We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highland hospitality at its best.”
Review of Balavil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Balavil Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Certificate of Excellence
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Highland hospitality at its best.”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Staff could not have been more helpful, and room was clean and adequate in terms of size and facilities. Dinners were excellent, though the choice at breakfast was a bit limited. Certain areas could do with redecoration. A good base for a golf tour.

Room Tip: Roms overlooking street would appear to be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    94
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
70
77
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The new management which took over in 2011 if I remember this right has done a great deal of work already. It is cleaner, friendlier, the rooms are getting a makeover and the staff is great! Even if there is perhaps still the one or other task to fulfill, the Balavil is certainly worth a visit. If that doesn't convince you - the food is great and the bar one of the cosiest in the Highlands. Oh, and it has a pool (and hopefully the sauna will be fixed soon, too)! I will be back :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dspolarbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Helpful and friendly check-in at reception, room was ample size with usual facilities (although shower soap was empty), free wi-fi was unavailable in my room and limited choice of freeview channels (obviously an issue with poor digital signal in the area). Bar area was small but ok for a couple of drinks with helpful, friendly staff, food was average "pub-grub", restaurant and bar busy with foreign travellers (quite loud and intrusive). Cooked breakfast was fine in the morning. Offered free use of the swimming pool (no other leisure facilities) but did not take advantage. Hotel could do with some modernisation but ok for price paid - biggest issue was that hotel was advertising B&B price @ £30 per night to walk-in's outside the hotel which was £10 a night cheaper than I paid on laterooms! Still, fine for price paid, nothing special, probably wouldn't stay here again due to the location and poor wi-fi.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kromeandtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We arrived at the Balavil after a long day's drive, touring Scotland. Pleasantly surprised, really helpful staff, plenty of parking, large room which was modern, clean, tidy, with a huge double bed, good en-suite. Meals very good and excellent value for money. Evening entertainment in bar also a nice touch. Swimming pool an added luxury. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We arrived just in time for evening meal which was really nice, friendly staff although a little slow.
Check in was very quick as I booked buy PayPal, very handy for me.
On entering or room it was neat and tidy with plenty of towels and a few spare blankets.
The shower was poor and a lose bath handle prompted a complaint the next morning which was dealt with friendly and promptly.
Speaking to the owner I was informed that the hotel was undergoing renovation which was confirmed when I left on the Sunday morning and the painters were painting the entrance.
Overall not bad, it’s an old hotel but the staff is friendly and helpful, prices are reasonable and the swimming pool is handy. Will see how much better it is next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevezzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somewhere
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We turned up without a booking after a long day on the road. The owner / manager and staff were fantastic and really made us welcome. (If you're looking for a castle this isn't the place for you). If want to be looked after, eat and drink in relaxed and convivial surroundings and have nice comfy bed for the night then this place will suit you really well. In the surrounding area there are various outdoors things to do and this hotel would serve as a good base for adventure sports groups in winter or summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

The Balavil provided us with the oportunity to have our wedding in a beautiful location, ceremony, meal and reception all in one place. Apart from the normal wedding day hiccups the service, attention to detail,and help received enabled us to have the most wonderful day. The rooms provided had just been refurbished and all our guests were happy and content.
I and my guests would use the hotel again and happily recomend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.2 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
664 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
297 reviews
2.8 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
464 reviews
18.8 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balavil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balavil Hotel

Property: Balavil Hotel
Address: Main Street, Newtonmore PH20 1DL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Balavil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Balavil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balavil Sport Inverness
Balavil Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing