We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five star home from home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coig Na Shee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coig Na Shee
Ranked #1 of 14 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Five star home from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Graeme and Marion welcomed us into their spotlessly clean home and accommodation and immediately made us at home and bought us up a pot of tea and some biscuits whilst we unpacked. Breakfasts were delightful and very filling with a good broad selection of food and drinks. The rooms were equipped with everything I could think of and nice and warm considering the huge room sizes and traditional style sash windows which with all the other period features added to the ambience of the residence.
I would not hesitate to recommend the premises to anyone and look forward to returning to stay with them for longer next time!

Room Tip: From what I could tell all the rooms are similar in standard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suggsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
149
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Everything was simply perfect! The owners were very nice and helpful. The breakfast was delicious. The room we had was big and a large bathroom. If you are visiting this region, we strongly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToorakCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

A terrific old, refurbished house with lovely rooms in a very nice setting in the Cairngorms area in Scotland. The room we were in was huge, with a nice big bed and even a sofa. The bathroom very big as well with a bath tub looking out on the hill behind the house. The hosts are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast in the morning was everything we needed. A great place to settle in and relax for a night (or two) when you're traveling through the country.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D3US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Do not bother looking anywhere else...this IS the place to be. Five star B&B accommodation from terrific hosts Graeme and Marion Broad. Dinner could be ordered by prior arrangement. Fantastic superior bedroom with spacious en-suite facilities, sumptuous bath towels and all the bits and pieces you could possibly need. Bedroom was large enough to accommodate a sofa and plenty of furniture and all the accessories required for a relaxing break away.
Breakfast was cooked to order with plenty of choice and lots of extras - delicious. The Guest House stands in very nice grounds overlooking the mountains beyond.
If you're going to Scotland make a detour and find this little gem!

Room Tip: Just a half a dozen rooms available...make sure you get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth and Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

This guest house is definitely the best I have stayed in so far. The rooms are very clean, cozy and comfortable. The breakfast is delicious and the family is very friendly. Moreover the location is very good; in a quiet area but close to the main roads. Definitely recommended!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ManonPagniez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peeblesshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely stay, accommodating hosts and good food. Me and my boyfriend visited just before Christmas when I had just had surgery and the hosts drove me to Kingussie to have my dressing seen to. The bed was extremely comfortable and everything else spotless!

Would recommend and come again, DEFINITELY!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank foodsass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We've just got back from spending a couple of nights at Coig Na Shee and we can only endorse what every other reviewer says: its a simply lovely place to stay. The quality of everything, from the bedlinen to the curtains and the furniture, is all simply first class. Every detail has been carefully thought out and everything is beautifully presented and spotlessly clean. The room we stayed in ('The Beeches') was large, warm and had the most comfortable bed we've slept in, in a long time.
Marion was the perfect hostess: friendly and knowledgeable.
Breakfast was cooked to order and was really good (look out for the sausages - really rather good!).
We get to stay at quite a few B&Bs up and down the country - this was by far and away one of the best.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.4 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
3.7 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
3.2 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
#3 of 14 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eagle View Guest House
Eagle View Guest House
#5 of 14 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coig Na Shee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coig Na Shee

Property: Coig Na Shee
Address: Fort William Road, Newtonmore PH20 1DG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Coig Na Shee 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coig na Shee Guest House, a 1903 Highland lodge within mature grounds, is on the edge of Newtonmore, within the Cairngorms National Park. Offering stylish rooms, peace and quiet, and great breakfasts. Located in the Spey Valley, Coig na Shee is the perfect base for walking, climbing, (short distance to the Monadhliath & Cairngorm Mountains and many Munros), mountain biking (Laggan Wolftrax Mountain Bike Park is nearby), golfing, skiing, horse riding and many water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Coig Na Shee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coig Na Shee Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing