We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Highlander Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Balavil Hotel(Newtonmore)
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Columba House Hotel(Kingussie)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Glen Hotel(Newtonmore)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Star Hotel(Kingussie)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (712)
Filter reviews
712 results
Traveller rating
191
292
154
52
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
292
154
52
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssweet trolleyski norwestdessert trolleycoach partiesnewmarket holidaysdining roomcoach tourevening mealitison dealchristmas decorationsno liftwaiting staffmeal timesdinner bed and breakfastfamily roomfriendly hotelwould highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
404 - 409 of 712 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Spent 2 nights at the Highlander Hotel recently and can only endorse the comments made from others which are positive and meritted. The rooms are spacious and clean and the food is good too. Staff are industrious and friendly. I was able to negotiate a good deal which undoubtedly made the trip north worthwhile. Only thing I found lacking was access to a t.v. in the bar areas to watch the football and it's maybe worthwhile the hotel having this option available. If not there are other licensed premises nearby which offer this facility. The hotel does supply entertainment occasionally which is invariably traditional. Apart from the nearby Highland Folk Museum and walks there isn't much on in Newtonmore but it's a great place for a base to visit not only Aviemore and Inverness, but also Spean Bridge, Fort William and Loch Ness. The Hotel is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PD7323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Many thanks for postng your positive review and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed stay. Staff helpful and pleasant. Decor needs updated. Bar meal lovely as was full Scottish breakfast. Apart from highland folk museum which is worth a visit and the wildcat trail there isn't much else in Newtonmore. However Aviemore is about 15 mins by car and there is lots to do within a 30 min car journey.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Many thanks for your review. We hope to see you back at the Highlander very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights at the Highlander Hotel. Decent sized rooms, comfortable bed, good meals and very friendly, helpful staff. The hotel is a bit dated and the room above had very squeaky floorboards but these are very minor things. I would definitely recommend and would stay again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GlasgowGirl36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Many thanks for posting a review following your recent stay with - we were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as had been on a break at Inverness and fancied stopping somewhere on the way down! Booked with the hotel directly for the spring deal offering dbb for £69 which seemed like a good deal .... on arrival hotel seemed quite tired and car park in need of resurfacing (which seems to have been a problem for a while) main reception pretty much the same ..... tired and seen better days however the staff were friendly then ventured to our room which was pretty small with a double and single bed in and could do with freshening up ... tired out or date and dusty .... bed uncomfortable ....Shower very small and very dated bathroom suite which is by its best! We ended up skipping dinner as after looking at the very limited menu didn't fancy it! Breakfast served pretty early so missed this too so all in all not the value we had hoped for not that we were expecting 5* for the price! After ending up paying £69 for room only which would be the same if not a bit more than many other hotels we've stayed in which had experienced more tlc feeling quite disappointed! Hotel website paints the hotel in a different light (aware hotels arent exactly going to focus on the bad points) think they may have refurbished 1 room for the photos .... the difference between sugar coating and lying really! Really don't like having to leave negative reviews as at the end of the day people make a living from these businesses but a little tlc and freshening up cqn go a long way

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank shinystar5552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

We were disappointed to read your review. The offer includes dinner from our standard table d'hote menu, however if you had mentioned that you weren't keen on the choices you could have used your meal allocation to choose from our lounge menu. We have started a refurbishment programme in our bathrooms but as you can appreciate with 85 rooms the work can not be done overnight. The car park is also due to get gravel down in the coming weeks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Main areas very outdated. However large and clean, room was quiet despite being on the main road. Shower extremely small. Beds are new and some furniture. Cupboard area in hall spacious. Food was just edible in my opinion but it was more or less free for 2 nights for 99. This should be the standard price for this hotel though, had I paid 90 I would have been very disappointed. Wifi in the whole hotel would be a great investment. Please tell staff to stop approaching people when they're forks just been put down asking if they're finished. (I've saw quite a few recent reviews commenting on this) I didn't get to finish my bland soup as a result. And what is with the desert trolley? it's 2014!! Staff could have been a little more talkative. Only the man on reception and bar seemed to offer any conversion. I say these's things constructively as this hotel does have something to offer and we did have a relaxing time. It's made us laugh rather than moan, I've definitely stayed it worse places. Some reviews I feel we're quite harsh.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Missgvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the fact that you have made positive comments as well as mentioned areas that you were disappointed with. The sweet trolley is actually something we did a way with a number of years ago but due to guest demand we had to reinstate it as it is the highlight for may of our guests. Hopefully you will make a return vist to us at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews