We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Welcoming”
Review of Coig Na Shee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coig Na Shee
Ranked #2 of 13 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Marion & Greame are very friendly & helpful they moved things there garage so we could put our motorcycle in there, the rooms are very spacious, comfy & spotlessly clean, the breakfast menu had a very good choice & Marion would vary it to suit you & it was perfectly cooked, this would be the first place we would book if we were back in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teri m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed two nights at Coig na Shee and we really enjoyed this place. The room was well decorated and extremely clean. The owners are very friendly and the breakfast is excellent. Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank new_world_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Just back from a three night stay here and it was great. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable, as was the rest of the beautiful house. Breakfast was delicious and having biscuits, chocolates and tablet in the room each day was fab! Marion was a brilliant host, she chatted to us each morning at breakfast and made us feel at very welcome. We would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KayleeGx88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

A company, www.luxuryvacationsuk.com, planned our trip for 4 of us and this charming country home met all are needs and more so. We were dropped off and without a car to get to dinner so not only did Marion make us sandwiches but we also order a picnic lunch for the following day - all done so willingly. A beautiful location, we loved the hens in the back yard and I'm still hoping that the Scottish tea bags she uses will work with Canadian water and taste as good as did the tea she made for us. Lovely rooms and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lairdsaunderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

My daughter and I had stayed at Coig na Shee in 2009, and were looking forward to a return. But this time we brought more of the family; 7 of us "monopolized" the house for four days. The hospitality was as first-rate for our large group as it had been for just the two of us a few years back. The house and grounds are extremely well cared for, and room accommodations are wonderfully comfortable and complete. We especially enjoyed gathering as a family every morning for a healthy and hearty breakfast before setting off on our day trips.
We've enjoyed our stays at Coig na Shee and the family feeling that Marion and Graeme provide, sharing their wonderful home with visitors.
Graham Gillespie

Room Tip: We used the Larches king room as a family gathering room as it has a very nice sitting area overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I stopped off at Coig na Shee as a quiet place to visit Aviemore from. I was very pleased by the accommodation and views. It was better value and quality than other places I had looked at. The breakfast food was locally produced and very tasty. The room was clean, comfortable and a good size. I would stay here again.

Stephen

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We spent two nights here and couldn't fault this B & B at all. It is more like a hotel but with the personal touch.
The hosts Marion & Graeme are very welcoming.
The breakfasts are cooked with local fresh produce and they have their own hens for the eggs.
We stayed in the Limes which was very comfortable.
We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianDunbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.4 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
319 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#1 of 23 in Kingussie
268 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clune House
Clune House
#1 of 13 in Newtonmore
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
#3 of 13 in Newtonmore
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eagle View Guest House
Eagle View Guest House
#5 of 13 in Newtonmore
148 reviews
1 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coig Na Shee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coig Na Shee

Address: Fort William Road, Newtonmore PH20 1DG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range: £73 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coig Na Shee 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coig na Shee Guest House, a 1903 Highland lodge within mature grounds, is on the edge of Newtonmore, within the Cairngorms National Park. Offering stylish rooms, peace and quiet, and great breakfasts. Located in the Spey Valley, Coig na Shee is the perfect base for walking, climbing, (short distance to the Monadhliath & Cairngorm Mountains and many Munros), mountain biking (Laggan Wolftrax Mountain Bike Park is nearby), golfing, skiing, horse riding and many water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Coig Na Shee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coig Na Shee Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing