We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic property with everything anyone could...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

mhcd2014
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic property with everything anyone could wish for”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This property meets and exceeds all expectations. It has everything you could possibly want in a holiday home. We were a party of 2 grandparents, daughter, son in law and 3 month old baby, and son, partner and two little girls aged 6 and (nearly) 4 years old. At first we were a bit surprised at there being no tumble dryer when everything else was available but the drying room is excellent and there is absolutely no need for one. The little girls loved finding new toys to play with in their bedroom and would have enjoyed playing in the garden if there had been time to do so. When they weren't out of Newtonmore on other adventures, they were on the Wildcat Trail all round the village.

We would love to come back to stay in the house and would unhesitatingly recommend it as a perfect base in which to explore the Cairngorm area.

The owners live in close proximity and when we had a query were on hand straight away to deal with it. We had a lovely welcome package waiting for us and some basic groceries on hand. With small children it is not always possible (or affordable!) to eat out and it was lovely when cooking to find a whole range of herbs and spices to add to the dish without having to dash out and buy an ingredient where only a pinch was needed.

The location is perfect and there was plenty of parking space. Newtonmore is a great central starting point for all directions in this beautiful part of the Highlands.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely everything
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisB110...
Gamblesby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fantastic House”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

You often hear the phrase home from home but this truly is was a home from home. It was a very comfortable and spacious property with everything you need being there. A lovely welcome pack was waiting for us and scented soaps were in all the bathrooms. The only thing I could slightly fault were the settees, as I found them rather low to get up from, but that was a personal thing. An armchair would have been helpful. The property was immaculate and well maintained. It is the best rental holiday home that I have ever stayed in.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the house
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaexIan
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent base for families”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have just returned from a week in this house and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone. It gets the prize for the best welcome pack of any s/c house we have ever stayed in and the kitchen had every possible utensil you could ever need. The children are well catered for with a large range of books, dvd's and games including outdoor swing and slide. The owner is very friendly and normally on hand to deal with any problems an excellent base for exploring the area.

Date of stay: July 2014
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventerra...
Nuremberg, Germany
2 reviews
“A perfect holiday home!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This was our 4th trip to Scotland, but we never had an accommodation like that! Great surrounding, well equipped in every way, nothing to miss - simply perfect!

We were looking for a basis for all our planned trips to Cairngorm Highlands, Pitlochry, Loch Ness, Inverness and many other small places during our first week in Scotland - and Thistle Dhu was just perfect for that. Additionally we had a very warm welcome with complimentary first fillings in the fridge and nothing seemed to be a problem for Patsy and Gregor.

Thanks again for this wonderful house which we can warmly recommend to everybody who wants to explore this part of Scotland. We hope to come back and stay a bit longer next year. There is so much to see over here that there was not enough time to enjoy the house as much as we would have liked to.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora D
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Digs Ever!!”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a week's holiday in Thistle Dhu, Newtonmore in a party of three couples. We take a house regularly and in fact this is our second visit to Thistle Dhu. The house is so well appointed, the owners have thought of everything, especially in the kitchen where there is a great variety of small appliances and dishes. We all like cooking so this was important. Everything is so fresh, so clean and all of a very high standard. The scenery is wonderful with many walks in the surrounding countryside. There are many activities but do make sure you get tickets for the cinema bus!! We were five minutes too late!! A great holiday in a very comfortable house.

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and high standard of house
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cromarty
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Better than 5 Star!”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed at Thistle Dhu for a week in November with four friends. We have been renting properties together throughout the UK, Ireland and Europe since 1993, and we can honestly say that Thistle Dhu was one of the best houses we've ever had. It is just as perfect as previous reviewers have described. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated and the kitchen has everything. The house is in perfect location - minutes from the village but on a quiet road. We enjoyed the local walks - great signposting and footpaths and it was lovely to be able to start each walk from the doorstep. Would strongly recommend Thistle Dhu to any group.

Date of stay: November 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the warmth and comfort - and the well-equipped kitchen.
Liked least: Having to leave after only one week.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuEdD
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW!!! A perfect luxury stay”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Stayed for a week a the luxury Thistle Dhu cottage. Loved every minute of our stay. A beautiful cottage with fantastic standards and containing everything you need for a comfortable stay. A lovely welcome pack on arrival. The house offers everything you need, from walking long days it was such a treat to relax back with the open fire under floor heating then falling into very comfortable beds for a great night sleep. All I can say is "stay here!!!"

Date of stay: September 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.