We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Craigerne House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 March 2014

A surprise weekend in Newtonmore is not one I would have thought of.....but this was very nice. The hotel was warm and friendly. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable. There was no television in the room, but that did not make one bit of difference to our break. First morning we had a continental breakfast and the second morning a full cooked breakfast. Both were more than adequate and the cooked breakfast was piping hot. It was like a home from home. If you are looking for a country estate type hotel then this is not it but if you are looking for a place that makes you feel welcome then the Craigerne is the one.

Room Tip: Room 1 was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

The plus points of The Craigerne are the location, the friendly welcome - the owner was very helpful throughout our stay, real fire in one of the lounges, the breakfast. Negative points are that we had a bedroom with no television - yes, no television ! This is a hotel which we booked through Itison. the voucher said the normal price for the one night break was £96, reduced to £46 through the voucher. This was for the room, continental breakfast and a bottle of wine. Can't believe anyone would ever have paid £96 for a small basic room with no t.v.! Also, we didn't have a shower in the morning as the towels are very small compared to what most people have at home. We were able to watch t.v. in one of the lounges, but it is not the same. To top it all this was my husband's birthday - a birthday to remember for not for the right reasons ! Would recommend The Glen Hotel , where we had a drink for atmosphere and liked the look of the food . We ate at the Silver Fjord which was really good. Brilliant Steak ! Oh, and also if we had had a television, we still couldn't have watched tv in our room as apparently the roof aerial wasn't working !

Room Tip: make sure there is a tv in the room - make sure it is working - bring own towels.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank aberdeenfamily10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed here a few times now and really enjoyed it.Room's are relatively basic but clean and tidy.

Right next to the golf course so if you like your golf it couldn't be closer. It's suited to outdoors types and there's plenty of room for wet clothes etc.

Dougie and Joanna make you feel really welcome.

Great value for money and recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HouseOfMulben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stopped here overnight on a bed and breakfast with our family. For location, Craigerne ticked the box as it was just across the road from the venue we were attending. We were met by Dougie who warmly welcomed us and after a quick orientation of the hotel showed us to our rooms. Clean and basic.

We did make use of the 'honesty bar' - after 'mine host' had replaced the empties!

Our room was adequate and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was ample and covered most diets.

For the money paid, good value.

(Small criticism - as non smokers, the overflowing ashtray on the table at the front/main entrance door was not the best advert)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atholebrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This was our second visit to this lovely place. This time our family dog came along for the break and was made welcome . This was a very short stay as time was against us on this trip , but we are planning our next visit straight away . Couldn`t have been made more welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Just spent three nights here, using the hotel as a base for a golfing trip. It is a B+B hotel with an honesty bar and is right next door to Newtonmore golf club where we played three rounds so was extremely handy. Accomodation was comfortable, clean, and the owners Dougie and Joanne could not be more friendly. The resident dog Sky was also very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

we spent 5 nights at the Craigerne House and we had a superb time. The hotel has such a warm feel and the hosts Dougie and Joanne make you really feel welcome. There is so much to do in the area and great places to eat of which Dougie was always helpful with a recommendation. I really would recommend the hotel to anyone looking to holiday in the highlands.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newtonmore hotels
0.2 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balavil Hotel
Balavil Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newtonmore
255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
#3 of 13 in Newtonmore
268 reviews
5.6 mi away
Tigh an Each
Tigh an Each
#7 of 13 in Newtonmore
21 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dower House Newtonmore
Dower House Newtonmore
#6 of 13 in Newtonmore
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craigerne House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craigerne House Hotel

Address: Golf Course Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range: £88 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Craigerne House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Craigerne House Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing