We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
299
19
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
19
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housebeautiful housefresh fruitblueberriessunny dining roomten minute walkbreakfast was deliciousseparate showersmallest roomcomfortable armchairshighly recommend this b blocal publovely hostsporridgegreat attention to detailred squirrelsrooms are clean
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We could not imagine a better place to stay than Coig Na Shee. Marion and Graeme are just the friendliest, most fantastic hosts. The house itself is a beautiful mountain lodge and the Newtonmore surroundings are wonderful. Our room was very large and the bed was comfortable as could be. We slept with the windows open at night as the weather was mild and it was so quiet. Breakfast was also perfect. There may be other places to stay around Newtonmore but we'll never find out as this is the only place we will ever want to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

First visit to Scotland, we travelled from far away and were surprised by the very friendly hosts, Mariom and Grahm, who did everything to give their best during our stay. Very cozy house, beautiful charming rooms, wonderful views, excellent breakfast, great pack lunch but ,above all, we felt like being home ! We discovered the Highlands and back home we wish we could have stayed longer!! To be remembered as the best experience of our trip. Congratulations!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cristina_n_rosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Never before on our travels have we ever been compelled to write a review, but this place impressed us so much we felt we had to.
As per the other 45 reviews which rated it 'excellent', we give it 5 out of 5 for every category. The building itself is impressive and set in beautiful grounds. The owners are welcoming, friendly and very kind. The rooms are all excellent - we stayed in the larches and it was bigger and better equipped than any five star hotel i have ever stayed in. The attention to detail is excellent - everything has been thought of, and i loved the view of the huge evergreen trees through the massive bay windows in our bedroom. It is not often just a bedroom makes you go 'wow' as you walk into it, but this did.

I would recommend this guest house to anyone travelling through the Cairngorms or people who ski but dislike the tackyness of resorts. It very accessible to the Cairngorm mountain and town of Aviemore.

The standard of this guest house, coupled with the friendlyness of Marion and Graeme will make this experience all the more enjoyable and memorable. We would definitely come back !!

PS. Anyone expecting a four star hotel with a bar as per one previous review - should stay up the road in the MacDonald hotel - for that is not what this guest house is, nor has ever advertised itself to be.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dormouse80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We booked this guest house because the website gave the address as Laggan Road Fort William. We were keen to be near Fort William. It was not until we found the guest house that in actual fact it is 44 miles - about an hours drive - from Fort William. The website should make it clearer that it is no where near Fort William. For four star accommodation I would anticipate perhaps a resident lounge where a drink can be bought or other facilities. This is quite simply bed and breakfast and nothing else. Very comfortable and clean and owners very friendly but limited. Would recommend it only if someone was looking for B & B

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seanthesheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

My family and I spent 5 nights here in August and wish it could've been more! The hosts are so helpful and friendly - from pick ups at train station, reservations at local restaurants and help with evening meals - they couldn't be better. Yet, they are also not always on top of you and there is a feeling of definite peace and tranquility when you walk through the door.

As others have said - the rooms are immaculate, well serviced, and extremely comfortable. The house is just beautiful and lovingly maintained. The rooms have a little extra seating in them which is very welcomed. We stayed in The Larches and I think it must be the finest room of all. Roomy with an amazing view over the sheep fields with the mountains just peeking through the leaves of the trees.

Breakfast is all that has been said - plenty of it and of the highest quality. We really appreciated the large assortment of fresh fruit!

We have a young son and he was pleased to find playmates in the family. He was made to feel very welcome and had a great time playing outside in the beautiful lawn.

Truly, there are B&Bs and country houses where you feel that 2-3 nights was about right. You have enjoyed the stay, but are ready to move on. Not so at Coig na Shee. We all agreed we could have stayed twice as long and felt just as sorry about leaving.

Plan well ahead for this one as it books up far in advance. Once you stay you will understand why. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews