We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Balavil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balavil Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
Certificate of Excellence
Peebles, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Booked in here for a one night stay while on business. Staff very pleasant and helpful, room clean and comfortable food good - helping not massive but adequate, could have done with another potato.Very keenly priced - fantastic value!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    87
    16
    6
    1
See reviews for
63
68
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I recently stayed in the Balavil with my husband and 10 month old baby. The service was fabulous and the staff were very helpful, particularly in catering for a baby. The indoor pool is an excellent facility and the rooms were well suited to our needs. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emmajane1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We just returned to Glasgow from a weekends trip for our 8 year old, to Landmark Forest Adventure, and we stayed at this hotel as Aviemore was more or less fully booked, That was our blessing in disguise. This was a lovely experience, every member of staff we met, catered for our every need, and more, and were only too happy to help or advise. Lovely food, nice cosy bar, couldn't fault it, and the price is deceiving. We didn't expect too much, and got a better experience than when we have stayed in 5 start places. You should go here. Newtonmore is a lovely place, for walks and a base to the Highlands.Thanks to everyone at The Balavil. Next time we will bring our swimwear for the pool.

Room Tip: Eat in the hotel, it is all from local produce. Gorgeous mmm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Barzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We recently spent a night at the Balavil travelling with friends, we were made to feel very welcome and were allocated a nice room which appeared to have been recently refurbished. The room itself was spotless with 2 comfortable chairs and a nice flat screen television The bathroom was likewise spotless and recently refurbished. Dont expect expensive toiletries etc to be supplied, there is soap and shower gel in the bathroom and tea coffee and biscuits in the bedroom, no drinking water however there is a large supermarket next door where water can be purchased. Notwithstanding the foregoing comment the room was offered at a very competitive rate and was extremely good value for money. We ate dinner in the hotel which was very nice, good sized portions at competitive prices. The breakfast in the morning was also very nice, good selection cooked to order and all meals served by nice attentive staff. Would be delighted to return and would recommend to anyone thinking of visiting Newtonmore.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Longforganlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ullapool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Booked up with Fraser for a business stay for myself and colleague. Really good value single room. Spacious. Could probably not find such a good price for B and B in the Highlands in June in another hotel. Beds were comfortable, plenty hot water. Ate at the hotel on second night and had really good service from young, focused, local team.
The best bit about the hotel for me: IT'S LOCALLY RUN!! The guitar player who was playing in the bar had been gigging there for over 20 years and had been doing so before for Fraser's Dad. You know that if you ask anyone who works here questions about the local area that you will get an individual and local recommendation. And also you know your money is getting invested back into a business at the heart of the community rather than one of those faceless corporation-run hotels.......Good job

Room Tip: If you are a single traveller £45 per night B and B with an en-suite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed in a few hotels in May on a tour of the Outer Hebrides, and stayed here on the way home.

the hotel is clean and tidy, cannot fault the assistance when asking for an iron and ironing table, the staff on reception carried it up the stairs for me.
Our room consisted of a large airy room with double and single bed, also had a changing room which lead to our shower room- great shower space - most showers are so small that you bump the wall not ours - double shower!

Food was ok, but could have been better. Cannot fault breakfast it was as expected

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank PEPELincolnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Arranged a weekend of golf and meeting up with old friends. The Balavil was our base and we played Kingussie on Friday and Newtonmore on Saturday. Fraser met us on Friday at reception and his warm welcome was the start of a wonderful weekend.

The hotel has the most friendly staff I have come across. Everything is dealt with fast, efficiently and in a no fuss way. The food over the weekend was excellent, the Scottish twist to things was great.

The pool was a lovely way to relax after our rounds of golf and our room was very comfortable and clean. Fraser you are doing a great job, pass on my thatnks to your staff and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.4 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
2.8 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balavil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balavil Hotel

Property: Balavil Hotel
Address: Main Street, Newtonmore PH20 1DL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Balavil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Balavil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balavil Sport Inverness
Balavil Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing