We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of Ruthven Barracks

Ruthven Barracks
Ranked #3 of 10 things to do in Newtonmore
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Plano, TX
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Ruthven Barracks sits high on a hilltop with a commanding view of the surrounding area. Free parking and free entry, with a short walk up a hill to the ruins. There is some interpretative signage showing the use of many of the rooms, although it would be nice to have some more detailed plaques for those who wish to learn more about those times. I would suggest 20-30 minutes for the tour and a few more for some photos. Wheelchair /handicap access would be a little tough, however if you can walk 200 yards uphill you can get to the ruins.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mkenneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    81
    18
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting place to stop”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Free parking & entry, a few interesting information boards Took us 20mins to wander around. Worth stopping for if you're passing by.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris16bit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Enjoy the Barracks each time I visit the area. Would love to see more detailed history boards but understand I might be more interested than most in reading up on history.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura_n_Carolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“WORTH A DETOUR”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We have seen this many times when passing on the A9. Staying in the area, we decided to visit and are delighted we did. Lovely setting and views with informative boards. Nice spot for a picnic in the sunshine. Recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Take a turn off the main road to enjoy the feeling of history surrounding you”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Completely free site and worth the detour and the walk. You will enjoy being able to clamber around an historical military barracks with nice views, terrific wind, and a real feeling for a time gone by.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lillie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruthven Barracks also viewed

Newtonmore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Newtonmore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Newtonmore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to Ruthven Barracks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing