forward to seeing you in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel for just one night while on a business trip. Very nice modern feeling room but in an old style - which is what I like. Friendly staff. Attached pub was great although I did not eat there. Included breakfast was what you would expect at this price range - nothing special but not bad either. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I believe there is an old and a new wing. I was in the old part and liked it. No idea what the new p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chertsey
0.7 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Chertsey
681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Chertsey Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 3 in Egham
1,159 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western The Ship Hotel
4.5 mi away
The Stanwell Hotel
The Stanwell Hotel
#2 of 5 in Staines
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Address: 7 London Street, Chertsey KT16 8AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chertsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chertsey
Price Range: £56 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer friendly, personal and unpretentious service, whether you're just in for a quiet pint, planning an intimate dinner, a stop-over for a business trip or staying for a leisurely weekend.If you want to stay in one of our 49 rooms, there are lots of leisurely attractions on our doorstep, we're well-placed for nearby Thorpe Park and you can't find a better overnight stopping off point if you're en route for an early business meeting in London.Welcome to your local. Please be aware that every Friday and Saturday night we have live music for all to enjoy until midnight in our bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Cancelon, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Chertsey, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing