We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and homely welcome”
Review of Greenways

Greenways
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newtonmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greenways
Ranked #9 of 13 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location and homely welcome”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Greenways is a perfectly located B&B. You can easily explore Cairngorms national park and surrounding areas from Newtonmore. We stayed at the B&B for two nights (August 30 and 31, 2012) and were really pleased by a warm welcome, hospitality, and nice breakfast. Mrs Fran McCann is a helpful and friendly hostess. We would highly recommend staying at this B&B!

Asta and Tomas from Lithuania

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlmondBloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
13
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shoreham-by-Sea, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stayed here with friends over Easter for some walking in the Cairngorms. Fran made us very welcome and her breakfast set us up for the day - great selection of fresh fruit salad, homemade jams and full cooked breakfast beautifully served to each guest's requests. Nice rooms and homely feel to place. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isobel792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My first time up in the highlands of Scotland and what a beautiful place it is. Greenways is a very comfortable and welcoming B&B with a garden leading to the 18th green and club house of Newtonmore golf club. Fran was a wonderful host and has a good knowledge of the surrounding area. The ideal location for hiking, mountain biking, nature watching, horse riding and playing golf. Greenways has to be one of the best B&B I have stayed at, I recommend it highly.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank paulimom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We have just stayed for four nights in Greenways B&B ( family of six), and did not really enjoy our stay in there. The house is nice and well situated overlooking a golf course, but we did not feel welcome. Every request seemed too difficult, even simple things like asking for only some of the hot breakfast instead of all of it, was met with resistance. One of our party had flu, and wanted to just rest up in the living room for the day, but we were told in no uncertain terms that Fran felt he was " well enough to go out so he was not welcome to stay there for the day". This and her general attitude just left us feeling very uncomfortable and we would definitely not go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenwaysNewtonmore, Owner at Greenways, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
We are so sorry that you felt this way after your stay with us. We would like to offer you a discount on any future stay with us at Greenways Bed and Breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed for a week at Greenways B&B. The building is a nice character one which is very well kept and overlooks the Newtonmore golf course and the hills beyond. Fran is a lovely host and more than willing to chat and give you some nice ideas in regard to site seeing. Her breakfasts are delicious and more than adequate in size. Our room was a good size and very nice and the en-suite was modern and spotless. We had a four poster bed which was quite comfortable but tended to make the room a little dark. But overall Greenways is a wonderful place to stay and we would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gibboGeraldton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

fantastic room with 4 poster bed .
biggest bathroom on this trip
Franny was great, anything was no trouble.
we were looking for somewhere to eat for dinner and she recommended The Glen Hotel, this was excellent. Food was great such a choice and reasonably priced.
breakfast this morning was plentyful and filling.
would go back again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lambchpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our alas all-too brief stay at Greenways and would warmly recommend it. Mrs Mccann is an excellent host, the room was beautiful, clean and cosy, and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.2 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clune House
Clune House
#2 of 13 in Newtonmore
141 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Rumblie
The Rumblie
#1 of 2 in Laggan
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Eagle View Guest House
Eagle View Guest House
#5 of 13 in Newtonmore
144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
664 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
#1 of 13 in Newtonmore
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenways

Property: Greenways
Address: Greenways Golf Course Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenways, a four star Newtonmore Bed and Breakfast. Greenways is located in Newtonmore, 15 minutes drive from Aviemore. Your hosts offer first class highland hospitality in a luxury setting, and will ensure that a stay at this unique property will be a truly relaxing and memorable experience. Greenways is a lovely home in the attractive Highland village of Newtonmore, with views over the 18th green of the Newtonmore Golf Course to the mountains beyond. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Greenways Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing