We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Highlander Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Balavil Hotel(Newtonmore)
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Columba House Hotel(Kingussie)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairngorm Hotel(Aviemore)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Glen Hotel(Newtonmore)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (712)
Filter reviews
712 results
Traveller rating
191
292
154
52
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
292
154
52
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssweet trolleyski norwestdessert trolleycoach partiesnewmarket holidaysdining roomcoach tourevening mealitison dealchristmas decorationsno liftwaiting staffmeal timesdinner bed and breakfastfamily roomfriendly hotelwould highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
442 - 447 of 712 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We went here for a New Years break and a friends birthday. We booked literally as soon as we were able as it was a ski-ing break and had been planning for over 12 months. Despite booking ASAP it's pointless asking for a double room as none of us got one (3x lots of couples). Twin rooms all the way. We didn't complain as we didn't want to start the holiday on the wrong note but I'm not sure if the place has double rooms and if it does I'm not sure how you get one. They may be reserved for the older guests - which is MOST. They are also quite dated. One good thing about the rooms is they were very warm and they were clean.

Sadly, this felt like a home for the elderly which I wish we'd known prior to booking as we may have looked elsewhere. Luckily we were in our own company and a room to the side of the bar was avaialble where we could shut ourselves away with out own music and actually have a really great night. We even acquired some other residents children as our party clearly looked more fun.

Food - not great. Breakfast said Full Scottish every day on the details in our rooms, and when a hotel knows how many guests they have each day you'd think they'd have baked beans available on more than just the first day! Also mushrooms seemed to be in short supply. If you queried where they were as not warned up front when ordering your Full breakfast you just got told "this is full scottish breakfast" - even though it's clearly not what we had had the previous day.
The evening meals whilst being 5 or 6 courses were school canteen standard meet and veg in the main. We opted to eat out at a local Taverna on the last night which was lovely but a shame when we'd pre paid for meals that we chose not to have it.

Staff - 50/50. Some were excellent and quite fun, others had a bit of a language barrier and came accross abrupt.

Bar closed by 10.30 on one evening.....what?

Overall - wouldn't stay here again but would visit the area ski-ing again and look for alternate accomodation

Room Tip: No wifi unless in reception
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for your comments. I would like to point out that many hotels use zip and link beds enabling us to convert twins to doubles which is what you had. Over the Festive period we vary our breakfast options on a daily basis these included smoked salmon and scrambled eggs,kippers as well as a New Years day brunch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

There were a lot of Skiers staying during this time between Christmas & New Year, thus filling the hotel with people of all ages. The Christmas decorations were delightful, affording a great Festive atmosphere. There was entertainment on two of the three nights of the Twixmas Break - excellent if you enjoy Scottish & modern music & dancing. The Staff are extremely friendly & helpful, making your stay a wonderful experience, evident by the fact that many guests return to the hotel time and time again, especially at this time of the year.

Room Tip: Make sure you make clear your requirements when booking to avoid possible disappointment on arrival.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review following your stay with us at Twixmas. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you again in the coming months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Rooms were clean and very standard, the area isnt great for a family christmas. A small handful of staff were friendly and accommodating but other seemed to have a bit of an attitude and the language barrier may have been abit of an issue, Food was poor.

Overall it felt like an old people home and that we shouldnt have been there at all.
great for older couples not for families.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 213338x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Sorry that we did not meet with your expectations. We were very busy over the festive period and the majority of guests were more than happy. It is a shame that you mentioned we had a lot of older guests - at the end of the day everyone is entitled to a holiday and we welcome young and old alike here at the Highlander.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here for a post Xmas skiing break.

As others have said, pot holed car park, dated decor, flimsy chipboard furniture.

Booked through ski norwest on a ski hire and hotel package with meals

Arrived at hotel at 8pm after driving up without a break, having being told last orders for dinner were at 830pm.

A limited menu, ordered our food at 815pm. Slightly surprised when ordering drinks I had to walk to the bar and fetch them myself.

Were brought our starters at 820pm. Small portions but Ok.

finished eating our starters at 830pm. Plates immediately removed and mains brought out 2 minutes later.

Finished main courses, small portions again, at 845. Plates removed immediately and dessert trolley brought round immediately.

Presumably this is good practice when the usual clientele are coach parties full of trainee corpses who might expire at any moment but we would have lasted through to the end of a more leisurely meal service....

We finished our 3 course meal before our first drink.

Then retired to the stifling hot lounge which was the only place we could access the unstable internet.

Bed was soft and small, certainly not up to usual hotel size, shower was tiny.

Breakfast was similar small portions, one small sausage, one egg, one rasher of bacon, a potato cake, no beans, no hash browns,

Second day similar but with the addition of the worlds most miserable accordionist as the evenings entertainment.

As said, a cheap motel, small portions of food served at breakneck speed, dated decor, but friendly staff, and the convenience of having the superb ski norwest team of Graham and Barbara on site partly makes up for it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Great location. A friendly place. 3 night break got back this evening.

We went as two couples

Very polite and on the ball staff, especially the waiters and waitresses.
I was concerned after reading some of the reviews on here before leaving home.

But the rooms were fine the food was ok. my only concern with the food was the desert trolley, it wasn't my cup of tea and i do love a pudding.

Good laugh dancing on the last night with the cabaret man.

There were a lot of old people there, but also a good mix of couples and families.
We thought it was a wonderful atmosphere in the hotel.

The hotel is a little dated but it was clean and tidy. Fab xmas decs.

Bar staff, were very comical and light hearted, (they really should put the Tennent's in a Tennent's glass) haha.

The boots from the Ski Norwest were not the comfiest, but Barbara and Graham did a great job sorting the skiing venue out. Making sure we ski'd everyday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guytudgay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews