We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
299
19
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
19
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housebeautiful housefresh fruitblueberriessunny dining roomten minute walkbreakfast was deliciousseparate showersmallest roomcomfortable armchairshighly recommend this b blocal publovely hostsporridgegreat attention to detailred squirrelsrooms are clean
Filter
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2010

This is one of the most beautiful B+Bs you will find in Scotland. It is in a beautiful big stone house with a huge garden. The rooms are HUGE and with lovely modern furnishings. Lovely cooked breakfast as well. We ate just down the road in a restaurant called Blasta which was fantastic and also in a restaurant about 15minutes away called Ord Ban which served exceptional food as well. Overall, a flawless experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephWills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Wanting to stay somewhere near 'Monarch of the Glen' country and experience country Scotland, we were advised by a fellow Australian that we had to go stay at Coig Na Shee. We originally only booked one night but after being made to feel so at home by the wonderful Marion and Graeme, and being offered the best breakfast in our 3 months of travelling (and ever!) we booked another 3 nights. I cannot speak higher of our stay at Coig Na Shee - the perfect B&B experience but offering so much more. You never feel awkward and as if you're staying in someone's house but at the same time the hosts go out of their way to make you feel welcome and have the most enjoyable stay. The rooms are classy, clean, and personalised with all the extras (plunger coffee, herbal tea, fresh milk) you could want. Although the town of Newtonmore appears to be 'off the tourist route' the drive is stunning and if you are travelling by car is only 1hr drive max to great attractions - just ask Marion and Graeme for the best tourist attractions and best ever value packed lunch!!
I could write a book about how fantastic this place is and how it was one of the main highlights of our 3 month European holiday but I wont - just do yourself a favour and stay at Coig Na Shee.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaiandAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We could not imagine a better place to stay than Coig Na Shee. Marion and Graeme are just the friendliest, most fantastic hosts. The house itself is a beautiful mountain lodge and the Newtonmore surroundings are wonderful. Our room was very large and the bed was comfortable as could be. We slept with the windows open at night as the weather was mild and it was so quiet. Breakfast was also perfect. There may be other places to stay around Newtonmore but we'll never find out as this is the only place we will ever want to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

First visit to Scotland, we travelled from far away and were surprised by the very friendly hosts, Mariom and Grahm, who did everything to give their best during our stay. Very cozy house, beautiful charming rooms, wonderful views, excellent breakfast, great pack lunch but ,above all, we felt like being home ! We discovered the Highlands and back home we wish we could have stayed longer!! To be remembered as the best experience of our trip. Congratulations!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cristina_n_rosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Never before on our travels have we ever been compelled to write a review, but this place impressed us so much we felt we had to.
As per the other 45 reviews which rated it 'excellent', we give it 5 out of 5 for every category. The building itself is impressive and set in beautiful grounds. The owners are welcoming, friendly and very kind. The rooms are all excellent - we stayed in the larches and it was bigger and better equipped than any five star hotel i have ever stayed in. The attention to detail is excellent - everything has been thought of, and i loved the view of the huge evergreen trees through the massive bay windows in our bedroom. It is not often just a bedroom makes you go 'wow' as you walk into it, but this did.

I would recommend this guest house to anyone travelling through the Cairngorms or people who ski but dislike the tackyness of resorts. It very accessible to the Cairngorm mountain and town of Aviemore.

The standard of this guest house, coupled with the friendlyness of Marion and Graeme will make this experience all the more enjoyable and memorable. We would definitely come back !!

PS. Anyone expecting a four star hotel with a bar as per one previous review - should stay up the road in the MacDonald hotel - for that is not what this guest house is, nor has ever advertised itself to be.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dormouse80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews