We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic with friendly staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Highlander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highlander Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
glasgow
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Basic with friendly staff”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We recently stayed here with my grandchildren for a few days but definitely not a hotel for children. The 2 rooms were ok with recently refurbished bathrooms. Yes they were nicely decorated but we timed it that it took 10 mins for the showers to heat up. Far too long with small children waiting around with nothing to do. TV was very limited and lucky to find 2/3 channels with a decent picture/sound. NO SOUND ON CBBC. I agree with other reviewers who stayed on the ground floor. We were awakened every morning from the sounds coming from the rooms above. They even started before children woke up!!!! Food was Ok but not great, very basic. Staff in dining room were friendly and attentive although baby high chair had not been washed since our dinner the night before and it took 3 times of asking before it was cleaned. Overall it was an OK stay.

Room Tip: Probably better to stay on the first floor then you wont be disturbed with noises from upstairs neig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grannywGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
We are sorry that the hotel did not meet with your expectations. We have ample hot water for everybody and it is unfortunate you were at the end of a line where it took a little longer to reach. As you will see from a previous response the problem with some of our TV channels has been rectified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    263
    135
    44
    22
See reviews for
121
310
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Recently stayed here with my family (Mother, Father, Brother and Grandfather) as part of a package coach and railway holiday around the Scottish Highlands. The hotel is in a great situation with easy access to the the nearby Cairngorm Mountain Ranges, Inverness, Loch Ness and other areas of interest. The rooms are very basic and need some redecorating, cracks, a bit grubby in places etc. The bathroom was a good example of this. The shower did not look much but with a bit of fiddling turned out to be warm and quite good. Television was poor with the picture and sound not working at times. By speaking to other families in the hotel however, we were lucky to have one! The noise from other rooms was unbearable. We stayed on the ground floor and every time someone climbed out of their bed upstairs, it sounded like they were about to fall through the ceiling! In terms of entertainment or facilities, there are none. The bar was well stocked with a selection of good Scotch whiskies and some draft beers, but there was nothing to keep people occupied, no pool table, darts, games or anything like that. This would make the hotel very unsuitable for children. Breakfast and dinner was served strictly at 0730, and at 1930. The food however, was very enjoyable and filling. Wi-fi was only available in the hotel lobby area, which was a large room with couches and seating areas. In this room however, there was no background music, televisions or any other facilities. The staff were friendly and courteous however, no complaints with them whatsoever.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LenHarris101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for posting your comments. We are pleased to advise that we had a problem with one of our transmission boxes for our TV system which has now been repaired. The groups actually book their meal times with the hotel to ensure that the busy itineray they have can be met and to make the most of your time in Scotland. We do have entertainment on selected nights and board games, card and dominos are available from reception. We have many families who stay with us and most of them like to make the most of their time exploring the area and all it has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Spent 2 nights at the Highlander Hotel recently and can only endorse the comments made from others which are positive and meritted. The rooms are spacious and clean and the food is good too. Staff are industrious and friendly. I was able to negotiate a good deal which undoubtedly made the trip north worthwhile. Only thing I found lacking was access to a t.v. in the bar areas to watch the football and it's maybe worthwhile the hotel having this option available. If not there are other licensed premises nearby which offer this facility. The hotel does supply entertainment occasionally which is invariably traditional. Apart from the nearby Highland Folk Museum and walks there isn't much on in Newtonmore but it's a great place for a base to visit not only Aviemore and Inverness, but also Spean Bridge, Fort William and Loch Ness. The Hotel is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PD7323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Many thanks for postng your positive review and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed stay. Staff helpful and pleasant. Decor needs updated. Bar meal lovely as was full Scottish breakfast. Apart from highland folk museum which is worth a visit and the wildcat trail there isn't much else in Newtonmore. However Aviemore is about 15 mins by car and there is lots to do within a 30 min car journey.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Many thanks for your review. We hope to see you back at the Highlander very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights at the Highlander Hotel. Decent sized rooms, comfortable bed, good meals and very friendly, helpful staff. The hotel is a bit dated and the room above had very squeaky floorboards but these are very minor things. I would definitely recommend and would stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowGirl36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Many thanks for posting a review following your recent stay with - we were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as had been on a break at Inverness and fancied stopping somewhere on the way down! Booked with the hotel directly for the spring deal offering dbb for £69 which seemed like a good deal .... on arrival hotel seemed quite tired and car park in need of resurfacing (which seems to have been a problem for a while) main reception pretty much the same ..... tired and seen better days however the staff were friendly then ventured to our room which was pretty small with a double and single bed in and could do with freshening up ... tired out or date and dusty .... bed uncomfortable ....Shower very small and very dated bathroom suite which is by its best! We ended up skipping dinner as after looking at the very limited menu didn't fancy it! Breakfast served pretty early so missed this too so all in all not the value we had hoped for not that we were expecting 5* for the price! After ending up paying £69 for room only which would be the same if not a bit more than many other hotels we've stayed in which had experienced more tlc feeling quite disappointed! Hotel website paints the hotel in a different light (aware hotels arent exactly going to focus on the bad points) think they may have refurbished 1 room for the photos .... the difference between sugar coating and lying really! Really don't like having to leave negative reviews as at the end of the day people make a living from these businesses but a little tlc and freshening up cqn go a long way

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank shinystar5552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
We were disappointed to read your review. The offer includes dinner from our standard table d'hote menu, however if you had mentioned that you weren't keen on the choices you could have used your meal allocation to choose from our lounge menu. We have started a refurbishment programme in our bathrooms but as you can appreciate with 85 rooms the work can not be done overnight. The car park is also due to get gravel down in the coming weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Main areas very outdated. However large and clean, room was quiet despite being on the main road. Shower extremely small. Beds are new and some furniture. Cupboard area in hall spacious. Food was just edible in my opinion but it was more or less free for 2 nights for 99. This should be the standard price for this hotel though, had I paid 90 I would have been very disappointed. Wifi in the whole hotel would be a great investment. Please tell staff to stop approaching people when they're forks just been put down asking if they're finished. (I've saw quite a few recent reviews commenting on this) I didn't get to finish my bland soup as a result. And what is with the desert trolley? it's 2014!! Staff could have been a little more talkative. Only the man on reception and bar seemed to offer any conversion. I say these's things constructively as this hotel does have something to offer and we did have a relaxing time. It's made us laugh rather than moan, I've definitely stayed it worse places. Some reviews I feel we're quite harsh.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Missgvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your review, we appreciate the fact that you have made positive comments as well as mentioned areas that you were disappointed with. The sweet trolley is actually something we did a way with a number of years ago but due to guest demand we had to reinstate it as it is the highlight for may of our guests. Hopefully you will make a return vist to us at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.7 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 4 in Newtonmore
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balavil Hotel
Balavil Hotel
#2 of 4 in Newtonmore
218 reviews
18.5 mi away
Carrbridge Hotel
Carrbridge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Carrbridge
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
318 reviews
2.2 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
447 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Hotel

Property: Highlander Hotel
Address: Kingussie Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For true Highland hospitality come to the Highlander, a hotel renowned for its good food and warm welcome. The hotel is an ideal base for touring the North of Scotland with mountain ranges, forests, lochs and river valleys waiting to be explored. Wind down in our inviting restaurant serving an array of dishes made from locally sourced produce. Perhaps a wee dram from the bar would suit; choose a whisky from one of the many local distilleries for which this area is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highlander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing