We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb night”
Review of Balavil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Balavil Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb night”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Spent one very nice night at this hotel. Very good food and entertainment, excellent staff. This vas a 'Returning home visit' and if I am ever in this part of the country again I will certainly spend more than one night next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    91
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
65
74
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I was here for a wedding and didn't actually use the accommodation but I thought they deserved a mention. All the staff are friendly and helpful, the place is warm and cosy and ever so Scottish. The food is generous too. Fraser, the manager of this family run hotel, is a bit of a legend and talking of legends the bar at the back of the hotel (which adjoins the main bar) is the spiritual home of Scotland's shinty champions Newtonmore. They'd just won the cup again the night I was there and I had to drink whisky out of it...twice. The hotel did a very nice job of the wedding too, it's handy for golfers, walkers and even for snow sports fans if they don't mind driving up the road a little, so thumbs up all round.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinNaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stopped off for a night without booking beforehand. . It looks a lovely old building from the front but has nice modern rooms in the extension at the back where we were. The room was comfortable clean and warm. There was a singer on that night. There was a busload staying too. We had a meal there , I had a venison casserole which was beautiful ,and very reasonably priced too. there is a swimmingpool there, but we didn't go. The staff were really nice. Will be back again.

Room Tip: We were in room 1 which was a triple as the doubles were full up. It was nice and warm. Had a shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosaline55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AIRDRIE SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We've just spent a few days at the Balavil Hotel in Newtonmore. On arrival we received a very warm welcome from Fraser and he was extremely helpful with advice on bus and train services during our stay. Yes the hotel could do with a wee spruce up here and there but all the staff certainly made up for that. There was a really good range and choice of food from the menu and excellently cooked and presented. Worth a the trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBHOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I have spent 5 days here with Group Travel Coach Company. The hotel looks old but is characterful. The rooms are comfortable and although I had booked a single room I was given a twin. The bed was extremely clean and comfortable and the shower room was quite big with a spacious shower. There was a problem with heating at the beginning of the week but this was quickly sorted out by the very friendly and efficient staff. My friend 's heating problem resulted in water in her room so she was offered the choice of 2 rooms and helped to move her belongings in and given a complementary drink. The staff could not have been more friendly. The food is good with a good choice at buffet breakfast and 3 choices at each course at evening meal.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of mountains, but if offered a choice don't choose one on the side that ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMSWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed here with a group of friends who were mountain biking. Really lovely people who were so attentive and ready to help. The back bar is a great place to meet up with the locals and the food we had (very Scottish haggis and venison) was absolutely superb. A great breakfast followed and for those of us who had the energy, a nice swim in the pool. Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kazzieriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Recently visited on a coach holiday. Met by management on arrival and made to feel very welcome from the start. Were given rooms efficiently and cases arrived immediately. The room was immaculate and comfortable.
Everything needed to make our stay good was provided.Drinks facilities. Nice wide screen TV. Bar staff very efficient and friendly and great beer.
The restaurant was superb, nicely laid out and excellent service from the staff. Thanks to the chef for all his homemade cooking. 3 choices for each course. All delicious.
Breakfast was a buffet and contained everything you could wish for. great selection of cereals etc.
A full Scottish breakfast was the best way to start the day.
It was freshly cooked all during service and piping hot.
Would like to thank all management and staff for the care given to our party and would definitely come again and also would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Preferably at the back as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Di_Traveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.2 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
662 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
293 reviews
2.8 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
458 reviews
18.8 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balavil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balavil Hotel

Property: Balavil Hotel
Address: Main Street, Newtonmore PH20 1DL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Balavil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Balavil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balavil Sport Inverness
Balavil Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing