We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back to the highlander Special deal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highlander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Highlander Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Back to the highlander Special deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Just back from another wee break at the Highlander, this now being our 7th in as many years, blessed with the weather, and as usual thanks to Cynthia and the staff for another great time.
Staying in the Annex building this time which appears to have been recently painted, with new washbasin/toilet, large room, excellent heating, not a power shower but plenty hot water and pressure. Hearty cooked breakfast to start the day, waiting staff as usual, very attentive, always asking if more toast/coffee needed.Anyone on a b/b deal can now order evening meals eaten in the bar area, which we did 1 night and although limited choice, was excellent. Room cleaned to high standard on return and good bath towels. We use the Highlander as a base to explore area and most of the time arrive back late, so don't tend to use excellent large residents lounge, or bar.
We booked this visit through a newspaper promotion directly with hotel owners at a special rate.

Anyone looking to do the same, this offer available to end of May.
Its a minimum 2 night stay for b/b which works out at £39 per night per room.
Go to Oxfordhotelsandinns.com
Find Highlander hotel on list
Choose dates and where it says Promo code, enter MAIL11
Click availability
If available off you go.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    258
    131
    42
    21
See reviews for
118
302
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

hotel was clean and staff were friendly, room was large and warm, meals were adequate nothing to write home about. bar and reception was not always staffed but did not have to wait long to get served a good location to use to tour from. no entertainment at nights. the room we were allocated was in another building from the main area so if it was had to go though the car park to get our meals

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithEsther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somewhere in cheshire
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Took the family for a half term skiing break with Ski norwest, hotel is a bit on the basic side but clean and warm, food excellent, good choice each breakfast and evening meal, everything was nice and hot and well cooked, staff very helpful and cheery, hotel itself is sadly looking a little dated in its decor but for what we required (a place to eat and sleep) fulfilled every requirement, sadly people in the adjacent room were unwell one night and it could be heard in our room otherwise we were left nice and quiet, beds were very comfortable, my Girls easily complain if they are not, not a murmur heard on that front.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed here on a budget on a snowboarding wknd on the Cairngorms.
Our weekend collided with a "Young Farmers Confernce"
Checking was easy, the staff more than accomodating and very helpful and apologetic for the young farmers!
Our 3 rooms wee basic but had tea and coffee, they were nice and large and had a good spacious bathroom. They did lack a bath which would have been nice after a day on the slopes but had a powerful shower.
We only had breakfast but htere was plently to help yourself to and then a fresh cooked full monty and porridge on top too.
Would stay here again as for the price it was great and the staff we so great!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sammielollipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Staff great, good food, very clean. Could do with a bit of updating but really good atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCGAyrshire_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We booked this weekend as a taster for our boys to see if they really did enjoy 'outdoor' skiing before we spent a fortune on a foreign holiday. We booked through Ski Norwest and was told that this was the best hotel to stay out of a choice of three as we would have a great lively new year with skiing.

How wrong they were! The itinery they e mailed us promised a disco new years eve and a comedian New Years day night so we thought as a youngish couple with teenage boys this would be an ideal hotel to stay in. The meal on the first night was just awful, very tough meat and my youngest son chose the pizza from the 'children's menu', which actually was the only choice and was pretty awful. New Years eve the meal was better but the 'disco' turned into an accordionist followed by a trio of instrumentalists, we escaped to the lounge and played cards, not exactly a great new years eve.

We decided to leave a day early because the skiing was cancelled due to high winds and would be for the next few days and spent the last day of our holiday at Tamworth Snow Dome! The one days skiing the boys had was throughly enjoyable and we can't knock Ski Norwest at all, very efficient service both at the hotel and on the mountain. However, why oh why do they link a skiing/new years weekend with a hotel that appears to be an old peoples home?? its also a 20 mile trip to the mountain each day.

All in all, Scotland - great, fantastic scenery and skiing when weather permits. The hotel spoiled our weekend due to lack of life!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leigh a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We have had a lot of positive feedback following the New Year break and indeed many of the guests have rebooked for 2012.
We did have an issue with the quality of a batch of rump steaks from our supplier but guests were offered an alternative. Throughout the break everyone had a choice of 4 main courses on the menu and all children had a further 2 options to chose from. If these were not suitable we would have done our best to provide a preferred dish for your child had you only asked. I am led to believe that the itinerary you had received was a proposed itinerary and a slight change was made to the final itinerary, however the format was very similar – our accordionist, who also uses synthesisers and sings, has a very wide repertoire and all those that stayed within the function room, rather than going to the torchlight procession in the village, had an excellent night. The comedian was here on the night of the 2nd Jan as he has been for the past 5 years and unfortunately as you chose to go home early you missed him. The hotel caters for a wide range of ages and we find it disappointing that you have made out that the “hotel appears to be a an old peoples home” – everyone is entitled to a holiday and you have really made an offensive remark about many of our guests who enjoy their stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

Spent 4 nights at this hotel wot a great time we had... This is a fantastic place to stay they were all very friendly and had time to stop and chat with us they were happy to answer any questions.. The food was great we will go back again as we plan to climb a mountain there so will be staying in hotel while we do that.. They are very pet friendly so had no probs with our puppys.. We were invited to a party nite on sat which was great and my partner Tom proposed to me during the evening..... Just a big thank you to all the staff for great hol and we hope to see you all again soon .......Rhona and Tom

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.7 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
18.5 mi away
Carrbridge Hotel
Carrbridge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Carrbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
2.6 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
2.2 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Hotel

Property: Highlander Hotel
Address: Kingussie Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For true Highland hospitality come to the Highlander, a hotel renowned for its good food and warm welcome. The hotel is an ideal base for touring the North of Scotland with mountain ranges, forests, lochs and river valleys waiting to be explored. Wind down in our inviting restaurant serving an array of dishes made from locally sourced produce. Perhaps a wee dram from the bar would suit; choose a whisky from one of the many local distilleries for which this area is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Highlander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing