We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, well equipped hostel”
Review of Newtonmore Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newtonmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Newtonmore Hostel
Reviewed 21 April 2010

Pete & Kathryn are very welcoming. The hostel has an excellent drying room and is well kitted out. There are plenty of showers/toilets. So although these are not en-suite, we never had to queue. We enjoyed sharing our days experiences with other hostellers.

A real find which we would recommend to others. Close to lots of outdoor stuff, great walks, skiing and the excellent and free(!) Folk Museum. A must for all families.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmc01_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2010

As a couple with 3 young children, we were concerned about both a Highland ski trip and hostelling, but we need not have worried! Pete & Kathryn are very hospitable and very keen to help. They ensure the hostel is always clean and warm with great cooking, washing and drying (a separate room to dry salopettes and boots overnight was brilliant!) facilities. The rooms are European style bunk beds (including a double if needed!) and with plenty of storage space. For skiing, the hostel is very close to Aviemore but even The Lecht was only just over an hour's drive away if you are beginners like our kids were! We also enjoyed the week's company of other families and young couples there in the open plan communal kitchen/lounge. Many thanks again - we shall return to the awe-inspiring Highlands soon and plan to stay with you again! Alex & Emma.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepperalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

The title says it all really. Staff helpful, good food at hotel across the road and a reasonable supermarket 2 minutes walk away.

Bery happy.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quitelargehobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

This was a last minute booking and Kathryn was very accommodating.

It is a small hostel with a preference towards the use of private rooms. The beds are extremely comfortable and the whole hostel is very clean. The kitchen is well equiped. The comfy lounge has a wood burning stove and is surrounded by comfy chairs. The owners are very keen on recycling with a bin for almost every conceivable type of material. A washing machine is provided. Excellent drying room. More than sufficient toilets and showersm (not en-suite).

When we stayed, it was generally quiet but we did share the hostel with some very pleasant hill walkers.

Noisy groups should stay away.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dead_Sheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

After reading all the good reviews I decided to book a room at the hostel.

When trying to enquire and book a place the person speaking to me was quite off hand about the dates and prices. When I asked was it ok to keep a dog in the car overnight the person became very aggravated saying ‘no no we don’t let dogs stay here’ and pretty much put the phone down. Well why don’t they make this clear on the website?

It is such a shame we couldn’t stay as I’m sure when you do it’s a great experience.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank WildMan26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petemain, Owner at Newtonmore Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2009

We are sorry you felt that we did not deal with your enquiry very well. Our hostel is small, we employ no extra staff and at times 'reception' becomes a bit hectic. Our prices and the fact that we do not take dogs is on our website on the 'News' page and on the 'Frequently Asked Questions' page. You will find most hostels do not take dogs and a dog friendly B&B or a self-catering property may be better suited to your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We stayed here one day on our way to Inverness and we enjoyed the stay. The hostel is small and cannot be compared with other large hostels, it is better!
It is cosy, with a woodfire, a well equipped kitchen. The owners put effort in recycling which is a plus! We regretted not staying longer because there is some great walking in the area and the owners can surely give some good advice on where to go.

The owner Pete is a very nice guy. I left my adapter/plug at the hostel and he offered to sent it to my home adress.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egg-mac-puffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2009

Small, friendly hostel with lovely hot showers and cosy beds. The owners discourage noisy/drunk guests, smoking in the vicinity, and general unsociable behaviour - which is absolutely perfect for us. The kitchen is well equiped and there's a drying room although we didn't need to use it. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runningmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newtonmore hotels
0.0 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
308 reviews
0.6 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balavil Hotel
Balavil Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newtonmore
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clune House
Clune House
#1 of 13 in Newtonmore
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eagle View Guest House
Eagle View Guest House
#5 of 13 in Newtonmore
146 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
#3 of 13 in Newtonmore
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newtonmore Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newtonmore Hostel

Address: Craigellachie House Main Street, Newtonmore PH20 1DA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Newtonmore
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel sleeps 10-12 persons in 3 bunk-bedded rooms. There are three toilets and showers, a fully equipped kitchen, comfortable lounge area with a wood burning stove, and an excellent drying room. We also have dry secure overnight storage for bikes. We're dog lovers and try hard to accomodate our canine freinds. Please ring us if you want to bring your pet along.Standard price is £20 per person per night, the entire hostel from £180 per night. Newtonmore is a small highland village in the Cairngorm National Park. It has good ameneties including several pubs serving bar food and a restaraunt as well as a well stocked Co-op for those who wish to self cater. If you are not spending your days walking climbing, cycling or skiing there are plenty of local attractions includinfg the Highland Folk Museum and a short drive away is the Highland Wildlife Park. The "Wildcat Experience" experience goes down well with children - there are over a hundred lifesize models to find around the village and you can spot your first one from the hostel window. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Newtonmore Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing