We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Priceline
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
49
3
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
49
3
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews harris tweed home baking places to visit lynda calder suite highlands accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2019

I was here for 1 night with 5 friends when we were cycling from Glasgow to Inverness. Dower house was our 3rd night. After a tough day of cycling against incredibly hard wind, we were welcomed by Lynda and Eric as soon as we cycled onto the property. Our bikes were secured, and rooms were handed out. We first had a shower after which we were given a nice coffee and tea with fresh home made scones, brownies and muffins, with home made jam. After a nice chat and good advise on a restaurant we went out for a meal.
Breakfast was just perfect. It was different from what you normally get in a B&B. I thought this was the best breakfast I had in any B&B ever. Lovely fresh pancakes with fresh fruit, toast with home made bread, various delicious home made jams, muffins etc etc. You can't fault the Dower House in any way.
The rooms were complete, clean and very comfortable beds to sleep on.
I would highly recommend the Dower House to anybody visiting this area. You will not find a better place with friendlier people anywhere. You don't feel like you are welcomed in a B&B, you are welcomed in Lynda and Eric's home. Very warm welcome.For me (us as a group) Dower House got a 10/10.

Room tip: The warmest welcome, very comfortable beds and the best breakfast you will get.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Timo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyndaD505, General Manager at Dower House Newtonmore, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2019

Thanks for taking the time to review our home and BNB. We like what we have created here at the Dower House, and I think that you have summed it up nicely. Thanks for reading us right! Come by anytime and stay a little longer for more cycling circuits here in the Cairngorms. Till next time, hope the last leg was great and challenging and rewarding at the same time. L&E

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2019

Our weekend in Strathspey was based at this wonderful B&B in Newtonmore. On arrival we were greeted by our friendly hosts with tea, cake and a warm stove. Big room, warm and comfy bed, good shower - what more can you ask? But Eric and Linda really go above and beyond, from the extra batches of home baking to advice on local walks and restaurants. The cardamom tablet in the room was a treat, as were the hearty and imaginative breakfasts. Best of all: I will long remember watching Wales defeat England in the rugby, in Eric and Linda's excellent and entirely non-partisan company. This place is as good as it gets.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Goblincleaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyndaD505, General Manager at Dower House Newtonmore, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2019

What it great weekend it was too! A great afternoon in the lounge with 6nations on.
Glad to meet you guys and it is great that you had a good weekend in Newtonmore and roundabout. We look forward to the return visit with a Welsh Allblack match! Thanks too for taking the time to review our bnb and home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

We had booked one night en route from Edinburgh Airport back home in the NW Highlands, and arrived on a very wet, miserable evening to be greeted by the cheery host, Eric, who offered us a pot of tea in the cosy guest lounge, which came with homemade muffins and pastries. How relaxing it was to sit in front of the woodburner looking at the vast selection of interesting books, perusing the collection of menus from nearby restaurants. Our room was elegant with lovely tweed curtains and cushions, all made by our hostess Linda, an exuberant Kiwi, who greeted us with 'How are you guys doing?'. The shower room was newly fitted and perfect, there was homemade tablet and almond slices, as well as a selection of teas and a kettle, all nestled in an antique bureau in our room. The whole atmosphere was welcoming, cosy and just what we wanted. The breakfast was amazing - we had poached egg on black pudding on toast with homemade guacamole! What a great idea! Cereals, juice, homemade baking and more toast with homemade preserves were also offered,along with coffee or tea. We had a lovely chat with another couple who were also staying for the night en route to their holiday accomadation further north, and it really rounded our holiday off. Hats off to Linda and Eric for a winning formula - we shall be back!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyndaD505, Public Relations Manager at Dower House Newtonmore, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2019

Glad you enjoyed your visit and felt comfortable, warm and welcomed. You are most welcome to come back any time you like and get the same treatment for sure! Glad your homeward bound journey as fine and we will see you later...L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Easily the best place we stayed during our one-week trip in Scotland! Greeted with tea and cakes in the lounge by the fire, which was most welcome after a long, windy hike that day. A little box with some freshly-baked brownies and home-made tablet awaited us in the cozy bedroom as well. The Feshie room was spacious, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom modern, with the roomiest shower we encountered. Everything was very clean.

The hosts were welcoming and helpful with directions and suggestions. A variety of pubs/restaurants within walking distance made our evening easy, and the falconer flying his birds across the street made for some interesting entertainment!

The breakfast was amazing; more delicious home-made muffins, ample servings, and more interesting presentation than your standard full Scottish breakfast.

Definitely recommended as a home base for exploring Cairngorms and the area.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyndaD505, Owner at Dower House Newtonmore, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Thanks for taking the time to respond to your visit to our home and bnb. It was great to meet you both and glad that you enjoyed the fare we serve. We love what we do and doing something a bit different, thanks for noticing and compliments us on it. Till next time for more of your exploring...safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely house, with clean and comfortable room. Toilet is modern, with basic amenities provided. It's really a great place to come back after a day out.
Eric and Lynda are gems! Eric made recommendations on where to go, checked the weather for us and boy were we glad we took his advice! We spent less time on the road and had more exploring local town.
Lynda cooks a great breakfast, even something simple as scramble eggs tasted so good. And her bakings were good. My only regret, not tasting the peanut brownies earlier, else I would have asked her to bake more to bring bake home. And guys, take a look at her work room. I bought a few stuff as souvenirs.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TutyMarlinaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda D, Guest Relations Manager at Dower House Newtonmore, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thanks guys for taking the time to review our home and bnb. It was lovely to meet you both and glad that you enjoyed your stay. So many folks plan their journey and forget to stop and 'smell the roses'. Our village and surrounding landscape is very special and it takes just a quiet walk to settle all the stresses of the day. Our complimentary home bakes in the rooms are nearly always eaten, but occasionally they are not.


Hope your homeward journey is fantastic and you just want to return again and again! L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews