We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crubenbeg House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crubenbeg House
Ranked #4 of 14 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We recently stayed with Irene and John and had a wonderful time. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We had our two cocker spaniels with us,who were as welcome as we were, and we all felt thoroughly spoiled. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts and the breakfasts were superb! John kept us entertained with his many puns (which all seemed home-groan - haha) and Irene is a cooking legend! Thanks to you both - we cannot recommend you highly enough. When we departed it felt like leaving home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DragonSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Greetings dear Dragonski and thanks very much for taking the time to pen such kind words on our behalf. Rest assured, we very much enjoy looking after the 4 of you and the dog-sitting was an absolute pleasure.

No apologies about the ouns, though - some of them were nearly (but not quite) as bad as yours!!

Diolch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
109
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed for two nights and the welcome we got from John and Irene was brilliant. They run a lovely b and b, the rooms and facilities are excellent. And the breakfasts are absolutely amazing, the best start for a day of exploring the Highlands. Will certainly be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gil293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Gil, Grazzi. (The only Maltese word that I know!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itasca, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Dear John and Irene: your kindness, your generosity, your enthusiasm . . . the lovely room (Stag), and the delicious breakfasts . . . and the excitement of being home to Scotland once more, made this the best adventure ever! Thank you! And thank you for the special touches: the loaner of the Wellies and thick, warm, tall socks on our drizzly day to Culloden, the brown Highland purse, the laundry-do, and hot cups of coffee here and there, much like being looked after with love! And the above and beyond, I must mention as well: I am honored that you received and tended for me my new Macpherson Hunting Tartan skirt and sash, sent through the post to you from Geoffrey Tailors of Edinburgh, well in advance of our Clan Macpherson Gathering!!! You had it hanging in my room, a welcome sight, ready for me to wear! I have already booked the room for next year's Gathering, staying 7 nights, two more than this trip! Someone asked me last night what I liked the most about Scotland: it's the people! It's your warmth and welcoming smile! It's the way you care about your guests before, during, and after our stay! So, thanks! With love, Dee McPherson

Room Tip: Choose the Stag Room....Four poster bed, ensuite bathroom, sitting area with love seat and small tab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeMcPherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dee, may we express our gratitude that you've taken the time to transcribe on to Trip Advisor the lovely words you wrote in the card you left us.

We are touched, thank you.

Until next year.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We cannot say enough goods things about Crubenbeg and John & Irene. Hospitality was outstanding and Irene's cooking was the best! Crubenbeg is in a beautiful setting with magnificent views. We truly enjoyed our stay and hope to make it back one day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bammls04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
You are too generous, kind sir. Thank you. Suffice to say that we hope you'll make it back here again too. Until that day, do keep well, won't you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Cumbria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

This was our 4th stay at Crubenbeg House and as always, everything was just perfect. The room, the peaceful environment, the wonderful food and of course, the friendliness and helpfulness of John and Irene (not forgetting their finishing touches which are so important and appreciated). Thanks again both!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JVSSouthCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
How every kind of you to put "pen to paper" - with such nice words too. Thank you so much. Until your 5th visit, kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Having stayed in a place before and marked it ten out of ten, you sometimes wonder if a repeat visit will be a disappointment. Not so with John and Irene - standards are still impeccably high and the food is excellent from the breakfast specials to the dinner.

One of the things I really appreciate is that Crubenbeg has four guest rooms - so not too big and not too small for our taste and what I particularly like is that all the guests sit round one table - thus the single gentleman who stayed was part of the general conversation over dinner, not apart from it.

If you are planning a visit to the area (Cairngorms) this place is a must - if not then you should - unless of course you dislike great mountain scenery.

Room Tip: Stag is worth the extra but the downstairs room has the better shower (unless of course you prefer a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyedaleRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Mr Ryedale,

Thanks for taking the time to pen another review for us, we do appreciate it, I assure you.

We do like to try to keep standards up to the level that our guests have come to expect, indeed, to improve them here and there too. It is reassuring to see that we seem to be doing just that.

No laurel resting for us - if you're not moving forwards you're going backwards, which is no good for anyone.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutterworth
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

This is a "must stay" B & B. The hosts John & Irene go out of their way to ensure every single aspect of your stay is 100%. The bedrooms are immaculate, beautifully furnished and very comfortable. The bathrooms are well equipped and spotless. The public rooms are superb. Irene's cooking is first rate. Dinner was excellent spent around the dining table in the company of the other guests. Breakfast was almost unbelievable - so much choice and such good quality. This is a true "country house" experience, just like home but infinitely better! What could be nicer than to get back to the B & B after a long day walking or cycling than to sit down round the kitchen table with a cup of tea and cake! This has to be one of the best, if not the best, B & B anywhere. Can not recommend Crubenbeg House highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedrolutterworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Pedro, it may have taken you over 13 years since I took my leave of Lutterworth to get yourself up here but I am delighted that you did and that you enjoyed your stay too. Well done on your Lands End to John o'Groats Bike Ride - a magnificent achievement, may I say.

Until next we meet, all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
4.9 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#2 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
18.0 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Highland Holiday Cottages
Highland Holiday Cottages
#1 of 6 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tigh an Each
Tigh an Each
#8 of 14 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
#3 of 14 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crubenbeg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crubenbeg House

Property: Crubenbeg House
Address: Crubenbeg House Falls of Truim, Newtonmore PH20 1BE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid stunning scenery, Crubenbeg House is a relaxing haven, ideally located for the many activities here in the Highlands of Scotland. Delightful, spacious bedrooms, a splendid lounge with crackling fire & fine wines, beers & malts all combine with a warm welcome to ensure that you enjoy your stay to the full. Lastly, our breakfasts. Home-baked bread, our own free-range eggs, kippers, local sausage, haggis & black pudding. Mmm! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crubenbeg House Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing