We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”
Review of Crubenbeg House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crubenbeg House
Ranked #4 of 13 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We were so happy with everything at this lovely B&B. John & Irene are fantastic hosts and we felt right at home. Waking up to Irene's oh-so-yummy breakfasts and stepping out to see deer and rabbits nearby were certainly memories of our unforgettable holiday. Thanks John & Irene for making our trip so memorable. Love to you both and Raja :)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunkyFeline28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
112
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonnybridge
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

My girlfriend and i have stayed here 4 times now with in the past year and a half - that alone should tell you how good we believe Crubenbeg is.

John and Irene are so friendly and welcoming you feel right at home. Most other guests seem to be returning for their second, third etc visit and have always been friendly and good company as well.

The rooms are great value, big and comfy and very clean. A good selection of wines and (local) beers available as well.

Location is more remote than if you were in aviemore/newtonmore, but that's part of the appeal, and it's only a short drive to some lovely restaurants (if you're unlucky enough to miss Irene's great cooking). Breakfast is more than just your traditional fry up too with the pancake stacks coming highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtyard_Hound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chard
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2010

we stayed here in June , found it a very comfortable with very friendly people. from the time we arrived we were made so welcome, also very helpful .

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kathb40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, Essex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

When I was researching my annual wildife and photography trip to northern Scotland and looking for overnight accommodation on the journey north, I came across the very informative and interesting Crubenbeg House website.

This certainly raises expectations for the first time visitor but having now stayed there, it definitely exceeded those expectations in terms of the welcome, hospitality and excellent food at both breakfast and dinner provided by John and Irene. The accommodation is very homely and comfortable and the whole atmosphere informal.

Crubenbeg House is located just off the main A9 road (very covenient) but far enough away to still suggest that you are staying in the middle of nowhere.

I can not recommend Crubenbeg House highly enough and I will definitely be staying there again when I travel to Scotland.

Many thanks John and Irene for an enjoyable stay and keep up the excellent job you are doing.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Usually I don't write reviews due to laziness :) but this time I need to write one beacuse of the awesome services we received. We wanted to make last moment booking for the bank holiday and found this place on net. Since this is somewhat in the center of scotland we went ahead and booked for two nights.

After starting from Macclesfield very early morning we had a long day and reached late by 10 PM. John welcomed us and showed us the room. He was kind enough to warm up food we were carrying even though it was late.

The room was very clean and had all the facilities that you will look for. Next morning we had delicious breakfast and had a very good choices considering our veg. preferences. The pancakes made by Irene were too good. The toasts made from homamde bread were equally amazing.

John helped us a lot in planning out our day and gave some really good suggesstions.

We had fantastic holiday and we thank John and Irene for all the services.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dara_buk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2010

We have stayed here before and decided it would be the right place to take our friends from the US so that they could experience Scottish hospitality at its best. Crubenbeg House is in an excellent location close enough to the A9 for convenience but far enough away that it is not an intrusion. John and Irene make excellent hosts and the rooms are very comfortable and well maintained. The cuisine (and I don't mean cooking) is first class. Many guests I am told go back to learn from Irene's weekend cullinary courses. The lounge area is available for you to use all day, and we love the concept that whenever posssible meals (breakfast and dinner) are taken together with other guests. Both John and Irene know the area well and are more than willing to help out in any way they can.

If you like dogs, Rajah is a treasure - great with people and other dogs if you want to take yours.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyedaleRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orkney, Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Irene and John made us welcome from the off and settled us in immediately.
Crubenbeg House is beautifully furnished with lovely artworks around the place (very envious). The rooms were very comfortable, my husband and I had the Pine Martin room which was wheelchair-friendly as was the ensuite shower room, all lovely, very well furnished and all the things you'd need. My Father-in-law was in the single room, Capercaillie, which was very comfortable also.
We had a two course evening meal each and drinks, all beautifully cooked and presented. All-in-all Crubenbeg House will be one to return to whenever we can and will certainly be recommended to everyone - thank you Irene and John for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liatnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
4.3 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
4.9 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
6.8 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Highland Holiday Cottages
Highland Holiday Cottages
#1 of 6 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tigh an Each
Tigh an Each
#9 of 13 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
4.1 mi away
Coig Na Shee
Coig Na Shee
#3 of 13 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crubenbeg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crubenbeg House

Property: Crubenbeg House
Address: Crubenbeg House Falls of Truim, Newtonmore PH20 1BE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid stunning scenery, Crubenbeg House is a relaxing haven, ideally located for the many activities here in the Highlands of Scotland. Delightful, spacious bedrooms, a splendid lounge with crackling fire & fine wines, beers & malts all combine with a warm welcome to ensure that you enjoy your stay to the full. Lastly, our breakfasts. Home-baked bread, our own free-range eggs, kippers, local sausage, haggis & black pudding. Mmm! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crubenbeg House Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing