We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best if not THE best”
Review of Coig Na Shee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coig Na Shee
Ranked #3 of 13 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“One of the best if not THE best”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We spent two nights here and couldn't fault this B & B at all. It is more like a hotel but with the personal touch.
The hosts Marion & Graeme are very welcoming.
The breakfasts are cooked with local fresh produce and they have their own hens for the eggs.
We stayed in the Limes which was very comfortable.
We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianDunbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
158
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Coig Na Shee in Scotland turned out to be our favourite b&b of the whole trip. I don't know if it was seeing the chickens in the garden or the sheep on the hill or the wonderful hostess but of our 18 days touring Scotland and England this was our fav. Marion was so nice and accommodating, the area is so quiet and nice to walk around in and the food...well just the best. Bravo Marion.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We have stayed at Coig Na Shee 4 times, and simply wouldn't go anywhere else when staying in the area. Wonderful friendly welcome, bedrooms would be at home in a boutique hotel and are always immaculate. Beds super-comfortable and breakfasts delicious. This time we also had dinner cooked my Marion which was fab, top quality home cooking was just what we needed after a day on the hills.
Would recommend Coig Na Shee to anyone looking for a top class B&B in the area.

Room Tip: We've stayed in the Larches and the Beeches - both super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aitkensdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We have stayed a few times and every time is just as wonderful. The rooms are clean, comfortable and very well supplied. The hosts are so welcoming and helpful. The location is ideal for exploring and the hosts can help you find whatever interests you.

You will have a great nights sleep, bedding is very comfy and the curtains really shut out the summer dim. Breakfast is such a treat with great food and service in a lovely, sunny room. You can walk to dinner and after walk it off up the glen, perfect!

Definitely worth a visit!

Room Tip: the Larches is great but this trip was the Beeches and it was really wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura_n_Carolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hants
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This solid victorian house (1903) is contemporary and stylish yet still oozes charm and personality. The rooms are large and airy and provided us with one of our best nights sleep.
The hosting is discreet yet friendly and the breakfasts great. Nice touches such as a cafetiere in the room and fresh ground coffee, nice selection of teas and hot chocolate just add to the whole splendid experience.
Sounds too good to miss and it is!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JM A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I've actually lost count of the number of times we've stayed at Coig na Shee; so much so that it actually feels like our second home now, and Marion and Graeme are so warm and welcoming, that it feels like we're coming to stay with friends! The house itself is a dream, the rooms are so spacious and clean, the beds are so comfortable that it often makes it difficult to get out of bed in time for breakfast! But you'll be glad you did, because breakfast itself is to die for! Even with my variety of food intolerances, Marion and Graeme prepared the most wonderful breakfast which really keeps you going all day. The eggs are even provided by Coig na Shee's very own resident hens! We've stayed in almost every room at Coig na Shee, and they are all equally wonderful, however my personal favourite is The Firs, there's nothing like soaking in a hot bath with a view overlooking the trees and mountains at the back of the house - just heavenly. Can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lal83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Mairon and Graeme were delightful hosts so kind and helpful...room fabulous and everywhere was so peaceful,all the extra special touches were there which make the stay just wonderful.the kipper was especially scumptious

Room Tip: the room I had was the Limes...lovely view of garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
3.4 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
203 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
301 reviews
1.0 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
337 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clune House
Clune House
#1 of 13 in Newtonmore
147 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#1 of 22 in Kingussie
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coig Na Shee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coig Na Shee

Property: Coig Na Shee
Address: Fort William Road, Newtonmore PH20 1DG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Coig Na Shee 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coig na Shee Guest House, a 1903 Highland lodge within mature grounds, is on the edge of Newtonmore, within the Cairngorms National Park. Offering stylish rooms, peace and quiet, and great breakfasts. Located in the Spey Valley, Coig na Shee is the perfect base for walking, climbing, (short distance to the Monadhliath & Cairngorm Mountains and many Munros), mountain biking (Laggan Wolftrax Mountain Bike Park is nearby), golfing, skiing, horse riding and many water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coig Na Shee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coig Na Shee Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing