We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Balavil Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Highlander Hotel(Newtonmore)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Glen Hotel(Newtonmore)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Star Hotel(Kingussie)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
140
104
21
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
104
21
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolshinty barcoach partyvenisonlounge barnice clean roomsstaff were brilliantcooked foodfood was lovelypiecoach tripfriendly hotelstayed for two nightshill walkingfeel so welcomefamily roomenjoyable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Touring the country side we were lost and stumbled on this hotel. It was a lucky find for us. There were 7 in our party and since it was the off-season we were able to acquire 3 rooms at a late hour. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were basic, but clean and very large. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was OUTSTANDING!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarmenRinehart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We spent two nights at the Balavil with a number of family members to celebrate my wife's birthday. We had good accommodation, good food and friendly service during our stay. An interesting old country house hotel that has retained the value of good service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Norman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Really nice hotel, pool is very good and the staff (especially Eddie) we're really friendly and I would recommend it to anyone. Food was fine, nothing special but we weren't expecting anything other than pub grub anyway.

Nice wee place and the weather was dry all weekend which makes a huge difference in scotland! We sampled the shinty bar on the sat night as the hotel bar was very quiet as there is no music or anything. Good wee atmosphere as Newtonmore had won 2-0 earlier in the day

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dunoon_Ton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We drove past this place before we realised it!!!
Excellent stay from start to finish, booking in was very straightforward, lovely room with a lovely old fashioned feel about it.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they looked like they were really enjoying working there. Ate at the hotel for both evenings of our stay, although I would say the veggi option was a bit uninspired (mushroom ravioli) it was beautifully cooked. Had to go for the starter the next evening as it was the same veggi main again, and it was to die for, really scrummy.
Would defo suggest this place to friends and family and would love to stay again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pixSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Like many of the buildings in these parts, the Balavil has a rather austere granite outside with a rather ugly extension tacked onto it. But get inside and there are oak panels, old paintings and a very warm Scottish welcome. Rooms are a decent size and comfortable, the bar food is varied and well priced and the staff very friendly and helpful. There's a small swimming pool with a rather rickety Sauna which seemed to work perfectly well, there is a regular bus service from outside to the ski resort of Aviemore and if you want walking there are loads of opportunities right on the doorstep. If you want a plush hotel with all mod cons this is not the place for you, the furniture and carpets are all showing their age but who cares? It gives the place character and that's what you want in the Highlands of Scotland.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank politicsandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews