We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Weekend”
Review of Highlander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highlander Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Weekend”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights DBB and the staff were first class - they couldn't do enough for us. James even got a bottle of port and Cointreau for us from the local shop as they had run out - first class. Food was good value for money - the only thing I could fault was we felt we were rushed through our evening meal as staff were too efficient in removing plates and bringing the next course. Overall the hotel is well run and great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgia120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your weekend break with us and appreciate you taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back in the coming months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    270
    137
    47
    22
See reviews for
122
319
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We found this hotel on Classic Breaks website and, at £28 per person per night for bed, breakfast and dinner, we decided to book for 4 nights. A great decision!

The purpose of the trip for my companion was skiing and my plans were shopping, sightseeing and relaxing.

Very convenient for Cairngorm where he had three excellent days skiing. Also driving distance to The Lecht and Nevis if desired. Ski Norwest are based at the hotel making hire of equipment and purchase of tickets so much easier.

The village has good links to public transport with train station about 1.5 miles away and bus stop a few minutes away at the Co-op. I was able to get to Inverness and Aviemore easily and would have tried Perth and Fort William if we'd have been there longer.

The room was warm, clean and comfortable with large soft towels and good bedlinen. Tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and toiletries were also provided. Room was serviced daily with towels, bedding and provisions replaced as needed. The heated towel rail was a welcome touch in the bathroom. Modern flat screen TV and alarm clock added to the facilities. Our room had a walk in shower which was roomy enough for anyone of average size.

A team of very friendly and efficient staff were on hand in the large and busy restaurant. We never had to wait long but equally never felt that we were being rushed. Dinner was included in the price and was 3 courses with 4 options for starter and main, including at least 1 vegetarian choice. We enjoyed the retro dessert trolley which provided a selection of temptingly fattening puddings. . Breakfast was also plentiful with cereal, porridge and fruit buffet and good quality hot choices made to order. Refills of tea, coffee, juice and toast were offered by the delightful staff. I cannot imagine anyone going hungry in The Highlander and most tastes were catered for.

The staff here are wonderfully friendly and welcoming. We are not very demanding but feel sure that they would have been happy to meet even the most obscure request with efficient courtesy. They seemed to be taking a hen party and other large groups of friends and family in their stride.

I would go back there any time and highly recommend the hotel to anyone, especially if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsgrimupnorth2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you for posting such positive comments about the hotel and staff here at the Highlander following your recent stay - it is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming your back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Have recently stayed at this hotel with some girlfriends. They bought me a weekend skiing as a special birthday present. The staff were great, really friendly and helpful, that includes the reception and the dining staff.
We had a room for 3 which was warm and comfortable, and had tea making, which is an essential for big tea drinkers.
There was a different evening menu each evening with 3-5 choices for each course, which I think is phenomenal for a smallish hotel.
The ski norwest staff Barbara and Graham, could not have been more helpful and accommodating. I had problems with my own boots after the first day and they happily kitted me out with a pair of theirs for my second day. They also communicated well when the slopes were closed on our second day, and sorted out an alternate.
I would definitely go back there again, and would recommend the place to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docsmith30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Snow conditions are still excellent on Cairngorm so we hope that we will see you again before the end of the ski season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

When we checked in we were asked to pay £80 but when booked through booking.com it was only £60 and the staff were unwilling to accept. My husband had to try and log in to his emails through his phone. When the staff were shown the email they finally agreed to change the cost. Also when we were checking in we asked about dinner and was told there was a menu in our room and were also told where the dinning room was. That night we went down to dinner and were seated in the rather dated dinning room and handed a set menu. When we inquired about it we were told it was a highland night and the other menu was not offered. We asked why we were not informed at check in the staff very abruptly said we don't know. The meal it's self was terrible. The fishcake was like on of the ones you used to get in primary school. The beef stew was even worse there was no flavour except in the carrots and swede. At the end of our meal(half of which was never touched) we tried to find a member of staff so as we could pay there was no staff available and the lady we did finally speak to advised she would add it to our room number and we just pay it in the morning. When we went to checkout the cost of the meal was £39.40 when again i asked about the issue of not being told about the meal we were met with you were told at check in. We paid our money and left asap. My husband and myself have been to Newtonmore on holiday and for long weekends on many occasions over the last 5 years. Needless to say this is the worse hotel I have ever stayed in and will never stay here again. If you are staying in Newtonmore stay at The Glen or the Balavil or even the Duke of Gordon in Kingussie avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christinersp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
I was disappointed to read your comments. There appears to have been some confusion over the menu – we offer 2 menus here – one is the bar meal menu which is in every room, the other is our table d’hôte menu which is displayed at reception and changes on a daily basis which has a choice of at least 4 items on each course. We do not offer a set menu as you suggest and we are unsure why you mention a Highland night as we have not had such a night since last September. Our table d’hôte dinner with coffee , which you chose to have, is £18.00 per person, hence your bill of £39.40 as you had a couple of soft drinks as well.
At no time did you say you were unhappy with your meal and you certainly did not question your bill on checkout – indeed you did not mention anything when you checked out - what you have written here is untrue.
We take every comment seriously but are disappointed that several of the points written here are not true.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Stayed for a 3 night ski break. The staff are great and very welcoming, they really look after you. If you are looking for somewhere to crash after a long days skiing the hotel is ideal. The food is traditional and will fill your belly. The Bathroom is very dated, maybe even an original 80's suite and could do with an update but the room was very clean and importantly warm. Graham and Barbara from Skinorwest are great, very helpful and can't do enough to make your trip go smoothly. You'll hopefully, like us, have a very memorable stay at The Highlander Hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a bath, ours just had a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lpeoples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Thank you for your review - it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

FYI - We do have a programme of improvements for our bathrooms in the pipeline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Just got back from 3 nights at the Highlander and only have good things to say about it. Great staff..thanks James, Eric and Neil..who provided great service. Food was lovely..and just what we needed after a day on the slopes. Room was warm and comfortable..had everything we needed.Graham and Wendy who run ski norwest were brilliant. gave loads of information..helped us with ski hire and booked extra ski school lessons and found us alternative skiing when avimore was closed due to bad weather. Will return here again was so happy with it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
We very much appreciate the kind sentiments posted following your stay with us. As you have experienced we can offer a one stop shop here at the Highlander for all your ski needs. With Ski Norwest based at the hotel they can kit you up and arrange passes so you dont have to spend as much time waiting at the ski resorts ensuring you make the best of your holiday time.
We hope to see you again before the end of the ski season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed with 11 friends before Christmas Monday to Friday on a coach trip and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We found the hotel warm and welcoming, the warm mulled wine and mince pies were much appreciated and the staff were superb. It was extremely cold and icy outside but a staff member stood in the cold with our keys so we could get in to our rooms quickly.

The only disappointment was the evening of the Christmas dinner when another big party were in the dining room too and the meal appeared to have been waiting to be served. That apart it was an excellent trip and we have already thought of going there again. I totally endorse "Jeff's" comments on the decorations, they were lovely. Overall it was the friendliness and efficiency of the whole staff that clinched this as a place to return. and the sweet trolley had to be seen to be believed!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sailingjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that your enjoyed your Turkey and Tinsel Break and hope it put you in the festive mood! We do hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.7 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balavil Hotel
Balavil Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
18.5 mi away
Carrbridge Hotel
Carrbridge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Carrbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
2.2 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Hotel

Property: Highlander Hotel
Address: Kingussie Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For true Highland hospitality come to the Highlander, a hotel renowned for its good food and warm welcome. The hotel is an ideal base for touring the North of Scotland with mountain ranges, forests, lochs and river valleys waiting to be explored. Wind down in our inviting restaurant serving an array of dishes made from locally sourced produce. Perhaps a wee dram from the bar would suit; choose a whisky from one of the many local distilleries for which this area is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highlander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing