We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Twixmas Break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highlander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Highlander Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Twixmas Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

There were a lot of Skiers staying during this time between Christmas & New Year, thus filling the hotel with people of all ages. The Christmas decorations were delightful, affording a great Festive atmosphere. There was entertainment on two of the three nights of the Twixmas Break - excellent if you enjoy Scottish & modern music & dancing. The Staff are extremely friendly & helpful, making your stay a wonderful experience, evident by the fact that many guests return to the hotel time and time again, especially at this time of the year.

Room Tip: Make sure you make clear your requirements when booking to avoid possible disappointment on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review following your stay with us at Twixmas. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you again in the coming months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    258
    131
    42
    21
See reviews for
118
302
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Rooms were clean and very standard, the area isnt great for a family christmas. A small handful of staff were friendly and accommodating but other seemed to have a bit of an attitude and the language barrier may have been abit of an issue, Food was poor.

Overall it felt like an old people home and that we shouldnt have been there at all.
great for older couples not for families.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 213338x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Sorry that we did not meet with your expectations. We were very busy over the festive period and the majority of guests were more than happy. It is a shame that you mentioned we had a lot of older guests - at the end of the day everyone is entitled to a holiday and we welcome young and old alike here at the Highlander.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlisle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here for a post Xmas skiing break.

As others have said, pot holed car park, dated decor, flimsy chipboard furniture.

Booked through ski norwest on a ski hire and hotel package with meals

Arrived at hotel at 8pm after driving up without a break, having being told last orders for dinner were at 830pm.

A limited menu, ordered our food at 815pm. Slightly surprised when ordering drinks I had to walk to the bar and fetch them myself.

Were brought our starters at 820pm. Small portions but Ok.

finished eating our starters at 830pm. Plates immediately removed and mains brought out 2 minutes later.

Finished main courses, small portions again, at 845. Plates removed immediately and dessert trolley brought round immediately.

Presumably this is good practice when the usual clientele are coach parties full of trainee corpses who might expire at any moment but we would have lasted through to the end of a more leisurely meal service....

We finished our 3 course meal before our first drink.

Then retired to the stifling hot lounge which was the only place we could access the unstable internet.

Bed was soft and small, certainly not up to usual hotel size, shower was tiny.

Breakfast was similar small portions, one small sausage, one egg, one rasher of bacon, a potato cake, no beans, no hash browns,

Second day similar but with the addition of the worlds most miserable accordionist as the evenings entertainment.

As said, a cheap motel, small portions of food served at breakneck speed, dated decor, but friendly staff, and the convenience of having the superb ski norwest team of Graham and Barbara on site partly makes up for it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Great location. A friendly place. 3 night break got back this evening.

We went as two couples

Very polite and on the ball staff, especially the waiters and waitresses.
I was concerned after reading some of the reviews on here before leaving home.

But the rooms were fine the food was ok. my only concern with the food was the desert trolley, it wasn't my cup of tea and i do love a pudding.

Good laugh dancing on the last night with the cabaret man.

There were a lot of old people there, but also a good mix of couples and families.
We thought it was a wonderful atmosphere in the hotel.

The hotel is a little dated but it was clean and tidy. Fab xmas decs.

Bar staff, were very comical and light hearted, (they really should put the Tennent's in a Tennent's glass) haha.

The boots from the Ski Norwest were not the comfiest, but Barbara and Graham did a great job sorting the skiing venue out. Making sure we ski'd everyday.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guytudgay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Very impressed with friendliness and efficiency of the staff at the highlander hotel. We stayed for 3 nights the food was great and waiting staff very accommodating with our young child, would definitely recommend. Only 1 downside was you could hear noise from above but after reporting problem to reception it was dealt with, rooms were very clean and tidy will go back if we ski at cairngorm again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SB201328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perthshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Second time we have stayed here. Excellent value for money. My wife thinks their Christmas decorations are first class! Thanks to the helpful, cheery staff who made it a comfortable stay and cooked us a good dinner.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merlin284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

we went to spend four days in the highlands with jones coaches ,it was a supposed to be a turkey and tinsel but the only reason we knew it was turkey and tinsel was the cracker on the table the decorations and the mince pie and mulled wine which we received when we arrived. the hotel is very disabled friendly, but you have to go outside to some of the rooms . the sceneries of the cairngorms are absolutely beautiful , the room which we stayed in was really nice ,it was en-suite it had a bath and a shower and it was nice and warm until we went for our food and then we took the trip to the dining room were we thought the food was average .would we stay again I don't think we would only because the hotel is not one complex and we had to wrap up warm in coats to go to dining room.

Room Tip: if disabled ask for a ground floor room when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.7 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
18.5 mi away
Carrbridge Hotel
Carrbridge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Carrbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
2.6 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
2.2 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Hotel

Property: Highlander Hotel
Address: Kingussie Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For true Highland hospitality come to the Highlander, a hotel renowned for its good food and warm welcome. The hotel is an ideal base for touring the North of Scotland with mountain ranges, forests, lochs and river valleys waiting to be explored. Wind down in our inviting restaurant serving an array of dishes made from locally sourced produce. Perhaps a wee dram from the bar would suit; choose a whisky from one of the many local distilleries for which this area is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Highlander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing