We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic, spacious house with wonderful views...”
other travellers have booked this property
On an elevated position over looking the farm on the edge of the Cairngorms National Park
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
On an elevated position over looking the farm on the edge of the Cairngorms National Park
A House for all seasons, great for barbecues in the summer Double room  - bright and airy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
On an elevated position over looking the farm on the edge of the Cairngorms National Park
A House for all seasons, great for barbecues in the summer
Double room  - bright and airy
Master bedroom very spacious and comfortable
Large Kitchen and Dining room with Aga
Spacious sitting room with open fire
Master bedroom
Bathroom, with a long bath!
Fantastic flora to be seen in the area
Fantastic fauna - big and small - to be seen in the area
Potters cabin, for extra guests, great for teenage kids!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newtonmore, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
FamilyPeo...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic, spacious house with wonderful views and beautiful location.”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This house is designed so that there are beautiful views from all the windows. It is still very accessible being close to a main road, but far enough away to be quiet and peaceful.

The scenery is fantastic - beautiful valleys and hills. There is a warm welcome from the owners in the next door farmhouse, and they are happy to chat or make suggestions.

The house is very comfortable. The Aga makes it very warm and cosy inside. You have to cook on the aga, and there is no hob or oven, so it took a bit of time to work out how best to use it - the temperature doesn't vary in the same way as a hob or oven, and there was some guesswork and experimentation involved!

The kitchen is very spacious, with a dishwasher. Dining table has lovely views from it. Living room and bedrooms are attractive and comfortable.

There are lots of things to see within driving distance, but we did drive long distances. We recommend the Highland Wildlife Park (nearby), Urquhart Castle at Loch Ness (a long drive), the Highland Folk Museum, Fort George, Battle of Culloden site (excellent), Ben Nevis and visitor centre.

We had lots of little strolls up the hill behind the house for lovely views and peace and quiet. One day, we walked a long way up to reach a patch of snow, high up above the house. A big climb and some boggy, heathery ground near the top which made it hard work. Spectacular views from high up. My daughter made a little snowman. We saw nobody around and in the distance saw a herd of deer. Very memorable.

I would recommend this beautiful place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Beautiful views, spacious house.
Liked least: No oven or hob.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2016
I am so please to hear that you enjoyed your holiday, I hope once you got the hang of the aga you enjoyed cooking on it. It was lovely to have you all at Bail nan Cnoc and it would be great to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris c
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rural,rustic,peaceful.”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed four nights and enjoyed the peaceful scenery from the garden looking onto the mountains. No noise, no traffic, bliss.
House was very large and spacious and had everything we needed.
We would definitely stay here again !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very roomy
Liked least: Glen hotel didn't have a disabled toilet, no reflection on Lucy's place though.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yunnanwan...
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Allt Bronach, Gaskberg Farm”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Fabulous stay on Gaskberg farm in Allt Bronach cottage which like its companion Allt Na Creich is beautifully renovated with great views to the ranges and vSpey Vally to the south. Allt Bronach is warm, spacious, contemporary quality fittings , sleeps 4. Thanks Gaskberg farm for a great week!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie T
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spacious warm & sunny family house”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A lovely house with an open aspect that catches the sun. Great to have a large kitchen opening onto the living room - all the family can be connected while doing their own thing. Wifi & Sky for the teenagers. Beautifully quiet location with no traffic noise but easy access to the Cairngorms and also west towards Fort William. We are keen walkers & cyclists so it was good to have a large back utility room to dump any wet or muddy kit. A comfortable stay !

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ch12340
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed four nights with my best friends in Bail nan Cnoc. The cottage was very comfortable, clean, well equipped and quiet. The cottage offered good size of living room and common area in one hand and enough privacy for each one of us in other hand. The owner was very pleasant and helpful. This isn't our first time we decide to escape for short break in the Highlands and it was the best holiday for all of us and the cottage had massive contribution. Next time it will be defiantly Bail nan Cnoc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia D
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A comfortable, cosy house with fantastic views.”
Reviewed 26 February 2013 for a stay in November 2012
3
people found this review helpful

This was our second stay at Bail nan Cnoc and we will definitely be going back. The situation is ideal, wonderful walks in the hills and valleys, near enough to stations and shops. The AGA is a bonus and there is a good drying room for boots and coats. Spacious bedrooms and many windows make this south facing house light and warm. The owners couldn't be more helpful and welcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The situation of the property and the cosiness of the house.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakaeser
Thun, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Freunden
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing