We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in Highlands”
Review of Highlander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highlander Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
san antonio, tx
Level Contributor
93 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in Highlands”
Reviewed 6 June 2011

This was part of Insight's Country Roads of Scotland. It is a nice hotel. The included dinner was delicious. The breakfast was good but they did not offer rolls or croissants. The hotel offers free wireless in ternet in the lobby. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trinity-tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    270
    137
    47
    22
See reviews for
122
319
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

When we arrived, two coaches were just dropping off their passengers - our immediate thought was 'oh no!', however we were pleasantly surprised by the efficiency of the staff to check us in. We decided not to eat dinner in the restaurant, we didnt fancy the thought of sitting down at the same time as 150 coach trip people to see a piper etc whilst eating, therefore we drove down the road to the Glen Hotel for dinner - very good.

As previous reviewers have said, the rooms at the Highlander are large, and the bathrooms are also a good size, with plenty of towels and instant hot water. The furniture was rather tired, with some bits of trim missing, however adequate considering the cost of the room. Our 2 well behaved dogs were welcome to join us in the room at no extra cost, which was good.

Beds were very comfy, and the TV was OK, although the remote was a old and unclear. Our only real criticism, which is quite important, is that the floorboards in the room above were very squeaky. Therefore, when they got up to go to the loo in the night, the floorboards woke us up too. Similarly when they got up much earlier than we would have preferred!

The restaurant is in a separate building to the rooms, so beware if it is raining!

When we were there, they were just starting on a refurb of the reception area, which currently looks very 1970's with purple velour trim, don't know if refurb will spread to the rest of the hotel though, I doubt it, as that would probably price out the coach tour operators (90% of their guests).

Breakfast was very good, plenty but not a massive plate full, although no chance of a lie in, only served from 8 til 9..

In summary, it wouldn't be my first choice of hotel in Newtonmore, however cost and pet friendliness help to make it attractive for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us.

Our Highland Night is the highlight for many of our guests as they experience true highland hospitality and enjoy the traditions of Scotland. We have only ever received extremely positive comments about this.

I am sorry that you were disturbed by squeaky floorboards, however the building is of wooden construction and some movement is inevitable. Since your stay, the lounge and reception have been refurbished, the bedrooms have had new furniture, a phone system has also been put in and new TV’s are to be in place by the end of June.

I hope that you will be able to come and see for yourselves in due course the improvements that have been made to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Basic doesn't even come into it. Tiny cubby hole of a shower (but towels were good and changed regularly) and plenty of hot water. The room heating only comes on at 4.00pm. No wardrobe just hanging space with a few shelves. Bedroom furniture good old MFI hotch potch. No 'fridge or safe. But worst of all was the food! Tinned vegetables. Overcooked chicken. No fresh fruit. A way overpriced and decrepit bar area. However the waiting staff were pleasant and friendly and the location of the hotel made it a good area to use as a base. There was 'entertainment' on two evenings when most guests disappeared quickly. Would I stay again? No.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Opal043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2011
We are sorry that your stay with us did not meet your standards but we receive many positive comments from guests. For your information the hotel rooms, lounge and bar are to be refurbished in the forthcoming months. It is not common practice in hotels to have a fridge or safe in each room however should a guest require either of these facilities arrangements can be made at reception. We have never used tinned vegetables and fresh fruit is available if requested. As many of our guests are out during the day our heating is on a time switch but this can be overridden at any time and if it had been mentioned during your stay we would have been happy to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

Two night stay at this hotel and the experience, overall, was positive. As said elsewhere, the bedrooms are large, clean and comfortable, likewise the bathrooms but "large" persons will struggle in the shower cubicle. Somewhat cramped.
Our first evening meal was dire - the chicken was dried out and stringy and the vegetables were straight out of a tin and kept under hot lamps. Saving grace for that meal was that the pate starter was excellent and the portions of dessert from the "sweet trolley" were generous. Our second evening meal was much better - the vegetables actually looked and tasted fresh. Breakfasts both mornings good - porridge was very good.
The hotel staff were very helpful and the bar was okay - prices reasonable but watch out for the "Tennents Lager" - oh dear, not good. Flat and sour tasting. The large lounge actually quite comfortable - plenty of soft armchairs/sofas. One could easily fall asleep there.
Hotel well placed to visit the Highland Folk Museum - just a few minutes walk down the road to Kingussie and an excellent place to visit and, if you like watersports, Loch Insh within half an hour in the car.
I would recommend this hotel but just for a few days only - not the sort of place to spend your main holidays

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lochnagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

went for a long weekend with friends hotel was dated but clean comfortable with friendly helpful staff nothing was to much trouble the rooms were spacious clean and warm towels changed daily meals were all excelent well cooked and a good selection some thiing for everyone in the cairngorm national park so plenty of good walking in the area had a good relaxing break and would go again

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldertravelerfife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire scotland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

i liked the hotel.....the room was ample for what i required....somewhere to sleep....it was clean and when i put the heater on it wasnt long in heating up......the shower was a disaster though....very cramped and the shower head wouldnt stay up ( a pet hate of mine, i do stay in quite a few hotels, and i do like a good shower) so hotel manager check out your showers as i have read a few reviews here and the showers do come in for some critisisim.
the bar had the kind of drinks i enjoy ( lager , cider, guinness) i do have a pint with my dinner depend which one a fancy, but it was shade on the dear side but again i did enjoy it and the young lady who was serving was very pleasant and chatty and she was also on reception and the restaurant , but then again the hotel was not at its busiest.
over all......i think i would go back....and i would take my wife there if we found ourselves in the area
all the staff were very pleasant and friendly

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boaz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
766 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 803 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

The main hotel building houses the reception, dining room, residents lounge and a lounge bar. The accommodation blocks are separate from this and therefore it’s necessary to brave the open air for a short walk to go for meals and drinks.

There is a large car park on site.

The “musty” smell which greeted us at the reception was not an encouraging start however our group were checked in efficiently enough. As has been mentioned by other reviewers there is a general dated feel to the internal fixtures and fittings. For example the large, bright, residents lounge had a motley collection of settees and chairs which resembled a furniture showroom from the 1970’s - with no two suites the same.

Our bedroom was spacious and had twin beds pushed together to form a double. The bed was soft, had nice clean bedding and we managed to sleep ok - possibly assisted by a few drinks. There was an open storage area with plenty of hanging space and a chest of drawers and dressing table which were functional. The room had a small television (not a great picture), a hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities with biscuits. The room and the hotel in general was well heated.

The ensuite had a boxed in shower which was small enough to make arm movements difficult and attract the shower curtain to attach itself to you - not a good experience. Water pressure was poor and hot water was available - at times. The hot water from the washbasin in contrast was always near boiling point.

Although we were in a group of 26 or so the dining room was set for tables of 4 to 6 people so we were a bit more spread out than preferred. Breakfast consisted of the usual cereals (the porridge would have been warmer if it had been kept in a heated container) and a choice of a full cooked meal (egg, bacon, sausage, potato scone, haggis) or waffles with assorted toppings. We had the cooked meal both mornings and found it was good. The evening meal had three options per course on the menu and again was good - the fish I had was a Vietnamese species I’d never heard of before but it was nicely cooked and probably farmed closer to home! As mentioned by others there was a choice of dessert from the “sweet trolley” followed by tea & coffee.

The staff in the hotel were all pleasant in our experience - albeit they seemed bit pressurised at times.

The bar was basic and not particularly cheap. We ventured out on one of the evenings and found several others in the village which were more pleasant. The hotel is at one end of town and the high street is about a mile long so be prepared to walk.

All in all the hotel is functional, clean, the staff pleasant, the food good for the price - i.e. decent value - I'd recommend as a budget option but not somewhere to go for your honeymoon.

It’s not that far to get to the Cairngorms for skiing and there are walks in the area around the village - we followed a wild cat trail and branched off up to Loch Gynack and over to Kingussie, returning along the cycle path to Newtonmore. Overall it was a pleasant walk of approximately 7 or 8 miles and worth doing. Boots are required as there are some boggy areas and at one point we had to ford a stream.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rantin rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.7 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balavil Hotel
Balavil Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
18.5 mi away
Carrbridge Hotel
Carrbridge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Carrbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
2.2 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Hotel

Property: Highlander Hotel
Address: Kingussie Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For true Highland hospitality come to the Highlander, a hotel renowned for its good food and warm welcome. The hotel is an ideal base for touring the North of Scotland with mountain ranges, forests, lochs and river valleys waiting to be explored. Wind down in our inviting restaurant serving an array of dishes made from locally sourced produce. Perhaps a wee dram from the bar would suit; choose a whisky from one of the many local distilleries for which this area is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Highlander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing