We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Got to try its restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Balavil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balavil Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Got to try its restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

We went to the Balavil in September and stayed for a few days. The Balavil was clean the staff were friendly and the restaurant was fab. The prices won't break the bank either. So if you are in the area give it a go :) simple as !!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    87
    16
    6
    1
See reviews for
63
68
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Spent 4 nights with Romantic Highland Railway tour from Wales. First room looked over side road to Co-op and very noisy from traffic and people but kept awake most of first night with noise from occupants of room next to us. Staff found us another room at rear of hotel - much quieter but very dated and tired and person in room next door must have been a worker as they got up at 5.00am and left by 6.00am. Very good staff and food. Hotel is definitely in need of refurbishment though.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear are quieter. Ask if they have a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnisdale, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Enjoyed 2 night stay here with daughter who was dancing at Highland games. Great central place, staff welcoming & friendly, good food & service in bar & dining room. Lovely wee swimming pool, which daughter enjoyed greatly after a hard day at Games & me relaxing by the side with a book & drink!!
Rooms, although spacious were quite basic & could do with an update & maybe a few extras for the price paid.
Would stay again though.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I was part of a coach tour doing the highland railways.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and when I had to call someone in for help and it was dealt with immediately.
The rooms were clean and the bathroom was spotless.
The food was excellent, and the entertainment (Davy Holt) was brilliant.

My only criticism is that having a tartan patterned carpet on the stairs can be a bit dangerous for those with bifocals and have to concentrate harder on not falling.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the main high street. Not the quietest of rooms with traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanny-ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Spent 4 nights here whilst on a coach tour and found the hotel to be very comfortable, clean and well staffed. The food was very good (home cooking) and the staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Wouldn't hesitate to visit again. The tour we were on was by coach from England and was also very good (Romantic Highland Railway journeys) it was with Eagre and the driver was very knowledgeable about the area. All in all a very pleasant holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laineysheffiele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay here but instead stopped for dinner. The food was excellent and reasonably priced. The hotel has a heated indoor swimming pool, so will definitely stay there next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank smanders27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I can only judge the food and the bar as we were sating at another hotel and as the food their was awful we decided to eat here.
We sat down just art the right time as a busload of german tourists arrived at the same time. I ordered the steak pie and my wife had the fish bake and we shared a starter of prawn, pork, scallops and chicken skewer which was very good.
My steak pie was excellent and my only criticism was the pastry needed 5 more minutes in the oven. My wife said she has not had so much fish in a bake before.
The puddings sounded nice but we were too full.
The evening was rounded off with a local singer who sang lots of scottish songs and the germans loved it.
The staff were also first class, next time we visit newtonmore we will stay here

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BOBHAM5114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.4 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
2.8 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balavil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balavil Hotel

Property: Balavil Hotel
Address: Main Street, Newtonmore PH20 1DL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Balavil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Balavil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balavil Sport Inverness
Balavil Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing