We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect - couldn't have asked for a nicer B&B!”
Review of Coig Na Shee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coig Na Shee
Ranked #3 of 13 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2011

One of the best B&Bs I have ever stayed in. The rooms are really nicely decorated and V clean and the family who own it were extremely welcoming and friendly, particularly to my three year old nephew (who wasn't always behaving angelically!). The location is great and the views from the front rooms are fantastic. Breakfast was delicious and we even managed to arrange some relaxing massages whilst there. Couldn't have asked for a better B&B and all my extended family agreed.

Room Tip: Ask for The Larches room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katherine_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2011

We have stayed at Coig na Shee several times and it simply cannot be beaten. Marion and Graham are charming hosts, who go out of their way to make you feel welcome and to help in any way they can. The rooms (including the bathrooms) are stunning, the breakfasts are absolutely top quality, the atmosphere is friendly and relaxed and the location is simply perfect.The cherry on top of the cake is the option of booking a treatment with Naomi, a lovely woman and a skilled therapist. My husband and I had a deep tissue massage and an aromatherapy massage respectively this time, which were wonderful! We look forward to returning many times and have recommended a stay here to all our friends and family. Simply unbeatable!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marian_sexton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

Probably the best Guest House in the world..........................
We booked two rooms here as we were going to a wedding in the village, we arrived late on the Friday night and got a very warm welcome. The rooms were absolutely superb, clean, spacious and warm, fantastic after a long drive.
Breakfast was exceptional, fresh fruit, cereal, full Scottish, toast & fresh coffee, a great start to the day. Our hosts were friendly and very pleasant but still left you plenty of space.
Satisfying a couple of teenagers is never easy but our two thoroughly enjoyed their stay here and want to go back, that says it all!
We would highly recommend this establishment and we will be back.

Room Tip: Book the 'Firs' room if its available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niseach16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

A beautiful retreat, extremely spacious rooms and very peaceful. Wonderful service and a yummy breakfast of fresh fruit and home grown eggs. Couldn't fault anything

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssanaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

never left a review for a place i've stayed at before but my stay was so good i felt i had to. Perfect location and fantastic breakfast, great base for exploring Newtonmore and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loooin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

What a great find :) :). It was perfect in every way! I chose this based on other reviews and was delighted with it. I could not find anything I would improve - it was just fantastic!!
Contemporary large room - The Firs - with great big bathroom and bath. Lovely big bed and every attention to detail you could think of. Real coffee and nice chocolate/biscuits. Extra blankets and extra heater made available if got cold (not needed). Room lovely and cozy.
The owners have thought of everything you would need for a treat weekend. Thank you guys you made a wee couple needing a break away very happy :) :)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMHenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

We were given a warm and friendly welcome from Graeme and Marion, the owners of Coig na Shee. A stunning late Victorian building in one of the most beautiful areas of the world.
It is kept immaculate, warm, and is exceedingly tastefully decorated. We especially loved the en suite bath, with a great view of the trees and birds of prey. Great for a soak with a glass of wine. Our room (The Firs) was a great size and very comfortable.
No tartan, no stripes, no chintz, just stylish and relaxing.
The breakfasts were a treat, tasty and with a wide choice; and plenty of it before going walking up in the Cairngorms.
Marion even looked after drying our boots and kit out ready for the next day. A great bonus for the discerning mountaineer who needs a decent bed, comfort and breakfast cooked for you rather than a tent, sleeping bag, wet kit and trangia stove nowadays!
Even our flasks were filled with "real" coffee for us.
It was the attention to detail we liked. Real coffee and a cafetiere in the room, a mini fridge, sparkling mineral water, etc. There were DVDs, books, games and magazines available.
The hosts also chilled our wine and provided wine glasses.
There are some excellent restaurants locally, one within walking distance-Blasta. A culinary treat.
We loved our stay and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karmadeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newtonmore hotels
0.4 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
313 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
#2 of 13 in Newtonmore
268 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clune House
Clune House
#1 of 13 in Newtonmore
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Eagle View Guest House
Eagle View Guest House
#5 of 13 in Newtonmore
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dower House Newtonmore
Dower House Newtonmore
#6 of 13 in Newtonmore
25 reviews
1.0 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coig Na Shee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coig Na Shee

Address: Fort William Road, Newtonmore PH20 1DG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range: £69 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coig Na Shee 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coig na Shee Guest House, a 1903 Highland lodge within mature grounds, is on the edge of Newtonmore, within the Cairngorms National Park. Offering stylish rooms, peace and quiet, and great breakfasts. Located in the Spey Valley, Coig na Shee is the perfect base for walking, climbing, (short distance to the Monadhliath & Cairngorm Mountains and many Munros), mountain biking (Laggan Wolftrax Mountain Bike Park is nearby), golfing, skiing, horse riding and many water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Coig Na Shee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coig Na Shee Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing