We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveller rating
201
122
22
4
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
122
22
4
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspub grubspecials boardcask alespower showerhuge portionsgreat nightcomfortable roomsgreat roomevening mealdining roomwell worth a visithaggisthree nightsstayed for one nightfirst classkipperscouldn't fault
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 360 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Recently stayed over a Friday & Saturday night, found it to be good value with their set B&B rates and was very impressed with the hotels evening menu and the quality of food on offer. We chose this hotel to be based near Cairngorms for snow sports but was pleasantly surprised that the Nevis Range is located only about an hours drive away from the hotel. To sum up our stay, really good base camp for a sporting weekend away and provided a great sleep and good food!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Screenname109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The room was basic, clean and warm. Shower antiquated a hose attached to two taps. When we enquired about food we were advised there was a big birthday party on and we should therefore book between 6 or 7 or after 8.30pm. Not sure why the demand for food was high as the quality was poor and the service was disjointed. People were courteous enough but would give this a miss in future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goldfinch1745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Badenochtraveller, Owner at The Glen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

We are so sorry that this reviewer did not find everything to their satisfaction. We strive to provide a comfortable nights sleep for all our guests. Our beds (King in this room) are the same as used by the Gleneagles hotel and, yes, whist the shower is over a bath it is fully functioning and provides plenty of hot water. The room also boasts a 32" flat screen TV with 12 channels and complimentary tea/coffee/hot chocolate. The room is due for refurbishment in the Spring. All things are however relative and the guest only paid £ 55.00 for this room including breakfast for two people! A deluxe room was available for a small supplement but the guest obviously did not wish to take this option. On the night the reviewer stayed with us ( a Saturday) we fed just short of 100 people including a large birthday party for local regular customers and judging by the comments from dinner guests (and the amount of gratuities) everyone had an enjoyable evening and thoroughly enjoyed their food. We only wish that the guest had chosen to discuss their issues with us at the time when we might have had the opportunity to rectify or mitigate the problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The food is highly overrated. Don't bother eating here. The attentive staff don't make up for the poor quality of food - the arbroth smokie fishcakes are pretty much just mashed potato, with no fish or cheese The steak is mainly gristle. And the vegetarian nachos are overly sweet. Yuck. Apparently the lamb shank was okay, but I wouldn't go back to this place ever.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank justme624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Badenochtraveller, Owner at The Glen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

We are so sorry that the reviewer feels this way but it is difficult to make any sensible reply as she never brought this to our attention at the time - despite the attentive staff!

It is obviously true that you 'cannot please all the people all the time' and thankfully this review is not in line with most of the reviews under this heading (hotel) and our other listing (restaurant).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Was busy but nice, could have done with being a little bit bigger premises, was worth looking for
the food was nice and hot plenty of it i will go back again and as you say have a look in the window wow

Room Tip: good hotel lovely bar meals enjoyed it
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

had to write this after reading review of bullit03. Also read his review of the Letterbox Restaurant from the same time by the same person,,,,strange to say the least!!!!.Have to say - wife and I have holidayed in this area many many times over last few years and eaten here and many other places in the area at these times - this is every time our first port of call. Food has always been plentiful, hot and tasty, served by friendly efficient staff in relaxed atmosphere (no airs and graces). Never been let down - ever. Will be back again to the area next April and September and certainly will head to the Glen for value meals. To anyone reading these reviews (and those of a certain rival further up the road) heres some advice........look through the windows and see where the local folk eat!!!!
And I don't have any connection with any of the businesses here - honest!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews