We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break”
Review of Balavil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Balavil Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Really nice hotel, pool is very good and the staff (especially Eddie) we're really friendly and I would recommend it to anyone. Food was fine, nothing special but we weren't expecting anything other than pub grub anyway.

Nice wee place and the weather was dry all weekend which makes a huge difference in scotland! We sampled the shinty bar on the sat night as the hotel bar was very quiet as there is no music or anything. Good wee atmosphere as Newtonmore had won 2-0 earlier in the day

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dunoon_Ton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

We drove past this place before we realised it!!!
Excellent stay from start to finish, booking in was very straightforward, lovely room with a lovely old fashioned feel about it.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they looked like they were really enjoying working there. Ate at the hotel for both evenings of our stay, although I would say the veggi option was a bit uninspired (mushroom ravioli) it was beautifully cooked. Had to go for the starter the next evening as it was the same veggi main again, and it was to die for, really scrummy.
Would defo suggest this place to friends and family and would love to stay again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pixSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Like many of the buildings in these parts, the Balavil has a rather austere granite outside with a rather ugly extension tacked onto it. But get inside and there are oak panels, old paintings and a very warm Scottish welcome. Rooms are a decent size and comfortable, the bar food is varied and well priced and the staff very friendly and helpful. There's a small swimming pool with a rather rickety Sauna which seemed to work perfectly well, there is a regular bus service from outside to the ski resort of Aviemore and if you want walking there are loads of opportunities right on the doorstep. If you want a plush hotel with all mod cons this is not the place for you, the furniture and carpets are all showing their age but who cares? It gives the place character and that's what you want in the Highlands of Scotland.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank politicsandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This hotel is great. The staff go above and beyond to make sure you enjoy your stay. The food is great, as are the facilities and its really reasonably priced. Ther are lots of activities close by, walking skiing etc. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redderin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is a friendly family run hotel, and it was a pleasure to stay again, we had come up for skiing, but due to the high winds, only made one session, but we were informed each morning of the conditions. The pool was a great advantage here keeping teenage son happy and active with the lack of skiing. He also greatly approved of the sticky toffee pudding! A really nice atmosphere and the bathroom had been completely upgraded since our last visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Although it's within walking distance of our home, we have not visited the Balavil very often, but I thought I would mention how much my wife and I enjoyed the Valentine Dinner in February 2014. The Balavil is a fine old Scottish hotel, discreetly decorated with wood panelling and tapestries, the bar is cosy and the staff are charming. The food is homely and inexpensive and we were not kept waiting despite the dining room being almost full on this special occasion. The Valentine package dinner was very good value. I would certainly recommend the Balavil for travellers to the highlands who want a taste of old Scottish hospitality.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sky_Sailer_ETA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Me and my partner went here last year its really easy to find was at the top of the main road with a small car park facing, which we was able to park on free of charge. We went to reception to check in and was overcome with all the snowboarders and skiers. Obviously popular with them. The room was basic but very clean had beautiful views of the mountains. There was a pool at the hotel but we didn't use it. We had a three course meal that the hotel offers in its restaurant and the food was lovely the service was good too. if you walk round the side there is a pub at the side which is belonging to the hotel its very small and there is a pool table and a lovely warm log fire. There isn't much to do around but there is a few pubs on the stretch and a changing colour water place next door we didn't go there as it wasn't really right for our interests. We would go again when needing a quiet short break.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy_Gee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.3 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
687 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
315 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
265 reviews
2.9 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kingussie
352 reviews
2.5 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingussie
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balavil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balavil Hotel

Address: Main Street, Newtonmore PH20 1DL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range: £67 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Balavil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and Cancelon so you can book your Balavil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balavil Sport Inverness
Balavil Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing