We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Highlander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highlander Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Myself and three friends stayed here for weekend of skiing. Hotel decor is a little dated, but I think this adds to the charm of the place. Rooms are spacious and clean with comfortable beds. Food is good hearty food just what you want after a day of skiing. Staff are very pleasant and helpfull. This hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quinnnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments we hope that you will make a return trip to the Highlander very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    265
    135
    44
    22
See reviews for
121
312
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Booked through ski norwest and was advised that the highlander would b a slightly cheaper option so decided to go with it. What a gr8 hotel amazing staff the manager at reception couldn't do enough for you along with all the staff in the hotel. Breakfast/ evening meal where number 1 and a brill desert trolley. Rooms where comfortable clean and warm, although the walls a little thin but not to the point of irritation. Overall a cool hotel and I recon they should keep the retro look, it only added more character to the place . :-)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gijoel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the hotel surpassed your expectations.I hope that we will get the chance to welcome you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blantyre, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Having spent a night at the highlander hotel with my wife and dog I can honestly say that we had a very good stay at the hotel. The staff were very helpful the food served was good and served very quickly one small piece of critism about the food the chicken was slightly over cooked but enjoyable just the same,the breakfast I could not fault what so ever.the rooms were spacious and the linen was very clean and pristine. If I had to fault the hotel and really I am nit picking the car park could be doing with resurfacing there is a few pot holes, would my wife and I go back to the hotel the answer is YES, we have stayed in a few hotels all over the world and been in a few rough joints however the the highlander can keep its head up high,it is a very well used hotel and deserves high marks I will rate it 9 out of 10

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very aware of the pot holes in the car park and although we make every effort to fill them the elements and larger vehicles do take their toll on it. Given the area it will be a very expensive project to undertake and at this time the focus is very on upgrading the en-suite bathrooms. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldwide
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed at the hotel as I didn't organise passports in time, so we were unable to go to The Alps which is where we usually go for February half term. I must admit the hotel was okay, a pleasant surprise despite being very dated. Location wise it is in the middle of nowhere but visiting the Coop was fun. There is also a bus which runs into Edinburgh.

My one issue is that they work with that awfully rude lady Barbra from Skinorthwest. Very abrupt, doesn't speak politely and became extremely nasty to my son when stated his ski boots were too tight. I actually had to advise her to change her tone, shocking. We decided not to book with Barbra after trailing the internet discovered 'Active Outdoors Pursuits' who were very friendly, helpful and even picked the kids up with a coach which gave my husband and I the opportunity to rest one morning and saved us a drive to the mountain. So convenient as it can be quite a challenge to park. I would recommend the hotel if you are looking for basic comfort, but I would definitely suggest avoiding Barbra.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loves_travelling95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for posting a positive review on trip advisor; I am delighted the hotel exceeded your expectations and do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Booked through ski Norwest and found it a great value deal. Staff very helpful and friendly, a warm welcome, excellent service. Rooms fairly basic,a bit dated but warm, comfortable with plenty hot water.
Breakfast and evening meals were hearty and good choice of freshly cooked food.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hc1Argyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for all your positive comments about the hotel and staff. We hope to see you again before the end of the skiing season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed here while climbing in the area, booked due to the locale and great room rate.
Quite a large hotel, in the same style as a travelodge/premier inn. The staff were the standout and couldn't do enough to help.
The style of the hotel seemed quite dated but did not detract from our stay. Facilities were great and the place was spotless. The carpets did put me in mind of the Overlook Hotel however!
The room was nice and clean; TV, tea/coffee, large bathroom etc all in good order. Very quiet hotel although appeared to be really busy with skiers, didn't hear a noise all night.
Breakfast (included in room rate!) was excellent and just what was needed before a day in the hills.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RC1837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting such a positive review following your stay with us. We hope that you will make the Highlander a regular base for many more climbing expeditions to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Myself, wife and 2 kids (aged 11 & 14) stayed at the highlander for a 4 night / 3 day ski break ( booked through ski Norwest).
Upon arriving we were warmly welcomed and offered tea and coffee.
Our room did seem a bit dated and my wife did have a fight with the shower curtain on occasions , some rooms have shower screens ( we was late to book so maybe not one of their best rooms, upon speaking with other guests it seems like the hotel is gradually being updated), but everything worked and was clean.
Beds were comfortable and a good nights sleep was had, adequate/ adjustable heating in every room, tv reception was poor.
Breakfast was served between 7 & 9, and consisted of options: cereals, fruit, porridge ( which my wife adored) and a hearty Scottish breakfast ( English breakfast with added haggis or black pudding).
Dinner served between 6.30 & 8.30, starter, main (good freshly cooked food I.e steak pie, mushroom stroganoff and fish dishes), dessert and coffee ( keep an eye out for the desert trolley it's loaded with indulgence).
The staff were excellent, warm, welcoming and couldn't do more for you, service was great.
If your considering a cheap break and don't require a five star hotel this could be an option.
Location wise 15 minutes drive from aviemore, 1 hour drive from Loch Ness.
Overall we had a great 3 day ski break ( mid February ).
Thanks to all the staff at the highlander.
P.s. This hotel is also used as a base for ski Norwest.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been updated I.e. Shower screen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
We were delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at the Highlander. We are in process of upgrading all our en-suite bathrooms and hope that if you make a return visit you will be able to see the modernisation and improvements being made. Thank you for all your positive comments and hope the sweet trolley did not impact on your waistlines too much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.7 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balavil Hotel
Balavil Hotel
#2 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
18.5 mi away
Carrbridge Hotel
Carrbridge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Carrbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
2.2 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Hotel

Property: Highlander Hotel
Address: Kingussie Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For true Highland hospitality come to the Highlander, a hotel renowned for its good food and warm welcome. The hotel is an ideal base for touring the North of Scotland with mountain ranges, forests, lochs and river valleys waiting to be explored. Wind down in our inviting restaurant serving an array of dishes made from locally sourced produce. Perhaps a wee dram from the bar would suit; choose a whisky from one of the many local distilleries for which this area is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highlander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing