We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Enough Place”
Review of Highlander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Highlander Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Enough Place”
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself looks lovely and the room was better than I expected. The walls were very thin though and I could here various noises from out in the hallways. The best itsf was a kingsize but was very firm with little give in it. The pillows were not that soft either.
The food was nice for breakfast but it was disappointing for the evening meal, the lamb I had was ok but my girlfriend's stew was poor as the meat used in It was very fatty. The staff were very though and were great to chat to, special mention to James who made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivalahazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    276
    143
    50
    22
See reviews for
124
326
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We got our booking only when one group canceled their stay. We were 8 friends and found this hotel a great value of money.
The location of the hotel is just amazing, Down side there is beautiful lake and private Golf club and up side the mountain.
Hotel has ample Parking area. Internet connectivity was bad in rooms inner side of the hotel.
The breakfast was pure Scottish, It was fresh and served well. I found Hotel staff very cordial and supportive.
Overall it was a good experience. I really loved the location of the Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sumit008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here in the Scottish Highlands. Unfortunately we do not offer wi-fi in the bedroom areas we but do offer free wi-fi in the hotel foyer and residents lounge. We do hope that you will be able to make a return trip to the Highlander at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

just back after a weekend in this hotel. from the outside lovely and this gets worse as you enter. my room on the ground floor was clean but very noisy. i didnt have a toilet seat for 2 days and the food was dry , rubbery and not that pleasant. the staff were nice though. would not be back

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
We were somewhat surprised by your review. We would expect a guest who is so disappointed with a hotel to come and make their feelings known at the time not leave it to writing on a review on Trip Advisor when we had no opportunity to rectify your complaint. We have high level of maintenance here and we do have a toilet seat issue logged on a Sunday night which was repaired on Monday morning. The hotel obviously meet with your expectations but assuming that you were with the coach group from the Falkirk area they were entirely satisfied with their weekend break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last week with my boyfriend. We booked through Late Rooms and got a great deal for bed and breakfast.

Yes the hotel is a little outdated, but it was clean, warm and comfortable.

Staff helpful and happy. Breakfast was basic but sets you up for the day quite well.

Location was fine for us as we were passing through on a road trip. Close to Aviemore and within easy driving reach from Inverness.

Recommended hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Titch85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Highlander in the coming months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I stayed here with a friend for a week so we could go snowboarding at Cairngorm mountain (less than half hour drive to the mountain). It's an old fashioned style hotel in a quiet town, however there is a Co-op 100 yards from it and easy access to the A9..
First of all the service was excellent. We arrived early to check in and caught the staff on their lunch break but we still got a very warm welcome and got our room key within minutes. The restaurant and bar service was spot on.
I wouldn't describe the food as outstanding but it certainly did the job, you got your standard breakfast options, a choice of 3 starters and mains in the evening, and a trolley of delicious puddings.
No complaints about the room. They had everything we needed and the maid service was excellent.
Towards the end of our holiday we had problems with our van, the hotel offered to help jump start it and even said they could put us up for another night if needed. This was on Easter weekend when they were practically full. I honestly couldn't have asked for better service. We will definitely be back here at some point. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Get drunk enough and you'll sleep fine in any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review and your kind sentiments about the staff and hotel in general. We hope that we will see you back at the Highlander in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed at hotel for a couple of nights - found the staff to be extremely helpful - but hotel is in need of a bit of a makeover - as are a few hotels in this current climate unfortunately - let's hope deals via 5pm etc can help to speed these up

Dinner on first night was also in need of a makeover ! Canned carrots and peas not what you expect

Great location pretty central for lots of activities

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank susan_cameron3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about our staff. We do have an ongoing programme of refurbishment but as you have said with the current economic climate we do have be prudent with our costs and some of our bigger projects have been delayed. We hope to welcome you back at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Walked into my room in the main building, could hear the man above using the toilet, coughing, walls VERY thin. Dinner okay, Breakfast stale and cold, (full scottish bfast was made up of one thing each and no beans and all very dry; toast rock solid and cold). Asked to change room and this wasn't allowed. Very basic and disappointing hotel.

Will.Not.Be.Back.

Room Tip: just dont ask for a room. and don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnK97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
We were most disappointed to read your review, particularly as our duty manager went over to your room and offered to move you but you chose to decline. Unfortunately you did not give us much of a chance to rectify the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.7 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
301 reviews
2.6 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
338 reviews
2.2 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
18.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
251 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Hotel

Property: Highlander Hotel
Address: Kingussie Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For true Highland hospitality come to the Highlander, a hotel renowned for its good food and warm welcome. The hotel is an ideal base for touring the North of Scotland with mountain ranges, forests, lochs and river valleys waiting to be explored. Wind down in our inviting restaurant serving an array of dishes made from locally sourced produce. Perhaps a wee dram from the bar would suit; choose a whisky from one of the many local distilleries for which this area is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Highlander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing