We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another enjoyable visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Crown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chertsey
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Another enjoyable visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I last visited the Crown well over a year ago. It was a really good hotel then, but following the extensive renovations, it is even better. I was welcomed by Tony, the proprietor, on check in and he remembered me from my last stay which is very commendable! I was given a suite (room 302) and was very impressed on how well appointed it was. Huge bed, sofas, two TVs and very spacious. My only quibble would be that it was rather hot in there despite air conditioning being available (perhaps the main external units weren't switched on?) and the small window only opened a little. This made sleep a little difficult despite the bed being very comfortable.The bathroom was modern and very clean too. The bar area and restaurant was spacious and airy with a choice of seating areas. The kitchen could be viewed through a large window from the dining room. The menu was varied and reasonably priced. My evening meal was well cooked and quick to arrive. i would have preferred it served on a plate and not what appeared to be a child's blackboard though! Every staff member I encountered welcomed me with a smile and were extremely pleasant. I will definitely return if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    138
    64
    24
    19
See reviews for
71
100
8
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have been staying at the Crown Hotel in Chertsey for a number of years. There aren't many hotel options near the center of town and until recently, most of them were pretty rough around the edges and offered few amenities. The Crown was okay before the renovations, but it is in another class entirely now. The rooms offer the basics, but they are now up-to-date and generally seem cleaner and brighter. The real charm, however, is the outdoor patio and pub/restaurant. It is now more open and spacious and while it retains the classic British pub ambience, it manages to also have a more contemporary look. Both the food and friendly/helpful personnel seem to be kicked it up several notches. The dining area is mixed with the pub with along with several connected dining rooms. Food choices cover a spectrum from upscale pub offerings to contemporary global cuisine. There are a number of vegetarian options available. The hotel is near a path that goes along side the nearby church that is great for taking a scenic run too and along the Thames and a golf club; part road/part trail. It is also easy enough to run or stroll over the Chertsey Bridge and along the Thames past Thorp Park. It is great to have these choices for exercise, since the hotel lacks a fitness center. For those on business, it is a quick and convenient walk into town.

Room Tip: I have stayed in many of the rooms here prior to the renovation. The one in the old attic area is p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GilG294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

After visiting thorpe park all day this was the perfect place to go to finish the day off. Every member of staff were polite and helpful and the room was spacious, comfortable and very clean. However, the biggest surprise for me was the pub and restaurant. It was very clean, very comfortable and the food was absolutely amazing. I will definitely remember this place for next time and would recommend it to anybody looking for somewhere to stay in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank upthearsenal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian B, General Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you very much for such a lovely review.

We hope to see you again in the very near future and can then thank you in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I stayed on a Sunday night whilst visiting family in the local area. First impressions were good . The hotel receptionist was friendly and welcoming .. The room itself was modern and comfortable ...Things started going wrong in the morning , No hot water ....so not able to have a shower, I went to reception to report this and was told " they would investigate " no apology at all !?!? We then decided to go for breakfast, it all looked very nice but absolutely no vegetarian option ( its 2014 ! ) I asked the waitress if they had any vegetarian options , she looked at me blankly and said " she would ask " I decided to have the breakfast minus the sausage and bacon ... so basically had eggs , mushrooms and beans ... As we walked back to the room the receptionist advised that the engineer was looking into the hot water issue and that I could use another room to shower ( still no apology ! ) but at this point it was check out time so I decided not to bother . I understand that things do go wrong but at no point was an apology given ... I don't normally complain but I just felt that the customer service in this hotel is sadly lacking .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 384MarieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian B, General Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest
We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay and again we are very sorry that you do not believe our receptionist on the morning was apologetic. We have spoken to her re this and she is very confused, as she does believe that the first thing she did was to apologise for the problem with the shower and as you have stated, then offered you another room as the quickest resolution whilst the plumber looked at the problem. Unfortunately there are occasions when equipment may go wrong!

Regarding breakfast
I am unsure if you noticed, but there was a large buffet table with a delicious selection of Muffins, Danish pastries, cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurts etc. and there was also an area where you could have helped yourself to freshly made toast.

Again we apologise if you believe our customer service is lacking, our team are fully committed in providing a great experience for all.

We do hope to see you again in the future and you do not allow the above to reflect in further reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Had a very nice business lunch here. Dining area was bright an airy, with a good friendly service.

Food is fairly traditional, good quality pub food, fish and chips were good, especially the batter on the Cod, crispy without being oily.

Definitely recommend the pub for lunch.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed for a weekend break hotel room was lovely big bed, the restaurant was great we order steak and pulled pork burger they were both beautiful the bar was very busy as it was a Saturday night they had a band on which was a added bonus! We will be back!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wey_1090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian B, General Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you and we are delighted you had a great time.

Look forward to receiving your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

The first indication that perhaps things were not going to be quite as good as the dinner menu promised was when I was asked how I would like my hake cooked! For a fish dinner that was being charged at a rather pricey £17.95, which was not sushi, the question was utterly baffling and worrying! It was something to do with their till apparently. Anyway, the fish dish was terrible and well below my expectations with a rock hard poached egg sitting on the top of a watery tasteless liquid that I think was meant to be a sauce. My friend was brought completely the wrong meal. We had to wait ages for her correct meal to come whilst our other meals went colder and colder. When her salad finally arrived it was wrongly prepared, lacked proper seasoning and had missing ingredients. She wished she'd kept the wrong dish that had previously arrived!

When asked if we were enjoying our meals we listed all the problems. Chef would be told was the reply.

No renumeration was offered so we asked for the poor service and disappointing quality of food to be reflected in our bill. In the end we had to insist that the salad (billed as a burger at £10.95) be taken off our bill. The fish dish we wrote off as a bad and expensive experience. Desserts were equally disappointing but no-one cared to ask us about those but please please please don't mention chambord raspberries if they have been frozen. Frozen raspberries are awful!

The welcome into the restaurant was lovely, the menu enticing, but the warmth from the staff dissipates when something that isn't right is brought to their attention. The quality of food disappoints but when you fight to be compensated the evening is ruined.

If things were not so pricey we would have expected less and perhaps been less disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaelcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian B, General Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest
I am so sorry that you have need to write such a daming reveiw, we have clearly let you down on this occasion and cannot understand why things had gone so wrong.

Please by all means contact us directly, we would love to be able to offer you a complimentary meal so you can revisit and we can show you that this sitaution is really not normal.

Once again our sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chertsey
0.7 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chertsey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
2.5 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Chertsey Hotel
3.0 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,444 reviews
2.9 mi away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Property: Crown Hotel
Address: 7 London Street, Chertsey KT16 8AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chertsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chertsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer friendly, personal and unpretentious service, whether you're just in for a quiet pint, planning an intimate dinner, a stop-over for a business trip or staying for a leisurely weekend.If you want to stay in one of our 49 rooms, there are lots of leisurely attractions on our doorstep, we're well-placed for nearby Thorpe Park and you can't find a better overnight stopping off point if you're en route for an early business meeting in London.Welcome to your local. Please be aware that every Friday and Saturday night we have live music for all to enjoy until midnight in our bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Chertsey, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing