We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Highland Getaway!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pipers Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

ck2395
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Highland Getaway!”
Reviewed 20 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Stayed at the lovely and secluded Piper’s Cottage for 4 nights with my boyfriend and we absolutely loved it! Really cosy and just the right size for us. Fully equipped kitchen meant we could make dinner every night and eat in front of the open fire in the living area (fold away table also provided which was a lovely bonus!). The Hot Tub was amazing to say the least and such a luxury to have! Decent location with only a 30 min drive to Aviemore where there’s lots to do and see. Only thing I would say is that it may be difficult for people with any mobility issues to go up and down the stairs to the bedroom as they are a bit steep, but there is a sofa bed downstairs as an alternative. Great facilities overall and would definitely recommend! Thank you for our stay!

Date of stay: November 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AandM0911
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage ”
Reviewed 22 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Had a fantastic 3 night break with my partner for my birthday, cottage is well equipped and decorated lovely, bed is slightly on the hard side for us but we’re fussy buggers. As stated in other reviews the stairs are rather steep but going down backwards made it so much easier. The beams in the shower are quite low, my partner who’s 6ft 2 had a bit of a sore head after jumping into the shower too quickly and banging his head on it, think the cottage would benefit from having the bath removed and just a shower cubicle in place of it as you can’t fill the bath from the water tank anyway. Hot tub was absolutely bliss after a day out exploring. Driveway could be doing with being filled in again as one side is really badly eroded but still managed to get in and out with our wee fiesta. Overall an amazing weekend.

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shona L
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed 23 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We Stayed for 2 nights in this fantastically peaceful cottage. We loved the garden and real fire place but most especially, the Hot Tub. The kitchen is well equipped and beds were comfortable. It was the perfect place for a little get away and just a short drive to Avimore. Can't wait to go back again.

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardrishaig, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jone5y123
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful, peaceful stay. ”
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed at Pipers Cottage as part of a honeymoon road-trip around the Highlands and safe to say it was fantastic!

The cottage is perfect for a couple. It is set in such a romantic setting and the view from the hot-tub is just stunning. It was locates near a busy road but we didn't seem to hear any noise and once down the driveway, the cottage is enclosed by hedges and trees- we felt miles away from the nearest road or people. The Sky TV is a lovely treat and especially as you are able to watch it from comfort of the very clean and we'll maintained hot-tub.

The cottage has everything you could need and I can imagine is invresibly cosy in the middle of winter. The cottage does have low ceilings and the stairs could be tricky if you have mobility issues.

Overall, we had a fantastic stay and will definitely keep it in mind for our next visit to the Highlands.

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit and that the local wildlife ruined your stay.

It is said that you are never more than 6ft away from a mouse which could very well be true in a 200 year old cottage in the depths of the Highland Countryside.

We are delighted to say that if there are any mice, they must have kept themselves to their side of the walls as there has never been any sign of them inside the property.

Of course the other scenario is that you were visited by a baby haggis…..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
marinusde...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house on a great spot”
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The house was big enough for the 4 of us, beautiful environment, very quite since there are no neighbours. So if you love to stay in a lovely house and a quite surrounding and do not matter that you have to travel for a shop, this is definitely a very nice house. We will book this house again for another holiday!

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.