We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A day out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highland Folk Museum

Highland Folk Museum
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Newtonmore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover how Highland people lived, worked and played at this award-winning museum. Experience life portrayed from the early 1700s to the mid 1900s. Find the difference between a “cruck” and a “croman”, smell the “reek” of a peat fire, relive early school days and life on the farm, or just enjoy a “blether” and reminisce with our friendly staff. Extensive play area, shops, café, and picnic sites throughout grounds. A great family day out for all ages. Free admissionOpen Easter to end of October – 3 to 6 hour visit recommended
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

A great place to visit and despite it being a rather damp day we really enjoyed our visit. I felt they could have done more in explaining the various types of houses but the school and the turf house both with people in costume were very informative. A definite if you are in the area

Helpful?
Thank PAnn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    534
    131
    17
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Been twice I expect I will be back again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Rented properties in Newtonmore and Kingussie, first time in Kingussie we visited the highland folk museum, thought it was great then and even better the 2nd time.
Before you go you might in the back of your mind be expecting the odd implement, photos to look and and stacks to read, there is a bit of that but mostly you step into the lives of the highland folk, you experience how they lived and you are guided by various very knowledgable and interesting individuals who are keenly interested in there heritage and have the ability to draw you in.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank rumplestilskinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
181 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A stunning museum,set in beautiful landscape and amazingly free to get in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is a wonderful place to visit either as someone interested in history or families with children. The place is very well laid out and the facilities were modern and well kept. The schoolroom with resident teacher was an interesting experience and there was a very pleasant lady in costume in the 1700 village.if you are travelling anywhere in the area make sure to visit here!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank EnglandBookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A leap into the past”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The whole experience of the park is wonderful. It is a working museum, with people carrying out the ways of life from the past and vernacular buildings to explore. well worth a visit

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank alimac54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely awesome!!! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We discovered this amazing place on our holiday to Newtonmore in June.

Beautifully laid out village of little houses from all ages ranging from 1700 townships to modern day. Each dwelling has original or replica interiors so you can really get a feeling for what it would have been like in it's day.

I loved the fires in the township houses. They gave it a real atmospheric feel.

All volunteers were really friendly and happy to tell you more.

Could easily spend a day here.

On our visit we even saw a red squirrel and spotted a couple of wild cats! (From the trail not a real one )

Would go back!!

Admission is also free!!! And the booklet is only £4. I bought one to send to my mum as well because she loves this kind of place

Helpful?
Thank Nell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Highland Folk Museum also viewed

Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Kingussie, Badenoch and Strathspey
Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
 

Been to Highland Folk Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing