We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Craigerne House Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Newtonmore
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
The Glen Hotel(Newtonmore)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balavil Hotel(Newtonmore)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highlander Hotel(Newtonmore)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Star Hotel(Kingussie)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
65
23
10
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
23
10
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed two nightsfantastic stayhighland folk museumdougiehouselaundry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Very friendly and helpful proprietors.Nothing seemed to be too much trouble we went for 3 nights on a KGB voucher deal and were treated as well as the guests who were not on special deals.We intend to go back next year

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Was really looking forward to staying here after reading the glowing reports but was left a bit disappointed to be honest. The bedroom was warm and cosy and perfectly adequate for one night, any longer and you would feel a bit claustrophobic as it was on the small side .A few simple touches such as a set of decent hangers (four mis-matched plastic ones in wardrobe) cost only a few pounds and would give a more professional look, a new telly wouldn't cost the earth either. Bathroom was very small but apart from some mould around the shower tray, it was clean with lovely toiletries.
The area downstairs was very nice, dining room had a spectacular view. The continental breakfast choice was ok, two types of cereal, orange juice, various bread/rolls and fruit. We opted to pay the £5 extra for cooked breakfast, four rashers of bacon, a tiny sausage, beans and an overdone fried egg ok but not the greatest.

For the price we paid it was good value and ideal for a stopover when touring around the Highlands.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bank66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My husband and I are just back from a 2 day stay here and what a lovely time we had. We booked this on a special KGB voucher deal for a great price and therefore did not expect the high standards we received. Dougie was very friendly and welcoming from the word go and gave us handy hints for places to go and local restaurants. We upgraded to the cooked breakfast for an extra £5 each which was good value. Our room was basic but clean with all amenities and a very small tv. We were sad to leave and hope to be back very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Dougie welcomed us and told us to treat the Craigerne House Hotel as if we were at home. There was an well stocked "honesty bar" which which we could serve ourselves to and we took advantage of it while relaxing in front of the roaring fire in the lounge which was nice and peaceful. There was a continental breakfast each morning which was nice and lots to choose from with plenty of coffee top-ups! I tried the fried Scottish breakfast for an extra £5 one morning and it was excellent. We learned also that there are two rooms downstairs which can accommodate guests and their dog, something which is very rare these days! Looking forward to another stay at the Craigerne House Hotel soon!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark1975_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed here April 15 - 18, 2013 for hiking the nearby mountains. Even though the weather didn't cooperate, we had a lovely stay with Dougie,Joanna, and Skye! Breakfast always included fresh, delicious fruit, even with the porridge! A hiker's lunch was prepared for us each day - it was also delicious! The rooms were clean, warm and cozy - even with 90 mph winds outside. Shower had plenty of hot water, towels. Joanna's artwork is amazing, and adds to the feeling of being right at home! Thanks for the help with laundry and transportation! Hope to return someday.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank 1woolspinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews